Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Anne Blythe has a great life: a good job, good friends, and a potential book deal for her first novel. When it comes to finding someone to share it with, however, she just can't seem to get it right. After yet another relationship ends, Anne comes across a business card for what she thinks is a dating service, and she pockets it just in case. When her best friend, Sarah, announces she's engaged, Anne can't help feeling envious. On an impulse, she decides to give the service a try because maybe she could use a little assistance in finding the right man. But Anne soon discovers the company isn't a dating service; it's an exclusive, and pricey, arranged marriage service. A few months later, Anne is traveling to a Mexican resort, where in one short weekend she will meet and marry Jack. And against all odds, it seems to be working out - until Anne learns that Jack, and the company that arranged their marriage, are not what they seem at all.

©2011 Catherine McKenzie (P)2014 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"Fans of Jennifer Weiner and Jennifer Crusie have found a new author to watch." (Booklist Starred Review)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Solid listen with relatable characters

Any additional comments?

Anne Blythe has just gotten out of another relationship when she finds a card on the street with her last name on it. Is it fate? She doesn't know, but she keeps it. A little while later her best friend gets engaged, feeling down she decides to call the number on the card. The card is for what she thinks is a dating service but later finds out it is for Blythe and Co. - who arrange marriages. Is this for her? Is she willing to pay a lot of money and put her faith in a practice that seems so outdated? And how will everyone in her life react when she tells them that she got married 'on a whim while on vacation'?<br/><br/>Anne is ready to share her life with someone. She is ready to be married and start a family, so she decides she is going to go through with an arranged marriage. We see her journey through this process and when she finally meets Jack he's different than than her norm. But different is good. And they have chemistry. There's a conflict at the end that is very plausible and works really well within the story. <br/><br/>The narration is great, Rachel Dulude does a great job bringing this story and the characters in it to life. It was the first book I listened to her narrate, and I would gladly listen to her again! <br/><br/>This was an even keel listen for me. It was very pleasant and kept me entertained. I really enjoyed it. I listened to it while I was at work, so I was able to get through it all in one sitting... it made for a very nice day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

very nice

This is the second book I've read by Catherine McKenzie, the first was SMOKE which I enjoyed. She is so pleasant to listen to listen to, this is easy reading but so far I've enjoyed and been surprised by her plot twists!!! Yes and the narrator was very easy on the ears!!! I will be reading her again for sure!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

An interesting chick-lit listen

This listen was interesting because you can’t imagine having an arranged marriage in these current times. What you can grasp onto, is understanding how someone could be desperate enough to find love that they would consider giving it a try. Everyone wants to find love and be loved, so when these characters end up being arranged you get hooked on what could possible happen next! Definitely an easy listen...

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good solid story- great twist!

What did you like best about this story?

I loved that it was realistic and not cheesy, over the top ridiculous.

Any additional comments?

I really like the story, wish it had better love scenes... there was such build up then nothing. Good story though.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story, narration awful!<br /><br /><br />

I found this books story to be very entertaining, but the narrator was awful. I found the narrator to be rigid and monotone. The voice used for the main character Anne was cold and void of any warmth. It was very hard to listen to. I wish so badly I had read the book. Don't waste a credit on listening go read it your self.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Unique, but not special

It had a unique storyline and characters. As a hopeless romantic I related to Anne, but had a hard time with her giving up on the notion of fairytale-like love. Maybe it's because I'm 25 and not 32. I'll read it again when I'm older. I really liked Jack, then hated him, then sorta liked him again. The ending was a bit of disappointment I needed more of a big gesture from him - or just more of a reason to forgive him. I felt like the writer wrote very well and I kind of wish we could have had more excerpts of all of Anne's books and Jack's novel. Jack was a really good writer, and I admired McKenzie for her way of portraying is writing differently to Anne's POV. All in all it was good, kept me entertained, but wasn't that funny and not my favorite book I've read. Very interesting premise though. Except for some cussing, it's clean.