Regular price: $15.96

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of C.S. Lewis and Oswald Chambers, internationally renowned author and thinker Os Guinness has produced a classic work on life's purpose.

With his usual incisiveness, Guinness goes past your superficial understanding to the very heart of what calling means. Far bigger than you job, deeper than your personal accomplishments, higher that you wildest ideas of self-fulfillment, calling addresses the very essence of your existence. In these messages, Dr. Guinness sets out the principles for all who seek their life's central purpose.

  • How do I discover my calling?
  • What does it have to do with identity and personal growth?
  • Is calling only a spiritual idea or does it cover work, career, and ideas of success?

    Os Guinness says..."calling is not what it is commonly thought to be. It often flies directly in the face of our human inclinations. But no idea short of God's call can ground and fulfill the truest human desire for purpose and fulfillment."

  • ©1998 by Os Guinness

    Critic Reviews

    "...for any student of business or technology, Dealers of Lightning offers a gem of a story that has never before been so well told." (The New York Times Book Review)

    What members say

    Average Customer Ratings

    Overall

    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Stars
      97
    • 4 Stars
      39
    • 3 Stars
      22
    • 2 Stars
      6
    • 1 Stars
      3

    Performance

    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Stars
      55
    • 4 Stars
      26
    • 3 Stars
      14
    • 2 Stars
      3
    • 1 Stars
      1

    Story

    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Stars
      67
    • 4 Stars
      24
    • 3 Stars
      9
    • 2 Stars
      0
    • 1 Stars
      1
    Sort by:
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars

    A very good companion to the book ...

    This title is a recording of a teaching seminar that Os gave using the same material in his book. The result is that listening provided a great review for me (which is just what I wanted) --but in my opinion, not a substitue for reading the newly revised text. Worth the purchase, however.

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Lee
    • Douglas, GA, USA
    • 09-20-03

    Great audible title

    Loved the book and this audible version was great.

    15 of 17 people found this review helpful

    • Overall
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Ignatio
    • San Diego, CA, USA
    • 11-30-09

    Mis-representation of the book

    This audio book mis-represents itself as the whole book. I realized that it is only 4 chapters.

    I do not want only the 4 chapters but the whole book. Who buys only the first four chapters of a book?

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars

    Really helpful guidance

    This is a really helpful book for understanding God's call in your life. It seems to be a recording of a seminar given by the author on the topic of God's calling in the life of a believer. Part of the book is a question and answer session.

    The only drawback to the performance is that it sounds like this recording was originally performed on cassette tapes and then transferred to digital media. I didn't take any stars away for the performance because the author spoke with so much passion on the subject that it more than made up for the lack of quality recording.

    I thought the subject matter was treated comprehensively without dragging it out too much (I find that many books about theology have a tendency to be too long).

    My only caveat would be that the author almost seems to imply in certain areas of the book that God has no real opinion as to the individual choices made in one's life as long as one believes that he/she is serving God in that choice. I'm not certain that I believe that. Perhaps that is not what the author meant when he used the parable of the three talents to say that God doesn't "micromanage" when he gives people different abilities and resources - He simply expects them to make the most of them. I've always understood that God does, in fact, want to micromanage us if only we will let Him, because after all, He is the best manager - be it micro or macro - so He would have the best ideas on how to use the abilities and resources that He gave to us.

    Apart from that one isssue, which is really just a point that makes me pause and think (and isn't that what we want from books about God anyway?) I found this book to be very helpful in my search to understand what God wants from my life.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

    • Overall
      3 out of 5 stars

    VERY Abridged!

    A good summary of the book by the same name, but let the buyer beware. This is a recording of a set of talks, not the typical studio recording that one expects from Audible. The sound quality reflects this, and portions of the talk include Questions & Answers from the audience--not something I expected. I wish the product description was clear that this is not a true abridged book, but a set of public speeches based on the content of the book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars

    Best book available for all levels of reader on vocation.

    This audible doc is the taped version of lectures Guinness gave as the book was coming out. It sticks close to the text but has Q&A sessions that were also very useful.

    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars

    vocation versus occupation, a useful distinction.

    I love the idea of discovering ones calling ,or vocation, before one tries to pick an occupation, a career.

    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars

    Great Content - But Very Abridged

    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Call?

    I have the physical book as well as the Audible book. The abridged Audible book is not a condensed version of the book. It is a series of speeches with the same title that address the same topic, but only loosely in the same way as the physical book. That was a disappointment to me, but once I got past that, the Audible version was still excellent.

    What about Os Guinness’s performance did you like?

    I always love listening to Os Guinness. He's warm, engaging, and someone I'd love to talk with over coffee. I'd be taking lots of notes, though, because he is always a source of great wisdom.

    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars

    Excellent book, well narrated!!

    I learnt to live confidently the general call of God awaiting the specific call of God.(if it does come) This way of thinking is Biblical and very liberating. God's call is to use my gifts and talents for God's glory and give a good return when He comes.

    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars

    Worth every penny.

    Yes, it's a recorded speech, probably from a cassette. However, it's worth listening to immensely.

    Sort by:
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars
    • MickeySpoonK
    • 06-08-17

    Not the book itself, but a lecture

    Still very good and captures most of my the book wonderfully. OGs voice is as smooth as butter.

    Sort by:
    • Overall
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Performance
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Story
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Samuel Tummala
    • 01-27-16

    Short, crisp, simple & bang on target.

    The book provides much needed insights into common questions around 'Calling'. It is a must read for pastors, youth leaders, career counselors and believers alike.