Regular price: $20.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Sarah Hilary, winner of the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year, returns with a new Marnie Rome novel, Quieter Than Killing. The Daily Mail heralds Sarah as one of 'Britain's best new crime writers' - for fans of Val McDermid and Mo Hayder.

Sometimes staying silent is the only way to survive.

'You only ever ask that. Why did I do it? You never ask what they did.'

The winter cold is biting, and a series of assaults is pulling DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake out into the frosty, mean streets of London far more than they'd like.

The attacks seem random, but when Marnie's family home is ransacked, there are signs that the burglary can have been committed only by a child - and someone who knows all about her. It will take a prison visit to her foster brother, Stephen, to help Marnie see the connections - and to force both her and Noah to face the truth about the creeping, chilling reaches of a troubled upbringing. For how can a damaged child really leave their past behind them?

©2017 Sarah Hilary (P)2017 Headline Digital

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mary
  • 03-19-17

Another great case.

I bought this as soon as it was available and have enjoyed it as much as the others. I love the realistic continuity of the series, both in the details of the new case & references to the past investigations, but also with regards to the credible arcs of the main characters.
A dense and tensely written story that makes you work alongside the investigators to get to the understanding.
My dog is as thrilled as me when a new Marnie Rome story appears on Audible because we take many, many long walks so I can immerse myself fully.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jaye
  • 05-04-17

Superb Read

This is the 4th instalment following the crack crime fighting team of DI Marnie and DS Jake who grabbed my attention from book one and it has continued. I actually did not want the book to end I am sure if time was on my side I would have finished this book in one day. Highly addictive although each book has separate cases for me having a little more back story helps.

This book sees them taking on gang crime and abduction and there are twists and turns hard to explain without giving away any spoilers but Marnie & Noah Jake trust their instincts, all I can say is I recommend the whole series of books.

I feel that Sarah Hilary is giving us little titbits of Marnie's background and a little more about DS Jake whose personal life hits a very difficult clash of work and family towards the end of the book, I think there lies another book (please Sarah) I would love to see this dramatised on film or a tv series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jackie
  • 03-12-17

Breathtaking

Sarah Hillary is such a consummate writer she draws you in to each character making you believe and disbelieve them in turn. Her characters are so believable with the strengths and frailties of us all.
The book was superbly read and characterised by Imogen Church - can't wait to read more of Marnie's and Noah's lives

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Molly
  • 04-23-18

stop the whispering

This narrator lowers her voice too often and I struggle to hear the narration. otherwise it's very good listen

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-02-18

4.5 Stars

Imogen Church does a fabulous job of narrating as always. I'm still thoroughly enjoying this series and I love the characters. I can't get enough of the Stephen Keele backstory, which is very intriguing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Grab This Book
  • 10-20-17

Marnie Rome returns in another brilliant thriller

Quieter Than Killing is the 4th book by Sarah Hilary to feature DI Marnie Rome. Each book can be read as a stand-alone novel but what you need to do is make sure you DO read all four books – they are all fantastic.

We readers are blessed with choice when it comes to police procedurals and crime thrillers, yet – for me – the Marnie Rome books stand head and shoulders above the others. Rome is a determined and focused detective who lives in the constant shadow of personal tragedy and it makes her own story utterly compelling.

In Quieter Than Killing, London is in the grip of a bitter winter and Marnie and DS Noah Jake are on the hunt for a violent offender. Someone has targeted three people for a vicious beating – disfiguring injuries have been inflicted and the only obvious link between the victims is that they have each (in the past) served time in prison for violent attacks of their own. Are Marnie and Noah looking for a vigilante? If so then how are they selecting their victims and what possible motive could they have?

Elsewhere the reader gets to see Finn. He is 10 years old and has been plucked from the street and locked into a house from which there seems no escape. His captor, dubbed Brady by Finn, has “rules” which Finn must obey…cooking and cleaning is expected and noise or disobedience are not tolerated. Finn is convinced Brady is a pervert who is planning to murder him, but Brady is keeping his distance and has been keeping Finn alive for several weeks. What does he need with the young boy and how much longer must Finn endure his captivity?

I got to enjoy Quieter Than Killing in audio and I need to give a massive thumbs-up to the narrator Imogen Church who voiced Marnie almost exactly how I had imagined her.

As with all of Sarah Hilary’s books the story is gripping, the clues well hidden and the entertainment is to the max. If you are not already reading these books you damn well should be.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bashski
  • 07-01-17

Another fantastic story.

I only recently found the books by Sarah Hilary and rate them as some of the best story's I have listened to in this genre. I have taken Books 1 to 4 and listened to them one after the other. Great story's well narrated and I look forward to the next episode in the career of D.I. Marnie Rome.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dawn
  • 06-01-17

loved the series

enjoyed the whole series, loved that there was a continously line throughout, Will
this carry on with DS Noah Jake and his brother?

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • barry
  • 04-07-17

Complicated

I found this book hard going or maybe it's just me and other things
I like the main characters but it went on too long is still get the next book though

0 of 2 people found this review helpful