adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An ambitious and unflinching tale of colonialism, conquest, and revenge, Queen of the Conquered starts a fantasy series perfect for fans of S. A. Chakraborty, Ken Liu, and Tasha Suri.

Named one of Time's Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time
World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, winner

On the islands of Hans Lollik, Sigourney Rose was the only survivor when her family was massacred by the colonizers. When the childless king of the islands declares he will choose his successor from amongst eligible noble families, Sigourney is ready to exact her revenge.

But someone is killing off the ruling families to clear a path to the throne. And as the bodies pile up and all eyes regard her with suspicion, Sigourney must find allies among her prey and the murderer among her peers...lest she become the next victim.

Praise for Queen of the Conquered:

"A storm of a novel as epic as Alexandre Dumas's The Count of Monte Cristo." (Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made Wild)

"The book's absorbing setting, captivating lead, and relevant themes of race and class complement each other with alternating delicacy and savagery." (NPR Books)

"Callender's first adult novel draws race relations, conquest, magic, and politics into an imaginative, layered story that will keep readers twisting until the end." (Library Journal)

©2019 Kacen Callender (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"An ambitious, courageous, and unflinching novel that uncovers the rotten core of our colonial heritage and yet also celebrates the fierce resistance and heroic endurance of the most abused and exploited." (Kate Elliott, author of Black Wolves)

"Callender's first adult novel draws race relations, conquest, magic, and politics into an imaginative, layered story that will keep readers twisting until the end. The author's personal experience growing up in St. Thomas lends to the rich setting and postcolonial themes." (Library Journal, starred review)

"An utterly compelling look at slavery, power, and complicity. Uncomfortable, heart rending, and utterly necessary." (Aliette de Bodard, Nebula Award-winning author)

What listeners say about Queen of the Conquered

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good Story, but.....

You know how you really want to hear the story of when Grandpa met Grandma; but Grandpa just keeps repeating how pretty she looked at a school dance over and over and over........ and over, well that's how the story went.

It was unnecessarily repetitive.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intense

I didn't expect it to be so intense but I loved it. the narrator's voice took some getting used to, but the story was captivating, violent, and honest.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I really really wanted to love it... but I didn't.

I wanted so badly to love this book and there are so many great things about it. I love the idea of a story told from the perspective of a black slave owner and her struggles with class and race. But I felt like I couldn't connect with her or with the other characters.

The narrator was an interesting choice, her accent was great but her delivery was bland and at times inconsistent enough to distract from the story.

1 person found this helpful