• Queen of the Conquered

  • Islands of Blood and Storm, Book 1
  • By: Kacen Callender
  • Narrated by: Krystel Roche
  • Length: 13 hrs and 20 mins
  • 3.1 out of 5 stars (22 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Queen of the Conquered  By  cover art

Queen of the Conquered

By: Kacen Callender
Narrated by: Krystel Roche
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $20.26

Buy for $20.26

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

An ambitious and unflinching tale of colonialism, conquest, and revenge, Queen of the Conquered starts a fantasy series perfect for fans of S. A. Chakraborty, Ken Liu, and Tasha Suri.

Named one of Time's Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time
World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, winner

On the islands of Hans Lollik, Sigourney Rose was the only survivor when her family was massacred by the colonizers. When the childless king of the islands declares he will choose his successor from amongst eligible noble families, Sigourney is ready to exact her revenge.

But someone is killing off the ruling families to clear a path to the throne. And as the bodies pile up and all eyes regard her with suspicion, Sigourney must find allies among her prey and the murderer among her peers...lest she become the next victim.

Praise for Queen of the Conquered:

"A storm of a novel as epic as Alexandre Dumas's The Count of Monte Cristo." (Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made Wild)

"The book's absorbing setting, captivating lead, and relevant themes of race and class complement each other with alternating delicacy and savagery." (NPR Books)

"Callender's first adult novel draws race relations, conquest, magic, and politics into an imaginative, layered story that will keep readers twisting until the end." (Library Journal)

©2019 Kacen Callender (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Critic reviews

"An ambitious, courageous, and unflinching novel that uncovers the rotten core of our colonial heritage and yet also celebrates the fierce resistance and heroic endurance of the most abused and exploited." (Kate Elliott, author of Black Wolves)

"Callender's first adult novel draws race relations, conquest, magic, and politics into an imaginative, layered story that will keep readers twisting until the end. The author's personal experience growing up in St. Thomas lends to the rich setting and postcolonial themes." (Library Journal, starred review)

"An utterly compelling look at slavery, power, and complicity. Uncomfortable, heart rending, and utterly necessary." (Aliette de Bodard, Nebula Award-winning author)