Regular price: $27.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Good in Bed and The Assistants comes a funny and smart comedy about a young matchmaker balancing her messy personal life and the demands of her eccentric clients. 

Sasha Goldberg has a lot going for her: a recent journalism degree from NYU, an apartment with her best friend, Caroline, and a relationship that would be amazing if her finance-bro boyfriend Jonathan would ever look up from his BlackBerry. But when her dream career falls through, she uses her family's darkest secret to land a job as a matchmaker for New York City's elite at the dating service Bliss. 

Despite her inexperience, Sasha throws herself into her new career, trolling for catches on Tinder, coaching her clients through rejection, and dishing out dating advice to people twice her age. She sets up a TV exec who wanted kids five years ago, a 40-year-old baseball-loving virgin, and a consultant with a rigorous five-page checklist for her ideal match. Sasha hopes to find her clients The One, like she did. But when Jonathan betrays her, she spirals out of control - and right into the arms of a writer with a charming Southern drawl, whom she had previously set up with one of her clients. He's strictly off-limits, but with her relationship on the rocks, all bets are off. 

Fresh, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny, Playing with Matches is the addictive story about dating in today's swipe-heavy society and a young woman trying to find her own place in the world.

©2018 Hannah Orenstein (P)2018 Recorded Books

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • B
  • 11-13-18

Status and looks

It’s amusing yet hard to imagine a materialistic mindset possessed by the protagonist. Esquire, Vogue, Tiffany and the rest of fancy brand names are epithets used to describe the surrounding in this book. Confidence roller coasters and blows to self esteem underline the story as fight to save ego. To quote the book “Caring is the quickest way to lose power in the relationship.” Feeling of disgust didn’t let me to sympathy with Sasha.
Storyline is great and feels realistic. Makes you think about craft of matchmaking and modern dating. Unexpected and clever ending.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Easy read

I listened to this book while I took my dog on walks. It was easy to listen to and entertaining. I purchased many other audible books because of the positive experience I had with this one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good read for the holidays

loved the story line it was so wonderful the only thing that killed it was the voice. narrators made 40 sound like 80 years old. wonderful book bad narrating for the age.