Your audiobook is waiting…

Places No One Knows

Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (27 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart, here is a dreamy love story set in the dark halls of contemporary high school, from New York Times best-selling author Brenna Yovanoff.

Waverly Camdenmar spends her nights running until she can't even think. Then the sun comes up, life goes on, and Waverly goes back to her perfectly hateful best friend, her perfectly dull classes, and the tiny, nagging suspicion that there's more to life than student council and GPAs.

Marshall Holt is a loser. He drinks on school nights and gets stoned in the park. He is at risk of not graduating; he does not care; he is no one. He is not even close to being in Waverly's world.

But then one night Waverly falls asleep and dreams herself into Marshall's bedroom - and when the sun comes up, nothing in her life can ever be the same. In Waverly's dreams, the rules have changed. But in her days, she'll have to decide if it's worth losing everything for a boy who barely exists.

©2016 Brenna Yovanoff (P)2016 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"A tightly woven, luminously written novel that captures the uncertain nature of high school and the difficult path of self-discovery." ( Booklist)
"Waverly and Marshall burn brightly...both refreshingly flawed as they come into their own. Readers will forgo sleep themselves to witness their vibrant, achingly real story unfold. A brilliant romance." ( Kirkus Reviews)
"Dark fiction with a hint of magic." ( SLJ)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Painfull

Very dificult to listen to if you suffer from any kind of depression. All I could think about was how the two main characters were barely getting on in life, struggling from some form of undiagnosed depression. Seriously depressing. I couldnt listen past the 2nd chapter and returned it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Kind of dragged on

So this story was promising and the author has ability. There wasn’t anything glaringly wrong with the story so much as the characters were DULL. Marshall the male lead was so self sabotaging, and “my life sucks” when he had first world problems, at best. Geez-he’s die in the real world. Waverly basically complained about being seen as a robot and welcomes being seen as a robot depending on the moment. She never really redeemed herself and made herself anything other than a robot either. I mean maybe the last three pages of the book-but the other 98% made me want to choke her. I also feel like considering the length of the book that their relationship could have been fleshed out better, it was instalove/lust for him and she was either hot or cold. Either way the love didn’t come across organic or sincere.