• People Like Us

  • By: Louise Fein
  • Narrated by: Holli Dempsey
  • Length: 15 hrs and 52 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
People Like Us  By  cover art

People Like Us

By: Louise Fein
Narrated by: Holli Dempsey
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $23.99

Buy for $23.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Leipzig, 1930s Germany. 

Hetty Heinrich is a young girl growing up under Nazi rule. With an SS Officer father, a brother in the Luftwaffe and a member of the BDM, Hetty is the epitome of a perfect German child. But Walter changes everything. 

Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect-in-every-way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew. As she falls more and more in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, Hetty begins to question everything. Will the steady march of dark forces destroy their world, or can love ultimately triumph?

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Book Thief and Kate Furnivall.

©2020 Louise Fein (P)2020 Head of Zeus

What listeners say about People Like Us

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sigrin
  • Sigrin
  • 02-24-21

Never judge a book by its cover or title.

Oh wow.......
I got this book so wrong when I saw it on a 2-4-1 sale and was going to look past it as the cover and title looked so chick lit. Not sure what made me decide to read the summary but so glad I did.
This book was so beautifully and powerfully written.
My son is studying WW2 at the moment and we have been discussing totalitarianism and the rise of the Nazi party and there were so many questions as to why the Germany people were taken in by Hitler and the ideology of the Nazi party, this book gives that insight.
The story is told from Hetty’s point of view and covers her life as she grows up in Germany during the 1930-1939 period.
The book is fiction but so believable, the Characters and scenes are so real. The Crystal Nachts description gave me a feeling as though I was there witnessing it for myself..
This is Louise Feins debut novel, it was phenomenal and I will look for more by this talented writer.
Lastly a commendation for the narrator Holli Dempsey who reads Hetty’s words with emotion and conviction.
This book is up there in my top 20 of all time.
I am jealous of anyone who has not yet read it , you are in for a treat.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Moira
  • Moira
  • 05-16-20

very powerful - beautifully and hauntingly told

Could not stop listening; perfect narration. So poignant and interesting hearing the view from a German child in Nazi Germany. A beautiful story of love, friendship and the true power of good against evil. Author's note was supremely interesting. Highly recommend this book.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-17-21

people like us.


Loved this book, very moving and interesting. Well read too. I will certainly recommend.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kay
  • Kay
  • 06-09-21

Interesting & Thought provoking

An interesting thought provoking book, fiction based around fact, from the perspective of Germany’s Youth in 1930,s onwards.
A little long drawn out, & maybe doesn’t give enough respect to the people who suffered at the hands of the nazi’s.
However I did stick with it and the end raises my rating of the book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kiki
  • Kiki
  • 03-14-21

Simply astounding

Well written and the narration is excellent. I felt emotions that hit me to my core, took my breath away.... An absolute tragic and beautiful love story but not only a love story. It’s so much more. This book will stay with me for a very long time.....

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel Crook
  • Rachel Crook
  • 03-06-21

Beautiful, moving and eloquent

Louise Fein’s first novel is a stunning and heart-felt love story and it’s consequences for Hetti and Walter. I loved it and the hope it gave me, despite the challenging parts, where everything appears to be going wrong. A brilliant debut, beautifully narrated. You will need several tissues.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BookLovingGirl
  • BookLovingGirl
  • 11-08-22

Engrossing

A well written and engrossing story that I’ll be thinking about for a long time

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hoover
  • Hoover
  • 06-18-22

Interesting context but story could be stronger

I'm very interested in this era and getting the German perspective/experience was particularly interesting. Shame about he flimsy and predictable plot and not very well formed characters. In addition, the writing style was particularly distracting - much of the imagery was clunky, too overt, and overused. I was in two minds about whether to continue with this novel because I felt it lacked any subtlety. Perhaps it is aimed at the YA audience or for those that want very light fiction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anthea Cooney
  • Anthea Cooney
  • 04-13-22

Wonderful, heartbreaking and beautifully told

This book pulled me into the world of Hetty, growing up in Nazi Germany. Such a well told story, mixed with joyous heartbreaking moments.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs J Hansford
  • Mrs J Hansford
  • 04-07-22

People like us

What an amazing thought provoking book. It explained so much. A must read for everyone.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-19-20

Definitely recommend

Loved this book from start to finish! The narration and storyline were both great! I love WW2 stories and this one was no disappointment! I loved the way the author was able to capture the views and thoughts of the main character and how they developed so much throughout the story