Penny and Her Marble

Narrated by: Cynthia Nixon
Length: 10 mins
4.3 out of 5 stars (32 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $2.27

Buy for $2.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes’s award-winning Penny returns in the third easy-to-listen story about a sweet and curious mouse, perfect for fans Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum.

When Penny spots a marble in Mrs. Goodwin's front yard, she picks it up, puts it in her pocket, and takes it home. It's a beautiful marble - it's big, shiny, blue, smooth, and fast, and Penny loves it. But does the marble really belong to Penny? 

Penny and Her Marble was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss. 

Kevin Henkes is a master at creating books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning listeners and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge

©2013 Kevin Henkes (P)2013 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Penny and Her Marble

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Didn’t Love the Narration

We love Kevin Henkes and all the Penny books but I didn’t love Cynthia Nixon’s narration. She speaks very very slowly and for some reason her voice for a little mouse sounds like a nasally old lady?!? It’s weird and sullen.

1 person found this helpful