Your audiobook is waiting…

Paris Echo

Length: 9 hrs and 9 mins
Categories: Fiction, Literary

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

An urgent and enthralling new novel about injustice and betrayal from the author of Birdsong and A Week in December.

Set in 2006, Paris Echo follows Hannah, a 31-year-old American post-doctoral researcher looking into the lives of women during the German Occupation of Paris in 1940-44, and Tariq, a 19-year-old boy who has run away from his home in Morocco, searching for sex and adventure.

Through their culture clash we are taken back into the hidden Paris of the Dark Years, the Algerian War, and the simmering discontents of the banlieue. As both main characters fight to preserve their integrity and their sanity, they find their future shaped by the lives of the dead, by the ghosts of the Paris Metro.

©2018 Sebastian Faulks (P)2018 Penguin Random House Canada

Critic Reviews

"Faulks immerses readers into a haunted Paris... Exhilarating...Fans of Paula McClain and Ian McEwan will enjoy Faulks's touching tale of two Parisian visitors looking to reimagine their self-identities in a changing world." (Publishers Weekly)

"Briskly told and engaging.... [Paris Echo] is an entertaining novel with memorable characters. A fun romp through Paris and history." (Kirkus Reviews)

"Enveloping....Faulks offers a subtle but affecting portrait of friendship while exploring the immense difficulty of making sense of the larger world." (Booklist)

More from the same

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.