Owl and the Japanese Circus

Narrated by: Christy Romano
Series: The Owl Series, Book 1
Length: 14 hrs and 55 mins
4 out of 5 stars (116 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, and Linda Hamilton will flock to the kick-ass world of Owl, a modern-day "Indiana Jane" who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world.

Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief Alix - better known now as Owl - has one rule. No supernatural jobs. Ever. Until she crosses paths with Mr. Kurosawa, a red dragon who owns and runs the Japanese Circus Casino in Las Vegas. He insists Owl retrieve an artifact stolen 3,000 years ago and makes her an offer she can't refuse: He'll get rid of a pack of vampires that want her dead.

A dragon is about the only entity on the planet that can deliver on Owl's vampire problem - and let's face it, dragons are known to eat the odd thief. Owl retraces the steps of Mr. Kurosawa's ancient thief from Japan to Bali with the help of her best friend, Nadya, and an attractive mercenary. As it turns out, though, finding the scroll is the least of her worries. When she figures out one of Mr. Kurosawa's trusted advisors is orchestrating a plan to use a weapon powerful enough to wipe out a city, things go to hell in a handbasket fast...and Owl has to pick sides.

©2015 Kristi Charish (P)2015 Audible, Inc.
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A shot of Smiles , with a bottle of Corona chaser

What did you like best about this story?

The story is written in the manner that reminds me of Sam Spade, (if it was written by Darynda Jones). It's gritty, funny, has a few wtf parts and is written so well that I had a hard time putting it down. If you like tough women that have a chronic case of smart-assidness then you'll like this book.

What does Christy Romano bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Christy has the smart-ass tone down pat for this character. It made this story just that much better. She does a pretty decent Russian and Japanese accent but she's got Naga's down pat though

Any additional comments?

Look I took a chance with this author for I had never heard of her and I was very happy with what I read/heard

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Supernatural meets Indiana Jones!

Loved this book! Great characters & lots of action! You get a wide range of supernatural beings and the archeology and adventure of Indiana Jones! What more could you ask for? A trained, vampire attacking cat? Well you get that too! Can't wait to listen to the next book!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrator sounded like Kirk too often

Is there anything you would change about this book?

Owl didn't really grow on me. The other characters were fine, but she was really flat the entire time. The author made a point to tell us Owl's motivations more times than she showed us. You don't have to say how crazy you are every single time you talk to your cat.

What didn’t you like about Christy Romano’s performance?

She emphasized random words in sentences, which often ended up sounding like William Shatner as James T. Kirk. She also mispronounced so many words! Please learn how to say Byzantine since it's used so often. There were other words that she said wrong throughout, but the way she said Byzantine was like nails on a chalkboard after a while.

Any additional comments?

After getting used to the strange narration, the story wasn't bad. It could have been better, but I still got the second one in the series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great voice actor

The voice actor is fantastic with their voices and accents easily establishing individual characters, it was a very enjoyable listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun Adventure Read

This was a fun story. While I found the main character to be a bit annoying at times, her overall characterization was relatively balanced. The other characters were well written (with the exception of the too good to be true best friend) and believable. I found the main story arc to be exciting and fun, and I appreciated the realism of the archeological work. the supernatural characters were well written and unique, and I adored the idea of an archeology association that covered up evidence of the supernatural. Overall, this was a fun book to listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Close, So Very Very Close

When I sampled this audiobook, I was excited to listen to it. The plot sounded so good and I liked the voice of the narrator. I think this would have been much better, if were curtailed. I thought all of the fight scenes way too drawn out. I may give the next book a try in the future, but right now I need to take a break.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not for me

This might be a good story but I didn't like the lead character. I didn't finish it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good concept, Whiny "Heroine".

While the story and concept were good, the necessity to ignore the apparently obvious to all fact that the "heroine", described as a skilled thief, spent all her time running headlong into whatever was waiting to kill her & her friends, without thought or planning, and that her "friends" spent basically the entire book pissed at her for one thing or another that they decided without discussion was "wrong", made it difficult to suspend my disbelief.

If this person had the personality and skills that were described, she'd have been more likely to tell her "friends" to take a long walk off a short pier than bow and scrape to them as she actually did in the book.

I was not impressed with the characterization in the book, to say the least.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not really a hero or thief

Would you try another book from Kristi Charish and/or Christy Romano?

This book is interesting and fun but the major flaw is the main character. She doesn't solve any of the conflicts in the story her sidekicks do. The boyfriend, best friend, and even her cat fight all of her fights. She isn't the hero of story she is the damsel in distress that bumble into every problem and the side characters have to save her.

They also say on the summary that she is an international their bringing illusion of her breaking into buildings in the middle of the night circumventing security systems. No in the book her theiving is closer to the Nazis in Raider of the Lost Arc. She goes to the dig site and steals the stuff from the archeologists who are escalating.

Even her cool nick name the owl was her idea. She gave herself a nick name and she cost it because she has big eyes

She can read and write several language even long dead language but can' understand the laguange when spoken around her. That made little sense to me

This being said the story did keep my interest and the side character are really good. The story sets up and interesting series. I just hope that the Owl gets to become more of a bad character not the weak damsel everything happens to. I admit I am tempted to get the next book

Would you recommend Owl and the Japanese Circus to your friends? Why or why not?

Maybe with a little warning

Which character – as performed by Christy Romano – was your favorite?

All but the main

Could you see Owl and the Japanese Circus being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

Not from this book

Any additional comments?

Hope you like it

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Interesting premise, bogged down by dullness.

CNF. I wanted to love it but just couldn't get into the story or narrator. Owl was both a ridiculous nickname (and awful to hear repeated), and a cardboard character. Really disappointed, might be better to read in print.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for L
  • L
  • 10-16-16

Very enjoyable.

I bought this title not really knowing what to expect, but I have to say I really enjoyed it. The story is quirky and funny, and the characters are well thought out. There were moments that had me rolling my eyes and the main characters use of the same saying over and over did get a bit annoying towards the end, but despite that it was still a very good listen. In fact I enjoyed it so much I have now bought the next in the series and very much look forward to listening to it.

The narrator has a pleasant voice and her accents aren't too bad. She is well spoken and her voice is very clear and easy to understand. I would happily listen to another book narrated by her.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sofie
  • Sofie
  • 07-04-17

Good book

Interesting start to finish - even though small things sorta ruined it a bit for me...
Such as the language: "XX said something in Russian" doesn't really have the same effect as writing what they said in actual Russian... Maybe that's just me.
Great story though, interesting characters and humour throughout. Will buy the rest to see where it leads.