Other Words for Home

Narrated by: Vaneh Assadourian
Length: 3 hrs and 50 mins
Categories: Kids, Ages 8-10
4.5 out of 5 stars (50 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Newbery Honor Book!

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle-grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the US, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. 

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US - and her new label of “Middle Eastern”, an identity she’s never known before. 

But this life also brings unexpected surprises - there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. 

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

©2019 Jasmine Warga (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story for students!

I'm an English teacher, working abroad, who used this novel as a part of my fiction reading unit and my students loved it! They were moved by the hope and aspirations of Jude. She was extremely relatable considering that all of my students are Muslim and her narration mirrored their own experiences and thoughts growing up to wear a hijab or shayla. But, unlike Jude, they have either rarely or never experienced Islamophobia in the U.S. or the issue of belonging when one is displaced, so this was an eye opening experience for most of them. I particularly choose this novel to showcase the struggles of refugees who have migrated to America as muslims. I wanted to offer a dual perspective from the voice of an American Muslim author since the majority of my students are from the gulf states in the middle east. They were captivated and empathised with the characters and plot. By the end of the novel, they wanted to recommend it to others!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

Great view for the character prompts feminism and all rasis be socin for ,varey amazing

1 person found this helpful