adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.24

Buy for $18.24

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Newbery Honor Book!

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle-grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the US, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. 

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US - and her new label of “Middle Eastern”, an identity she’s never known before. 

But this life also brings unexpected surprises - there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. 

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

©2019 Jasmine Warga (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Other Words for Home

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    197
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    156
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story for students!

I'm an English teacher, working abroad, who used this novel as a part of my fiction reading unit and my students loved it! They were moved by the hope and aspirations of Jude. She was extremely relatable considering that all of my students are Muslim and her narration mirrored their own experiences and thoughts growing up to wear a hijab or shayla. But, unlike Jude, they have either rarely or never experienced Islamophobia in the U.S. or the issue of belonging when one is displaced, so this was an eye opening experience for most of them. I particularly choose this novel to showcase the struggles of refugees who have migrated to America as muslims. I wanted to offer a dual perspective from the voice of an American Muslim author since the majority of my students are from the gulf states in the middle east. They were captivated and empathised with the characters and plot. By the end of the novel, they wanted to recommend it to others!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

Great view for the character prompts feminism and all rasis be socin for ,varey amazing

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful story and wonderfully written

I am an African American woman with an adopted child from Ethiopia. Mot you of my adult life I’ve listen to NPR and the BBC news and so I thought I had an open perspective on the world and politics outside of the US, but my knowledge was scientific and without a emotional connection. I don’t think one can understand suffering without it. This story connects the reader with the human impact of the BBC news stories. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The stroy that I listsend to was a connection

This book was a great book because this book told me a story like never before and I'm so happy to listsend to a story like never before

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful

so much empathy- what a wonderful heart felt story. a must read for all generations

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

breathtaking

this book is amazing. it shows me how ignorant i’ve been to others who might be different. i love this book snd will definitely be buying a physical copy and reading again❤️

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful story & performance

I listened to this story with my 8 and 10 year old daughters, who loved the story.
I was also interested and enjoyed the story.
The feeling of the characters came alive for my children, who are much like the character Leila: just different enough to not fit in entirely in either their father’s home country or here in America.
Listening to the story was a way for them to understand and connect with their classmates who are refugees from their country, explaining the love for home and culture that America doesn’t understand or value.
Definitely worth the purchase!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply a beautiful story!!!

Very well written and such a beautiful and inspirational story. Thank you very much to the autor for writing the book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent narration, Illuminating perspective

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this one. The narrator does an excellent job with different accents/dialects which make it even easier to listen to. I love the perspective that this book brings to how American culture and customs are perceived by other people; and how the ugly traditions and perspectives have alienated the arab-american population. Highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You need to read this book

This book was smooth as silk. The reader's voice was beautiful, the author's voice in her writing was intimate and transparent all at the same time. Children and adults alike should read this book to find out more about the world around them, or to hear a story similar to theirs.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-26-21

Quick enjoyable read

This one was an enjoyable quick read. Another immigrant story, but this time spun in a pretty positive light about a young woman’s pride in her background, language and family and not hiding herself or trying to be what others want.

I’d consider using this one in a classroom as it hits a lot of the marks of an immigrants story without becoming too bogged down in social commentary.