Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From New York Times best-selling author Steven Gaines comes a wry and touching memoir of his trials as a gay teen at the famed Payne Whitney Psychiatric Clinic.

One of These Things First is a poignant reminiscence of a 15-year-old gay Jewish boy's unexpected trajectory from a life behind a rack of dresses in his grandmother's Brooklyn bra-and-girdle store to Manhattan's infamous Payne Whitney Psychiatric Clinic, whose alumni includes writers, poets, and madmen as well as Marilyn Monroe and best-selling author Steven Gaines.

With a gimlet eye and a true gift for storytelling, Gaines captures his childhood shtetl in Brooklyn, and all its drama and secrets, like an Edward Hopper tableau: his philandering grandfather with his fleet of Cadillacs and Corvettes; a giant, empty movie theater, his portal to the outside world; a shirtless teenage boy pushing a lawnmower; and a pair of tormenting bullies whose taunts drive Gaines to a suicide attempt.

Gaines also takes the listener behind the walls of Payne Whitney - the "Harvard of psychiatric clinics", as Time magazine called it - populated by a captivating group of neurasthenics who affect his life in unexpected ways. The cast of characters includes a famous Broadway producer who becomes his unlikely mentor; an elegant woman who claims to be the ex-mistress of newly elected president John F. Kennedy; a snooty, suicidal architect; and a seductive young contessa. At the center of the story is a brilliant young psychiatrist who promises to cure a young boy of his homosexuality and give him the normalcy he so longs for.

For listeners who love stories of self-transformation, One of These Things First is a fascinating memoir in the vein of Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted and Augusten Burroughs' Running with Scissors. With its novelistic texture and unflagging narrative, this book is destined to become one of the great indelible works of the memoir genre.

©2016 Steven Gaines (P)2016 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    185
  • 4 Stars
    114
  • 3 Stars
    60
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    11

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    195
  • 4 Stars
    93
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    8

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    178
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    9
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Unlikely Subject for Me

I'm a straight female, not Jewish, not from New York and forgot how this book got in my wish list. However, I found Steven Gaines's story about growing up in Brooklyn and trying to deal with his homosexuality fascinating. I can't imagine anyone else other then him as narrator. The evolution of psychiatry, as it pertains to homosexuals, in the last 50 years is also interesting to observe.

95 of 97 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it.

Picked this up on the Daily Deal. Had not expected to find it so interesting/enjoyable. One of my two favorite books this year - keep thinking about it. And the author reads it himself . . . always a bonus.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

Loved this book! Laugh out loud funny at times and very touching and thoughtful. Perfect narration by the author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fresh and Authentic

Like Gaines, I was born in 1946. I grew up (falsely) denying I was gay and hoping I could change. Gaines's clear-eyed and moving account of navigating adolescence in Brooklyn rings true. His concise and detail-packed memoir is very well written; listening to him read it underscores his lack of rancor toward his family and his analyst (who guided him in the effort at reorientation). This book was offered as a Daily Deal. I took a chance. I'm glad I did, and recommend it to anyone trying to figure out their place in the world.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Rumbling memories put to pen

The author rumbles on and as a grown gay man can relate a lot to some of the memories and feelings the author expresses but this is not a great read nor is it inspirational to any other 15yo boy who may be considering his sexuality.

This is only the author putting his life to words and not passing any message on. I feel although he implies the message that all gay teens should hear he doesn’t say “It gets better” like it does.

The author also says he holds no real gay traits but gossips like a cheap periodical in a hairdresser so maybe that was a trait you missed Steven

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A story, reader and life that grows on you

It took me a while to become engaged with the story. I almost left it unfinished. I am so very glad I gave it more time, it has become one of my favorite audible books. The author/narrator was the key to my great enjoyment of this book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pulls at your heartstrings

The background story of his life in a time where being different and the stuggles and difficulties he had to go through growing up.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unexpected, raw, and honest

I bought this book out of curiosity of how a young boy from a time that being gay was not ok and being Jewish meant being gay was not ok would deal these challenges. I was blown away by the honesty of the writer and his raw expressions of what he felt and how things really were. His families reactions to his behavior and the situations that occurred constantly made me pause and think.. what would I do.. what would any parent do...The honesty and the raw expression in this book had me start thinking what I am I reading and by the end I was impressed that the author had been so brave to write his story. I felt that this was a book that could inspire those who struggle. I would recommend it to anyone, but you have to have an open mind to make it through the first couple chapters because it is so intense. After that you are thinking how does this play out... how does his life turn out... Give it a chance.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A MUST READ (hear)

Gaines delights in transporting listeners to the very bowels of his NYC past then catapults you into his hilarious and unique world of his stint at Payne Whitney mental hospital. His writing is chalk full of fantastic characters and lively discussions and revelations. Gaines reads this book and I couldnt imagine it any other way. He is a story teller! I got this on sale and honestly, I would have gladly paid full price for this work of art. There isn't a dull moment. A must get!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful!

I thoroughly enjoyed this delightful (relatively short) autobiographical piece read by the author. Entertaining, interesting, amusing. I loved that it took place (mostly) in Brooklyn NY. I think The fact that Steven Gaines and I come from similar backgrounds and are close in age probably added a great deal to my enjoyment. Not a prerequisite, though, not by any means.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Colin McIntosh
  • 08-14-16

Fascinating

This was such a fascinating book. Maybe for me as I had just finished a bio of Mary Martin and there is a lot re her vile husband but the whole story is enthralling and shocking that this all took place and the treatments. Highly recommend this as its such an honest raw account told with humour and honesty