Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.50

Buy for $28.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Stranded on Mars with seven other convicts, one man must fight for survival on a planet where everyone's a killer in this edge-of-your-seat science fiction thriller for fans of The Martian.

Former architect Frank Kittridge is serving life for murdering his son's drug dealer, so when he's offered a deal by the corporation that owns the prison - he takes it. He's been selected to help build the first permanent base on Mars. Unfortunately, his crewmates are just as guilty of their crimes as he is.  

As the convicts set to work on the frozen wastes of Mars, the accidents multiply. Until Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all...Dr. S. J. Morden trained as a rocket scientist before becoming the author of razor-sharp, award-winning science fiction. 

Perfect for fans of Andy Weir's The Martian and Richard Morgan, One Way takes off like a rocket, pulling us along on a terrifying, epic ride with only one way out. 

©2018 S. J. Morden (P)2018 Hachette Audio

What listeners say about One Way

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A New Twist on a Space Murder Mystery

4.5 out of 5 stars One Way has been on my radar for some time – I ended up picking this book up to read (non-requested review) which I have very little time for anymore. My wife and I started another book on a drive home from DC and we just couldn’t get into it. We put One Way on and were instantly hooked. Literally the first 3 minutes were more intriguing than the hour we had given another book. Morden knows how to build both suspense and intrigue as he builds the world, the characters, and the mistrust throughout. You follow one main character but are introduced to numerous others. Frank is one of those characters that in the beginning you don’t know if he is going to be a good or a bad guy – and you’re told right away that he’s a convict. You’re also told pretty early on why he’s a convict. While I’m not a parent – I could completely understand the crime that Frank committed. Once the Earth part of the story was over – this entire book read like the synopsis said. It combines And Then There Was One and The Martian. And it references and I think pays a little homage to The Martian a couple times (there was at least one scene where duct tape was mentioned. I thought for sure one of them was going to mention Mark but they didn’t. I kept thinking to myself that this could have honestly been the prequel to The Martian. It was built in such a way that the convicts sounded like they were building the HAB that the characters in The Martian were going to live and work in. While I understand that the science and technology needed to power a Martian base would be the same – it felt so similar. So, that bodes well for fans of The Martian. And if you like a good “whodunit” murder-mystery an are looking for something set in a new and unique environment you should check out One Way. Overall, I thought that One Way was a well thought out and paced combination of a science fiction and murder mystery book. It has elements that a lot of people would enjoy and will have me thinking about it when it comes time to vote for my best books of 2018.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Derivative perhaps, but still outstanding!

If you are a fan of Martian exploration stories ( and gosh, there is no shortage of those, nor are they all good ) this series is for you! Sure, you could argue it is somewhat derivative of The Martian ( etc.) even to the extent that they make sly reference to the story itself, but why not?! Some things are just good and deserve to be respected. This story crackles along with just enough space opera and strangeness to keep the listener engaged. The principal, "Frank" is very well drawn, consistent, and keeps the listener interested and engaged in his journey. The other characters are nearly as compelling and drive the story arc along equally well. A brilliant performance by William Hope, who is developing into one of the leading Audible performers in my books. The series comes highly recommended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A True Thrill-Ride

I have to admit, I suspected the final twist to this book for a long time, but somehow it still kept me guessing, or at least feeling like I didn't have all the cards I needed to play... the author weaves a truly spectacular and edge-of-your-seat murder mystery that is only improved by the fact it's set on Mars, and the audiobook performance really makes it pop I highly recommend this to all sci-fi and thriller lovers!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible narration, overused deadly dozen theme

The story starts with the overused "Deadly Dozen" theme: an end-game convict is given a chance at freedom on the condition that he participates in some sort of perilous mission. I knew this was the setup from the plot description, but some of the glowing reviews led me to believe (yes, I was led, I let it happen, my fault, blah blah blah) that S.J. Morden had done a decent job with the old cliche. He didn't. The beginning is a very tired rehash of the "born to be bad" enlistment process. In addition, the narration was terrible - dull, slow and monotonous, with poorly acted characterizations. A big thumbs down on One Way.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful, couldn't stop listening

Good plot, great narration. I sat in my driveway for 15 minutes listening, because I didn't want to stop!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

good book, but unsatisfying ending

overall this was a great book. the storyline was unique and plausible, and I really like the fact that there was so much scientifically correct information in it. however, the ending was rather abrupt and unsatisfying. I also think there was much more opportunity to embellish the reasoning behind the decisions the company XO made.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One Way is a wild ride and a fun one.

One Way was a fantastic book. Wonderful premise, a Complicated main character, so much action, and enough gray morality to staff a campaign for president. The main character Frank states several times, "Mars wants to kill you." But what is it is not only Mars trying to kill you? Where one mistake can cause your blood to boil off into the thin atmosphere. William Hope handles the narration perfectly. The voices are all wonderful. My favorite secondary character was Zeus. One Way is a wild ride and a fun one.