Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Special operative Eric Steele must stop a foreign assassin targeting top-tier US military personnel and derail a strike aimed at the heart of America in this third electrifying military thriller from the New York Times best-selling author of All Out War, perfect for fans of Brad Thor, Vince Flynn, and Tom Clancy

Two months after taking down terrorist Aleksandr Zakayev, Eric Steele is back in action. Though he is completing his Alpha assignments with the same deadly efficiency as always, he has lingering questions about his missing father - and his own future in the Program.

When Steele gets the alert that a fellow Alpha is in serious trouble, he rushes to Paris - only to arrive too late. Jonathan Raines, Stalker Six, is dead, the victim of a brutal attack. While on leave in the City of Light, Raines had met an attractive art historian who lured him into a trap. Before she vanished, the mysterious woman left a warning for anyone from the Alpha program who might follow her.

One of the best and most effective warriors in the top-secret Program, Steele has been trained to take on enemies, and no threat will deter him from avenging a fallen brother. But the killer won’t be easy to find. The search takes Steele around the world, from France, to the Adriatic coast of Italy, to the outskirts of Aleppo, Syria, and to a top-secret prison in Russia - where, unexpectedly, he finds more clues about his father - before finally taking him back to the streets of Washington, DC.

No one is safe while the killer is on the loose, and the danger is heightened when Steele discovers intel that killing Alphas is just the beginning of a larger, more nefarious plot. The real target is much, much bigger - and it’s up to Steele to prevent catastrophe before he becomes the next elite warrior to fall.

©2020 Sean Parnell (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about One True Patriot

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    169
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    133
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    9
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    164
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

No more RC Bray

I think changing the narrator was a big mistake, he makes all the difference. Just doesn’t sound right with the new guy.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding plot plus action and suspense!

ONE TRUE PATRIOT, Book 3 in Sean Parnell's Eric Steele espionage thriller series, continues the strengths from the first two novels. It is an outstanding novel. Although Stephen Mendel does an excellent job of narration he does not have the narrating talent of R.C. Bray who narrated the prior series audiobooks. But then few if any narrators can come close to the talent of R.C. Bray. So I am somewhat disappointed with the narration only because I expected Bray. This novel is a standalone but like most novels is a series they are best read in order. One True Patriot has my highest recommendation.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It’s amazing how the narrator can either make or break the story!

Good story. Narration doesn’t tell the story properly. Overall a good lesson. The authors writing style is excellent.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Narrator is a Nightmare

The writing is horrible! Narrator is tolerable if he kept his normal voice. But his fake voices are laughably absurd and do not even come close to sounding realistic. In fact, he sounds like an idiot cartoon character 1/2 the time. After 3 hours of pure torture I was forced to give up and return the book. It is literally impossible to listen to this narrator. Also, the main character is flawed so badly that he even considers twice about killing women, even if they are evil murders and assassins ie in chapter 2. This is so stupid that his morality gets in the way of killing her to the point that she almost killed him because of his hesitation. If the character is supposed to be one of the top assassins in the world then this would have never come up. Author still must use his stupid visual metaphors in every 4th sentence. He always says, "like a (this or that)" and he does it 500 - 1000 times / book. Incredibly annoying. I've listened to 5,000 audiobooks and never have I read anyone coming close to doing this. In chapter 9 fight scene he uses "like" in 4 sentences back to back.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Instantly bought it after he gifted it to tim pool

Really excited for this one. Will edit my review after reading it all this week

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Better narrator

Sean is an excellent writer and storyteller, proof is in the pudding aka Outlaw Platoon which Ray Porter brings to life and makes it an all time favorite of mine. The first two books mil-thriller cliches came across cheesy with the previous narrator which is why I gather he chose a Stephen Mendel who does a much better job. Very much like George Guidall.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very bad narration. it detracted from the story.

This was a struggle to finish. The narration was extraordinarily underwhelming to put it nicely. The book seemed to go in a graphic novel direction which was not held the other 2 books were. Overall a probably end up returning this whenThis was a struggle to finish. The narration was extraordinarily underwhelming to put it nicely. The book seemed to go in a graphic novel direction which was not held the other 2 books were. Overall a probably end up returning this one.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Call me

Love the story, and if I read it paperback it would be 5 stars. The narrator has a great voice, but struggles with timing, tone, and context. I'm sure he's good but he's nothing compared to the narrator of the previous audible books. This is a story, with emotion, not an assignment. If this is the best you've got to read aloud, call me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • RH
  • 01-01-21

Wow! What a riveting story.

This was a great story. The attention to detail and rich text made me feel like I was there! Loved it. Can’t wait for another book by the author!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story, kept me engaged the entire read.

hope Sean keeps writing. This was a great story. I will keep looking for books by you.