Your audiobook is waiting…

One Enchanted Evening

Narrated by: Julian Ovenden
Length: 12 hrs and 23 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

London, 1936.

Inside the spectacular Grand Ballroom of the exclusive Buckingham Hotel, the rich and powerful, politicians, film stars, even royalty rub shoulders with Raymond de Guise and his troupe of talented dancers from all around the world, who must enchant them, captivate them and sweep away their cares. Accustomed to waltzing with the highest of society, Raymond knows a secret from his past could threaten all he holds dear.

Nancy Nettleton, new chambermaid at the Buckingham, finds hotel life a struggle after leaving her small hometown. She dreams of joining the dancers on the ballroom floor as she watches, unseen, from behind plush curtains and discreet doors. She soon discovers everyone at the Buckingham - guests and staff alike - has something to hide....

The storm clouds of war are gathering, and beneath the glitz and glamour of the ballroom lurks an irresistible world of scandal and secrets.

Let's dance....

Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Mr Selfridge, The Halcyon and Belgravia. The master entertainer brings us his fabulous debut novel. Prepare to be swept off your feet....

©2018 Anton Du Beke (P)2018 Bonnier Publishing

More from the same

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ville Girl
  • Ville Girl
  • 11-09-18

One Enchanted Book

Loved, loved, loved this book. The key characters were vulnerable and engaging. The atmosphere of the ballroom, the opulent hotel and the threats of impending troubles in Europe are threaded through the story and pull you in from the start of the book. The narration was just right. Just didn’t want the story to end. I hope this isn’t the last we will hear of the Raymond, the dancers and staff at the Buckingham. More please Mr Du Beke 😊

22 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-06-18

Give up Dancing Anton

He's a fantastic writer, it was a brilliant book, hope he writes more. Totally recommended.

23 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie Bram
  • Debbie Bram
  • 11-14-18

Very enjoyable

I found the story had varied content and characters, held my interest throughout, good narration.
Hope Anton will write another based in the wonderful world of dance.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MRS KAREN J MCKIVITT
  • MRS KAREN J MCKIVITT
  • 11-26-18

Enjoyable

Really enjoyed this book it's an ideal read for a holiday ...light, romantic but somewhat gripping at the same tine. It would make a great Christmas. present for anyone seeking a bit of escapism over the festive season.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs L
  • Mrs L
  • 10-05-18

A brilliant tale

Full of intrigue and romance, One Enchanted Evening has me captivated from the start, and I’ve listened to it solidly, unable to put it down. Anton Du Beke has proven that he is truly the master of all talents. A must read for fans of romance, and of dancing.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kirsty Whyte
  • kirsty Whyte
  • 12-17-18

Love the story, hate the narration

Am really into the story but can’t listen any further because of the incessant noisy swallowing and mouth noise of the narrator, it’s quite stomach turning 🤢

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-08-19

Not very exciting

It was a struggle to get to the end of this one. The narrator has an annoying loud swallowing noise that really made my skin crawl.

Story was a bit dull and predictable not great

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeff
  • Jeff
  • 12-30-18

Upstairs, Downstairs with demo dancing thrown in

This book was not what I expected, but I enjoyed the story and the characters. Unfortunately, Julian Ovenden's diction with ever increasing swallowing and irritating mouth sounds did spoil it a little. I am sure Anton Du Beke has another title in him and I look forward to it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AnnW
  • AnnW
  • 12-19-18

Surprisingly Enjoyable

This book is completely different to ones I usually listen to. At first I didn’t think I would get much further than the first few chapters but I stuck to it and I’m pleased I did. As the characters and the story developed I found myself getting engrossed and I really enjoyed it. Great effort for a debut book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda
  • Linda
  • 03-06-19

Decent with off putting narration

I wasn’t expecting too much and thought it would be all about dance, but there was a decent bit of plot in there and very evocative of 1930s. Narration was good, but really off-putting in a lot of places as you could hear the narrator swallow loudly. Completely distracted me from the story at times.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful