Your audiobook is waiting…

Once More We Saw Stars

A Memoir
Narrated by: Jayson Greene
Length: 7 hrs and 1 min
4.5 out of 5 stars (99 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

“A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss.” (Cheryl Strayed)

For fans of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief.

As the story opens: Two-year-old Greta Greene is sitting with her grandmother on a park bench on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. A brick crumbles from a windowsill overhead, striking her unconscious, and she is immediately rushed to the hospital. But although it begins with this event and with the anguish Jayson and his wife, Stacy, confront in the wake of their daughter's trauma and the hours leading up to her death, Once More We Saw Stars quickly becomes a narrative that is as much about hope and healing as it is about grief and loss. Jayson recognizes, even in the midst of his ordeal, that there will be a life for him beyond it - that if only he can continue moving forward, from one moment to the next, he will survive what seems unsurvivable. 

With raw honesty, deep emotion, and exquisite tenderness, he captures both the fragility of life and absoluteness of death, and most important of all, the unconquerable power of love. This is an unforgettable memoir of courage and transformation - and an audiobook that will change the way you look at the world.

©2019 Jayson Greene (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

“How do we wrest beauty out of searing pain? How, in the face of the most profound grief and sorrow, do we search for meaning and find it? Jayson Greene does just that in this soul-affirming book. Once More We Saw Stars is a stunning human achievement as well as a literary one.” (Dani Shapiro)

“Jayson Greene’s Once More We Saw Stars attains flight in a language born of sheer necessity, that of bridging the gulf between daily life and the unnamable.” (Jonathan Lethem) 

“In Once More We Saw Stars, Jayson Greene crystallizes the bravery required for parenting, the insanity within grief, the struggle and haven of marriage, the durability of love in all its forms. This is a book about how we make sense of suffering and what it means to be a family. It’s funny, lucid, and deeply generous - proof that a masterful writer can make from his own specifics a universal story with lessons for us all.” (Lucy Kalanithi) 

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful memoir.

I found this memoir extremely well written and deeply moving. It is read by the author and he does a beautiful job at relating such a painful and tragic story. I highly recommend this memoir.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • N. Turek
  • Layton, UT, United States
  • 05-27-19

Heartbreakingly profound and full of hopeful healing

We tragically lost our first grand baby and are nervously awaiting the arrival of his sibling. I felt like Jayson spoke the words I haven’t been able to acknowledge within myself just yet... I pray I am able to learn from this beautiful example.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not your every day non-fiction

Jayson Greene generously, heart wrenchingly shares his grief and that of his wife for their 2 year old daughter in this beautiful memoir. The story is so surreal that an unknowing reader might think it to be a novel. After a freak accident takes the life of their only child, Jayson and Stacey embark upon the journey of how to live without her. Greene digs deep into his pain to produce a poetic masterpiece of love.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

In Awe

I am in awe of Jayson Greene! His candor, his depth of feeling, his ability to self-reflect, and his willingness to share his soul are so evident. Each person carries his or her trauma and hurt in a unique way, but when someone so skillfully opens up through a memoir, as Mr. Green has done, everyone’s load is a little lighter.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible

Moving story beautifully written and told.
The journey from heartache to a place of healing is incredible, raw, and written from a place I can only imagine.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • T
  • 06-10-19

Very well written, tragic story, but

This is a beautiful book, however I recommend reading it vs. listening as the author is really difficult to listen too. I understand this is the father and this is his story but the way he speaks-in a very robotic, clipped, oddly paused way-is really hard to listen, he somehow talks in a easier cadence when talking in the "voice" of side people (the nurse, etc) then when reading his own story. Thank you for writing this book Jayson, thank you for sharing your story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MW
  • 06-10-19

Beautiful and generous love story

This book is hard to read, and even harder to listen to as the pain in Jayson’s voice is to palpable and raw. But it’s a beautifully tender love story about his wife and his daughter, who’s life continues when their second child is born.

It’s hard to be read but imagine how hard it was to write? Well done Jayson and thank you for your generosity in sharing your life with us in such an open and gentle way.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My heart & soul bled, gorgeously written

I have listened to & read many books in my life (most of them being memoirs, true crime, etc), but this one touched my soul to it's depths...more than any I have ever experienced before. Not only is the author an extraordinary writer, his narration just tore at my heart. You can clearly hear the unbelievable pain and grief swelling and overflowing in each word. My breath was literally taken from me many times throughout, and I often had to take a minute to gather myself together before listening on. My best wishes to him and his family.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Terribly, beautifully, heartbreakingly emotional

This is an incredibly honest and raw account of the grief this man and his family endured during and after the tragic death of their toddler. As a parent, and as someone who has been lucky enough to escape the death of a close loved one, it opened my eyes to the type and depth of grief possible. It has made me hug my children tighter and think about what would be left of me if something ever happened to them. I will say that I probably cried through 3/4s of the book, but don't let that scare you away from listening. It is beautifully, richly and honestly told.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

What a gorgeous book! The story of course is compelling, but what made the book was the artful, poignant writing and the approach the author took to telling the story. It’s open and vulnerable without being self-indulgent. Based on the subject matter I was afraid of listening to it but I loved the experience.