Your audiobook is waiting…

Odd One Out

By: Nic Stone
Length: 7 hrs and 58 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (74 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the New York Times best-selling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.

Courtney Cooper and Jupiter Sanchez (Coop & Jupe!) have been next-door neighbors and best friends since they were seven years old. She's his partner in crime and other half. But lately, Cooper can't ignore he might want something more than friendship from Jupiter. 

When Rae Chin moves to town she can't believe how lucky she is to find Coop and Jupe. Being the new kid is usually synonymous with pariah, but around these two, she finally feels like she belongs. She's so grateful she wants to kiss him...and her.

Jupiter has always liked girls. But when Rae starts dating Cooper, Jupe realizes that the only girl she ever really imagined by his side was her.

One story. Three sides. No easy answers.

An NPR Best Book of the Year

A Boston Globe Best Children's Book of 2018

"Fans of Nic and new readers will find themselves engrossed." (Teen Vogue)

"Declaring yourself - how you would like to be represented and whom you want to love and connect with - is treated with real tenderness." (The New York Times)

©2018 Nic Stone (P)2018 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

“For fans of authors who dig complex relationships, like Shannon M. Parker, Ashley Woodfolk and Misa Sugiura.” (Paste Magazine

"Stone challenges stereotypical notions of what it means to be straight, bisexual, or gay, showing how sexual identities and desires can be as complicated as the individual human brain." (Publishers Weekly

"Teens, librarians and teachers alike will find this book a godsend.... Vivid and powerful." (Booklist

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Labeling

This is the perfect book for all adolescents who struggle with putting a label on their emotional or sexual feelings.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A unique look at sexual identity

I really appreciated the opportunity to read about several characters who were processing who they are and how they identify.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved every single part

Broken up into 3 parts...each story had me captivated from start to finish. Nic Stone did her thing and she's got a forever fan in me. Must read for mature young readers on up!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Funny and Romantic Story

If you believe that sexual attraction is less about gender than it is about chemistry between individuals, this is the book you’ve been waiting for. Three high schoolers navigate their feelings and friendships while making discoveries and mistakes. The narrative is alternatively funny and poignant. Three voice actors convincingly bring the three different characters to life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

BRILLIANT, FUNNY, HEARTWARMINGLY MESSY

When you fall in love with your best friend, only to find out that she's in love with a girl who's kind of in love with you... life gets messy. And gets real. Brilliant Y.A. for any age.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unique and Needed

This was such a great story. While I personally identify as a cisgendered, heterosexual female, it’s refreshing to hear a story that highlights the beauty of questioning, not being a victim of a label, and learning who you really are.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good

Good but you disappointed the lesbians. At some point, i wish Jupiter would have finally explored her unrequited love for Rae.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful