Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Short-listed for the Financial Times Business Book of the Year 

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Spider Network by David Enrich, read by Mike Chamberlain. 

The Spider Network is the almost unbelievable and darkly entertaining inside account of the Libor scandal - one of the biggest, farthest reaching financial scams since the global financial crisis - written by the only journalist with access to Tom Hayes before he was sentenced to 14 years in prison. Full of exclusive details, and with ramifications that stretch right across the British establishment, this is a gripping, real-life story of outlandish characters and reckless greed in the City of London. 

By turns a rollicking account of the scandal and also a provocative examination of a financial system that was crooked throughout, The Spider Network is a perfect listen for fans of The Wolf of Wall Street and The Big Short

©2017 David Enrich (P)2017 Random House Audiobooks

Critic Reviews

"Will snare you in its web of deceit. A brilliant investigative exposé." (Harlan Coben, best-selling thriller author)

"Reads like a fast-paced John le Carré thriller, and never lets up." (New York Times book review)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-05-17

Difficult to conclude

I thoroughly enjoyed the story, and could almost feel the very vulnerable, even child like aspect of Hayes character coming from the words. As someone who has experience of dealing with Asperger's in daily life, I could relate and empathise with Hayes situation and have experienced similar events where people I know who suffer with Asperger's have been led down the proverbial garden path into trouble, to the benefit of others. His interpersonal relationships appeared touching and even comical. I did find myself in a quandary whilst reading as my allegiance to the protagonist swung back and forth like a barometer at times, which I think separates this title from others and again really captures the fickleness of human behaviour and emotions.

The narration wasn't too great, it was a little robotic.

Otherwise thumbs up!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JCS
  • 02-04-18

Balanced analysis of the LIBOR scandal

I had followed the news of the LIBOR scandal as it was uncovered, so an opportunity to have an in depth understanding of all the aspects of the case could not be missed.

The story is fascinating, I was pleased that it wasn’t a defence of the proponents actions. Instead it sets out how the individuals got into the positions they did and is also a case study in toxic follower-ship.

There is a bit of technical detail in the story which may make it a little inaccessible to those with limited understanding of the financial system or derivatives but on the whole this is a story about people, greed and naivety.

I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to understand the story behind the headlines of the LIBOR scandal.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Harry
  • 07-02-17

recommended

enthralling story about one of the most visible scams. narration was average and could have been more engaging.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • mr lindsay r williams
  • 05-16-17

Almost comical wooden delivery by the narrator

Almost comical wooden delivery by the narrator really spoiled it for me I'm afraid to say

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Dubai_Paul
  • 05-02-17

dreary novel in a romantic style

What would have made The Spider Network better?

The FACTS get on with it! The flowery novel love story details are not required. I dont care!

What was most disappointing about David Enrich’s story?

Gave up on chapter 7. Dragging out the dreary details of peripheral tittle tattle is best left to pulp fiction

How did the narrator detract from the book?

One could tell he was also bored reading it

What character would you cut from The Spider Network?

Dont know

Any additional comments?

I am primarily a non fiction reader. If I read a finance book on a scam I want to know about the scam the technical details, what was done, what made them undone. I dont care what wine was drunk at a bar. I dont care about girlfriends I dont care about difficult childhoods.
I think other readers will be impressed I endured to chapter 7. I have no idea how the scam was done I cannot go on.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ian
  • 05-02-17

Great book

Listened almost non stop. Fact but told like fiction. Well researched. Full of excess, hubris, greed and fascinating characters.