1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Nobody  By  cover art

Nobody

By: Creston Mapes
Narrated by: Micah M. Howery
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Nobody 

Murdered Vegas homeless man - a millionaire in disguise? 

Reporter Hudson Ambrose hears an early morning call on his police scanner about an injured person at a bus stop on Las Vegas Boulevard and rushes to the scene. His world is blown off its axis when he discovers a murdered homeless man with a bankbook in his pocket showing a balance of almost one million dollars. Should Hudson wait for the police, knowing the case will get lost in reams of red tape, or swipe the bankbook and take the investigation - and perhaps a chunk of the money - into his own hands? 

With sirens bearing down on the scene, Hudson makes an impulse decision that whisks him on a frantic search for answers. Uncovering bizarre links between a plane crash, a Las Vegas pit boss, a dirty cop, and a widowed Atlanta business mogul, Hudson is forced to find out: who was Chester Holte, what was he doing on the streets, and why are his homeless friends convinced he was an angel in disguise? 

With tension in every scene, best-selling author Creston Mapes demonstrates why he is a "Top Pick" among mystery, fiction, and thriller lovers. Fans of Frank Peretti, Terri Blackstock, Ted Dekker, Joel Rosenberg, Lynette Eason, Susan Sleeman, Colleen Coble, and Christy Barritt will love this thriller from award-winning and best-selling author Creston Mapes. 

Praise for Nobody

“Creston Mapes has given us a wonderful gift with Nobody. The story compels, the pages fly, the city of Las Vegas pulsates with life, and the twists keep coming. We can all benefit from the message of this book, and once you start it, you won't be able to put it down. Nobody rocks.” (Jud Wilhite, author of Stripped and pastor of Central Christian Church in Las Vegas)

“Nobody was absolutely riveting from the opening scene to the final page... This book goes straight to the top of my highly recommended list.” (Deborah Raney, best-selling author)

"A wild ride...a captivating mystery.” (Christian Retailing)

About the Author   

Creston Mapes grew up in Northeast Ohio, where he has fond memories of living with his family of five in the upstairs' portion of his dad's early American furniture store - The Weathervane Shop. Creston was not a good student, but the one natural talent he possessed was writing.

He set type by hand and cranked out his own neighborhood newspaper as a kid, then went on to graduate with a degree in journalism from Bowling Green State University. Creston was a newspaper reporter and photographer in Ohio and Florida, then moved to Atlanta, Georgia, for a job as a creative copywriter for a printing firm/ad agency.

Creston served for a stint as a creative director, but quickly learned he was not cut out for management. He went out on his own as a freelance writer in 1991 and did work for Chick-fil-A, Coca-Cola, The Weather Channel, Oracle, ABC-TV, Johnson Controls, TNT Sports, colleges and universities, ad agencies and more. He's ghost-written more than 10 nonfiction books.

Along the way, Creston has written 10 contemporary thrillers, achieved Amazon best seller status, and had one of his novels (Nobody) optioned as a major motion picture. He plans to continue writing fiction into the sunset.

Creston married his fourth grade sweetheart, Patty, and they have four amazing kids who range from 21 to 31 years old. Creston loves his part-time job as an usher at local venues were he gets to see all the latest-greatest concerts and sporting events. He enjoys reading, fishing, time with his family, and dates with his wife.

©2011 Creston Mapes Inc. (P)2019 Creston Mapes Inc.

What listeners say about Nobody

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nicely narrated

Kept me interested and wanting to hear more. Good character development. A good choice for audible listening.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story w/ Some Narration Errors

I really enjoyed this story line and appreciated the redemption shown through the levels of several characters. I look forward to enjoying more of this author’s books!

The audio version was a bit surprising to me as there were a number of errors that I imagine were somehow overlooked during editing. Several times lines were repeated and in Chapter 17 you can hear the narrator make an error, snap his fingers and re-record it. I thought he did a nice job reading it, I was just very surprised at the number of errors that were left in place. Since different chapters are written from different character’s points of view, you do have to pay attention so as not to get confused.

Overall, I’d recommend this book, I just wish the recording could be edited properly so as not to distract from the storyline or what would’ve been good narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

engaging

storyline holds your interest
good overcoming evil in the end
believable and inspiring characters
another winner by Mr Mapes

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story of finding God and Truth

My mother and I both really enjoyed this book. The characters were so real, and the life situations opened up insights into the homeless community in a personal way. The story was full of action and twists. Highly recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nobody is a great book! I stand at the door...

this novel reminds me not to look down on those that are unfortunate, but to lift them up and help. you never know their story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A
  • A
  • 06-10-22

gripping crime fiction. really enjoyed it.

really gripping.
is christian fiction which I think I should have picked from the cover, but really well done.
narration have a decent clue at pov changes, but it wasn't always clear as the next chapter had no heading and just started with a different pov.