Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In March of 2002, while the eyes of the world focused on Afghanistan, Jack Noble finds himself on the outskirts of Baghdad, Iraq. A Marine in name only, Jack is on loan to the CIA. Normally an integral part of the team, he finds that he is nothing more than a security detail in Iraq.

Jack and his partner Bear have a run-in with four CIA special agents over the treatment of an Iraqi family. Within hours Jack and Bear are detained.

All Jack wanted was to finish his enlistment and move on with his life. All he did was intervene and save a family from unwarranted violence at the hands of four CIA agents. But he soon discovers that he did far more than intervene. He has placed himself dead square in the middle of a conspiracy that reaches the highest levels of the US government.

This fast-paced political crime thriller by USA Today best-selling author L.T. Ryan will leave you burning through the minutes as Jack races to stop the conspiracy before it claims his life. Fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne should enjoy Jack Noble.

©2012 L.T. Ryan (P)2015 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    370
  • 4 Stars
    365
  • 3 Stars
    243
  • 2 Stars
    83
  • 1 Stars
    67

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    363
  • 4 Stars
    294
  • 3 Stars
    190
  • 2 Stars
    76
  • 1 Stars
    63

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    321
  • 4 Stars
    318
  • 3 Stars
    206
  • 2 Stars
    76
  • 1 Stars
    64
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Give this series a try...

I purchased this book back in March based on reviews by Wayne (Mathews, NC). I thought he was a little off with this one and I restarted listening to it a few times. Finally, something clicked and I listened to the whole book and really enjoyed it. So I bought the next and the next and am currently listening to book #7 The Betrayed and can't understand what took me so long ! This is a vey good series and I am very glad I persevered or I would have missed out on some very good books. So thank you Wayne, I miss your reviews as you also steered me to some very good books and series that I might not have tried or stuck with if you hadn't have recommended them. Wayne Stinnett and L T Ryan are just two I can think of off hand.
Dennis Holland gives a very good performance. If not exactly enthusiastic in the first book he picks up his pace in the following books.
Anyway, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this fast paced fun series.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

This guy needs to know his subjects better.

if you're going to use military terminology you need to know what it means. The biggest part of this story was so off base that I couldn't even understand how he could continue to write in that vein.

59 of 61 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

not at all believable

I felt the narrator was completely wrong for this story. It's like listening to a Sunday sermon. The narrative is predictable and shallow. I am not able to listen to the whole book. I kept hoping it would get better. Don't waste your money or time on this one.

42 of 44 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

One of the worst books I have ever listened to

Supposedly, if you like Lee Child, you will love this book. I Love Lee Child, but this book was no where near any of his books. I kept listening and hoping it would get better. It didn't

40 of 42 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • GGO
  • California
  • 09-16-18

Narrator Was Terrible!

This very decent book was a handicapped terribly by a docudrama
type narration from an old Mutual of Omaha Wild Kingdom TV show. Talk about Marlin Perkins on life support. It's as if it was recorded off the 1st attempt with no stopping. Dull and boring and monotone. Otherwise, a good story.

30 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Forget Jack Reacher

This is my first book about Noble. After the radical change in Reacher in the last disappointment of a book I have been looking .
Noble beginnings is very similar to the first Jack Reacher books. Great story telling, a really tough, tender guy, Noble is my new audio hero. I listen to a lot of books for pure fantasy . This kind of book will never win a Pulitzer but keep me in his crazy world.
I recommend this for anybody who liked the Jack Reacher series until the author tried to broaden his horizons and failed miserably.
Where should I go next readers ? Which book?

29 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Marine Thriller

I enjoyed the buildup of this Marine's challenges and eventual conclusion. The tease at the end left me curious for number two. A great first novel for this character.

17 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

really regret wasting time on this book

Perhaps it was the casual sing song rendering of the text by the narrator, or simply that this felt like a rehash of all the other action thriller books I've listened to, but I really don't like this book, and I'll never buy another one with this reader!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

hated it

written by someone who has never been in combat. not even close to believable. Sorry Charlie no cigar.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

An okay book read by an insurance agent.....

The book and characters were just okay. The narrator had the voice of an insurance salesman or some other Wilbur Milktoast sort. It was hard to imagine bad-ass Marines with the narrative read with such an incongruous voice.

15 of 19 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Carôle
  • 10-31-15

Noble, but no fully formed!

This was an interesting book, with so much promise, but the story was not fully formed, in my opinion.

The resolution was inadequate and murky. The strands that kept you following the narrative, were very loosely tied & in some cases either non existent it unraveling!

I shall reserve final judgment by hearing book 2. That will decide on whether I pursue the rest of the series.

However, one bonus, the narrator was good and earned the book an extra 2 Stars!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • S R Crossman
  • 09-28-18

Terrible

Utter rubbish, don’t bother with this . No plot, predictable, repetitive, why it sells I can’t imagine.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Gideon Mitchell
  • 09-10-18

Empty

Never have I read such an empty book. The guy is tough and can beat anybody up The book seems to be built entirely on that quality and I struggled to find anything interesting about him. Not for me.