Your audiobook is waiting…

Night's Plutonian Shore

And Other Stories
Narrated by: Mitchell Small
Length: 6 hrs and 7 mins
Categories: Sci-Fi & Fantasy

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From DeWayne Twitchell, the author of Asian Haze, comes his first collection of short fiction, Night's Plutonian Shore and Other Stories.

The eight stories in this collection, never before published in any magazine or book anthology, run the gamut from science fiction to fantasy.

In the title story, humanity receives a mysterious message from the stars. A message that brings about the ultimate madness to those who attempt to decipher its meaning.

In "Patient Alpha", an intelligence agent becomes the guinea pig in a government experiment to change the world for the better.

In "My First Burning", in a near-future world where all religion has been outlawed, a woman recalls personally witnessing her first Burning, the fiery execution of clergy in this new world order.

In "New World", a science-fiction writer talks to a television interviewer about a momentous occasion for the history of mankind, a moment not quite of our world.

In "One Brief Perspective of a Paradigm Shift in Progress", a normal Easter Sunday morning suddenly and without warning becomes abnormal beyond imagining.

And the collection concludes with three interconnected stories, set in a world of magic, mystery, and beauty:

In "Blue Sunday", three men are drawn mysteriously to a place in the woods of Southern Illinois, where they will soon be forever transformed and, in the process, bring birth to a new world.

In "The Shock and the Light", a man details the strange events of his life after a seemingly non-eventful accidental fall into a pond, events that will lead him to his ultimate destiny.

And in the final story, "The Triangle of the Pillars", two men battle to the death for a realm not their own, leading to a tragedy that befalls one of the realm's inhabitants, a tragedy that forces him to leave his homeland in search of inner peace.

These eight tales of the fantastic, in this world and beyond, will take the listener's mind to the extreme.

©2015 Lang Book Publishing, Limited (P)2018 Lang Book Publishing, Limited

What members say