We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Winterlong Audiobook

Winterlong

Regular Price:$27.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A deadly game of cat and mouse filled with high-stakes tension, Winterlong is the must-hear new thriller for fans of Jack Reacher, Alex Cross, and Jason Bourne.

It's been five years since Carter Blake parted ways with the top-secret government operation Winterlong. They brokered a deal at the time: he'd keep quiet about what they were doing, and in return he'd be left alone. But news that one of Blake's old allies is dead, a man who agreed to the same deal, means only one thing: something has changed and Winterlong is coming for him.

Emma Faraday, newly appointed head of the secret unit, is determined to tie up loose ends. And Blake is a very loose end. He's been evading them for years, but finally they've picked up his trace. Blake may be the best there is at tracking down people who don't want to be found, but Winterlong taught him everything he knows. If there's anyone who can find him - and kill him - it's them.

It's time for Carter Blake to up his game.

©2017 Mason Cross (P)2017 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (177 )
5 star
 (94)
4 star
 (65)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.4 (161 )
5 star
 (89)
4 star
 (56)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.5 (162 )
5 star
 (102)
4 star
 (49)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jason Mount Juliet, TN, United States 02-08-17
    Jason Mount Juliet, TN, United States 02-08-17 Member Since 2012

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    113
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    352
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "To say this is really good is an understatement!"
    Any additional comments?

    This is the third book in a series although this one can be read as a standalone some brief discussions in this book reference action from the first two.As for this book and the whole series it is top shelf characters, action and narration I just can not recommend this book and series enough. Fans of Ben Coes and Tom Wood will feel right at home.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John tallevast, FL, United States 03-20-17
    John tallevast, FL, United States 03-20-17 Member Since 2011

    List of favorite books: Woodcutter - Reginald Hill, Consent to Kill, First Deadly Sin - Lawrence Sanders, Sniper Elite - Scott McEwen

    HELPFUL VOTES
    849
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    171
    148
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    58
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Plausible Deniability"

    Or Deniably Plausible

    I keep suffering through these Mason Cross books because of the positive reviews.The character is likable and the story line has promise - But it just doesn't have any real substance. I didn't feel invested in this story at all. It's not like I couldn't wait to get back to this story after having to stop or anything. It's like eating food to survive instead of enjoying it. I bought the Audio Book and consumed it just to keep my brain active while working. I wouldn't say I enjoyed it.

    J

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    shelley Raleigh, NC 02-09-17
    shelley Raleigh, NC 02-09-17 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5533
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1213
    281
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1143
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "WINTERLING EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT"

    This book is EXCELLENT!! Just in case you didn't see it my headline.
    I really enjoyed the first two books in this series (Hunting Season and The Samaritan). Both of those books hinted at a very secretive past with a shadowy organization. The first two also allude to reasons this organization has decided to allow him to live. Carter Blake is a man with a moral code who does not believe in collateral damage of innocents.
    This book surprised me by answering all the questions brought up in the first two books. Winterlong turns out to be the name of the program he was in, it is also the same agency that wants to kill him. The story goes back and forth from past to present as the agency once again is hot on his trail and killing those associated with him. Two others left the agency when he did and they have been murdered even with their insurance.
    To complicate things just a little more Carter has an unwilling travel partner. A mange has apprehended who stole some valuable software from a startup company. Now he can't let him go because of his own ethics, he doesn't want him to become collateral damage.
    The book comes to an explosive yet satisfying ending with the promise of future books.
    Eric Myers gives an excellent performance. His voice really fits the characters.
    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
    If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
    Thank You.

    21 of 28 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wayne Matthews, NC 02-10-17
    Wayne Matthews, NC 02-10-17 Member Since 2017

    I am a husband/dad/granddad who loves books. My reviews are my subjective opinions. My hope is they will help others make buying decisions.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    13373
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1942
    1580
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    473
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very outstanding suspense thriller!!"

    Winterlong is the third outstanding novel in the Carter Blake suspense series by Mason Cross. All three easily earn 5 stars. These novels should probably be recognized as of the espionage genre. Winterlong answers several questions about Carters Blake's past that The Killing Season ans The Samaritan left cloaked in secrecy. In this novel the author uses flashbacks, mostly to Carter Blake in Afghanistan, to answer some of the open questions from earlier in the series. Narration by Eric Meyers is stellar.

    I very highly recommend Winterlong, but suggest listening to The Killing Season and The Samaritan first.

    7 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Beverly S 07-13-17
    Beverly S 07-13-17 Member Since 2010

    Beverly S.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nail Biter"

    Block out some time for this one. You will have a hard time pausing it. The narrator did a good job, giving just the right inflections. You can't help but like the main character; hope he returns.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Allan Benton, AR, USA 05-28-17
    Allan Benton, AR, USA 05-28-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    No weaknesses. Finishing this up at 4 AM in the morning couldn't put it down.! Can't wait for the next installment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    A 05-19-17
    A 05-19-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    70
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    257
    100
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "¿Calling off the dogs - with the flash drive that provides not fake news"

    Blake Carter is next for assassination? People who Blake had worked with or helped him in his passed, turn up dead for helping him. Blake now has to terminate those who he once worked with together and set him up. Blake wants to be left alone - or else. The squad is destroyed!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathryn 03-06-17
    Kathryn 03-06-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    264
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    212
    174
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Simply Outstanding"

    The first novel in the series got me excited that there just might be another good espionage type series in the making. The second novel was good, maybe not as good as the first, the third is outstanding. Interesting story and twists, likable developed characters, good pacing of action and information. Provides good background information on the protagonist by moving back and forth from present to past - it is well done and well paced. Lots of room for more stories about Carter Blake - which I can't wait for. Eric Meyers does a stellar job performing - not just reading this novel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    itinerant 02-28-17
    itinerant 02-28-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    224
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    250
    138
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a little confusing, but draws together eventually"

    The book is generally well done, but the early parts switch time frame and point of view too often and with too little differentiation for an easy listen. Once it all gets straightened out, though, it's an engaging story with relatable characters, though the McGuffin is a bit of a hoary concept to hang a narrative on these days. It could have been about 15 minutes shorter, too, but all in all it's a book that will get me to listen to another by this author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.