Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

She was close enough to see that the girl had written a word on the wall in bright, warm red blood. Not a word, actually. A name...

Everyone in the small town of Denton is searching for Isabelle Coleman, a missing 17-year-old girl. All they've found so far is her phone and another girl they didn't even know was missing.

Mute and completely unresponsive to the world around her, it's clear this mysterious girl has been damaged beyond repair. All Detective Josie Quinn can get from her is a name: Ramona.

Currently suspended from the force for misconduct, Josie takes matters into her own hands as the name leads her to evidence linking the two girls. She knows the race is on to find Isabelle alive, and she fears there may be others....

The trail leads Josie to another victim, a girl who escaped but whose case was labelled a hoax by authorities. To catch this monster, Josie must confront her own nightmares and follow her instinct to the darkest of places. But can she make it out alive?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Helen Fields, and Robert Dugoni will be utterly gripped and listening long into the night once they discover the first in this unputdownable new crime thriller series.

©2018 Lisa Regan (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    16

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I’m not sure I can finish...

I’m so distracted from the story and being able to get into it because of the narrator...she talks like an “angsty teen” and it’s hard to get past.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This narrator was horrible.

This narrator was horrible. Her constant mispronounciation of words and the long eee sound drove me up the wall. Loved the story but will never listen to this narrator again

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story, terrible narration

It was really hard for me to get into this novel due to the narrator - she was very boring, and didn't seem to know the story well (could tell that some of her sentences were awkward in regards to her tone). She might be entertaining, and just had a bad spell with this book, but I don't plan to purchase any more audio books with her as a narrator. I'm willing to give Lisa Regan another chance by trying out a second book with a different narrator, but it might be tough since there are so many other great books out there.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bad narrator ruined a decent story

This narrator was so bad that I will filter out any more books narrated by her.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good story, HORRIBLE narrator

When I could focus on the story it was good. The problem was the narrator. Her mispronunciations were so distracting that they took attention away awsy from the story. I mean, who can't pronounce taco or eat or other simple words.
for the author's sake, I hope a different narrator is used for future installments because this narrator will cost her book sales.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book but weak narrator

I liked the book but the narrator was awful. The narrator Eitidh Beaton was not a good voice for the book. She confused her characters and has a strange accent. Not sure where she is from.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator Disaster

I loved this storyline and start of a series. However, it needs to be re-recorded with a different narrator. Not sure how the mispronunciations and timing issues got past editing. I am usually pretty forgiving with narrators. But, I will not get the next book in audio!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good storyline okay characters

I struggled a bit at first 2 connect with the characters, kind of thought Josie was a little pushy and her fiance was a wuss LOL.. but the story grew on me ...the only thing I did not like was that the narrator started not pronouncing normal words correctly. halfway through the book she would leave out part of the word. it was very distracting. I will still read book 2 because I always do LOL you'll have to excuse my punctuation in this review as I am voice to texting right now

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book; distracting narration at times.

Overall... good and I'll continue with the series, however, narrator syntax and pronunciation were distracting at times throughout the novel.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

ugh! that narrator!

had to return because that narrator was horrible! her pronunciation is all over the place, her characters all sound like teenage girls(even the men). I just don't understand why she sounds the way she does, it's so obnoxious that I couldn't finish listening. seriously, listen to the sample before spending a credit on this hot mess. a shame because I think the story was probably good, I was just so distracted by the awful narrator I can't be sure.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 06-23-18

Well written book about warped and cruel people

Thought this book was excellent. It was basically a cruel story which with skill pulls the reader into the twists and turns on a race to the crashing finish

I have to disagree with the reviewer who thought there was too much swearing .. it was little and appropriate and I have seen and heard much more on TV.

Highly recommend this book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • L_McC
  • 03-29-18

Enjoyed it

Great book but the narrator was terrible which wastes it a bit. If u can get over that though I’d recommend it.