Regular price: $24.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....

When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?

Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

©2012 Alex Grecian (P)2012 Penguin Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    710
  • 4 Stars
    649
  • 3 Stars
    237
  • 2 Stars
    61
  • 1 Stars
    43

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    841
  • 4 Stars
    478
  • 3 Stars
    143
  • 2 Stars
    37
  • 1 Stars
    24

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    643
  • 4 Stars
    551
  • 3 Stars
    232
  • 2 Stars
    62
  • 1 Stars
    34
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Long and tedious, with lots of historical detail.

This was a bit long, and there et were simply too many characters in the beginning. I was hoping for something like Ripper Street, but the characters weren't as interesting. Furthermore, while I like forensics as much as any reader, having to watch yet another character 'discover' fingerprints and explain them was so tedious I wanted to cry. The mystery is decent, or I should say, one of them is....there is a subplot which is entirely unnecessary and could have been cut.

As for the narrator, he has a beautiful voice and did a great job distinguishing among the numerous characters (almost all male, but when he did the women, he didn't do the annoying falsetto thing so many male narrators do). That said, the most annoying and distracting thing ever (and this could be more of an editing problem) was that he took an audible breath before every single sentence. I never got used to it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ted
  • Lancaster, PA, United States
  • 05-03-14

Great Sense Of Puzzling Place… And Time

A police procedural just as police were emerging as professionals. Set in 1890s London smack at the Sherlockian moment… Alex Grecian creates a fascinating ensemble after a murky killer-of-cops. By combining emerging forensic sciences with dogged deductive police work, all with a supporting cast of culturally constrained characters who channel the action.. well the result's a fun read, um…. listen.

And Toby Leonard Moore creates emotionally credible and distinct characters. I liked this enough to almost immediately download "The Black Country" so I could stay in this great place. Unfortunately, as you'll see from my review of the second book in this Scotland Yard Murder Squad series… That was not my best decision.

Still, this book is worth the time… It's a true time machine.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Period Victorian

I liked this book. It did have a few anachronisms re forensic science and psychology as one reviewer mentioned. But I like detailed stories. There were numerous plot/subplots to add additional Victorian flavor and the narrator was GREAT! He differentiated between the various characters so that you knew who was whom. Day and Hammersmith were strong characters who were well supported by the large number of other characters spread throughout the novel. I would love to see a series with these two characters as well as their boss at the Yard, 2 other murder squad detectives, the forensic surgeon, his daughter and his new employee, and lastly Day's wife.
On the con side, the story was pretty long and the multiple murder cases were almost unbelievable. It did have a few grisly descriptions but this is the era of Jack the Ripper after all..
The Yard is a good read for a long listen and it did provide some historical details that stimulated my interest to find out more about life in Victorian London. It might do the same for you too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Tom
  • DOVER, PA, United States
  • 08-09-12

Very Very Poor Narration

Due to the narrator I can not rate the book/storyr. I have listened to many books the last couple years and this guy is absolutly the WORST. He reads a sentence pauses, then takes a very audible breath. This narrative stye carried on as far into the book as I could stand. His repetative cadence ruined what other wise started to feel like a good story.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good book and Narrator

I really enjoyed this book. The plot(s) was very good and the narrator did a wonderful job. I stayed up until 4am to listen to the last several hours to find out what happened. I have a feeling there will be a sequel with several of the characters returning. I hope so. I would download and listen if there is. I recommend this audiobook.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen!

If you could sum up The Yard in three words, what would they be?

Engaging, authentic, compelling

What other book might you compare The Yard to and why?

To some degree, the Anne Perry series set in a similar (maybe a bit later) era. This one was deeper, though, and really made you feel you were in at the start of a great series, and at the start of modern forensics.

Which character – as performed by Toby Leonard Moore – was your favorite?

The main guy, of course! Walter!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Ahhhh....nothing! Very enjoyable listen. I like strong voices that handle different characters and accents well - male or female.

Any additional comments?

Hope to see more from this author!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Don't bother

What disappointed you about The Yard?

He gives the killer away within moments

What three words best describe Toby Leonard Moore’s voice?

Great for the subject I just wish it was a better book

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Yard?

I would have an entire rewrite give me a mystery to solve in a mystery thriller.

Any additional comments?

Bad book

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellant

What did you love best about The Yard?

The story held your attention.

Who was your favorite character and why?

I enjoyed all 3 of the main characters Day, Hammersmith and the Doctor

What about Toby Leonard Moore’s performance did you like?

A very good reader that brings the story mood and interest.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beginnings of Scotland Yard

Scotland Yard seems like no big deal these days, but in 1889 London, after a reign of terror by Jack The Ripper, something needed to be done about the increased publics panic with murderers in this huge city. The murder Squad was started with twelve men who were in charge of solving all the murders in London. Unfortunately, the next big case involves the murder of one of these particular policeman. His body was found stuffed in a trunk, with few clues evident to how he got there.

Inspector Day is relatively new to the force, but his powers of observation and detecting instincts cause him to be put in charge of this case. He's befriended and helped by Dr Kingsley, who becomes the force's first forensic pathologist. Most of Dr Kingsley's ideas are revolutionary--like dusting for people's fingerprints. Though everyone isn't completely convinced of the uniqueness of these lines and swirls on people's fingers, his idea proves to be useful. Children, the homeless, chimney sweeps, and workhouses also come into play in this wonderfully involved story of the early Murder Squad.

The characters and story line are uniquely blended to create tension and suspense in this first of the Murder Squad Mysteries. I really enjoyed the writing style of these mixed mysteries too, as information was given close to a solution before it created more questions. Wonderfully done book!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Alisha
  • Nashville, TN, United States
  • 08-08-12

Loved It!

What did you love best about The Yard?

I couldn't wait to find another mystery by Alex Grecian, but then found out this was his first. The narrator is one of the best I have heard to date. I loved a period point of view of early forensics and police work, even down to the realization that officers should only travel in pairs. The only reason I didn't give five stars is due to some of the side stories that I could have done without.

Which character – as performed by Toby Leonard Moore – was your favorite?

Sir Edward

3 of 5 people found this review helpful