We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Yard Audiobook

The Yard

Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....

When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?

Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

©2012 Alex Grecian (P)2012 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (1586 )
5 star
 (645)
4 star
 (614)
3 star
 (231)
2 star
 (54)
1 star
 (42)
Overall
4.1 (1420 )
5 star
 (581)
4 star
 (526)
3 star
 (223)
2 star
 (57)
1 star
 (33)
Story
4.3 (1421 )
5 star
 (767)
4 star
 (459)
3 star
 (137)
2 star
 (35)
1 star
 (23)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amy 01-28-13
    Amy 01-28-13 Member Since 2007

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    318
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    173
    57
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    25
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An Atmospheric Tale"

    Imagine a Sherlock Holmes mystery in which Holmes never appears, and the weary Inspector Lestrades and Gregsons must soldier on as best they can to solve their cases on their own, and you have The Yard.

    This compelling novel accomplished everything I'd hoped. There's a clear sense of the challenges (in public relations as much as actual detective practice) faced by Scotland Yard in the wake of the Jack the Ripper murders. There's a well-researched sense of place in the descriptions of London, and especially the East End. The plot emphasizes the turning-points experienced during this unique moment in history, from the evolving understandings of mental illness to the first steps in modern forensic science. Most of all, this mystery -- or series of mysteries -- delivers sympathetic, well-drawn characters who represent a variety of different walks of life and habits of thought and degrees of power/powerlessness. Knowing "whodunit" early on was a bonus for me, so I could focus on the details of characterization, setting, and theme. If I could make any criticism of this lovely, atmospheric work, it would be that some of the loose threads ended up too neatly tied at the end. That's a small quibble indeed. Anyone who fancies a gaslit, Gothic tale very self-aware of its unique moment in intellectual history -- unencumbered by much of the tedious romance-as-window-dressing seen in many contemporary mysteries set in Victorian times -- likely will enjoy this as much as I did.

    6 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Solange 06-13-12
    Solange 06-13-12

    Mixed media artist, drummer, and Audible listener - 863 titles and counting!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    144
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen!"
    If you could sum up The Yard in three words, what would they be?

    Engaging, authentic, compelling


    What other book might you compare The Yard to and why?

    To some degree, the Anne Perry series set in a similar (maybe a bit later) era. This one was deeper, though, and really made you feel you were in at the start of a great series, and at the start of modern forensics.


    Which character – as performed by Toby Leonard Moore – was your favorite?

    The main guy, of course! Walter!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Ahhhh....nothing! Very enjoyable listen. I like strong voices that handle different characters and accents well - male or female.


    Any additional comments?

    Hope to see more from this author!

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 06-27-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    82
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    96
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Repetitive"

    While this novel has a few brief moments of competence--and an even fewer isolated moments of surprising excellence--overall it's repetitive and naive. I've never before read such thoroughly modern viewpoints and sensibilities thrust down the throats of historical figures. Not a single character came across as realistic, but rather were portrayed as caricatures of modern people the author Idealogicly imaginined might have existed in the past. What rubbish. The characters were cardboard, the plot was obvious, and the writing conveyed the sense that the author was getting paid by the word. Again and again wildly unlikely coincidence propelled the plot forward. Nearly all of the characters disobeyed direct orders, rarely acted logically or intelligently, and stumbled forward only through the obvious and heavy-handed insistence of the author. If you embrace the idea that the ideal version of your modern hero comprised the bulk of the population in late nineteenth century London, you'll love this book. If you have any sense of history or reality, I can't imagine your reading this without shaking your head and tutting.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patrick 05-16-17
    Patrick 05-16-17 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    98
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    It's hard to tell if the story has any merit because the narrator is so bad. Slow, plodding taking big gasps of breath between lines.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lindsey 03-23-17
    Lindsey 03-23-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Poor Delivery on a Good Premise"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    I was let down with the narration. It made good scenes hard to get involved with. When the serial killer is sewing eyes and mouth shut, and the victim is still alive, I should be disgusted, horrified, just completely into it. But the overly-analytical, blase way it was written elicited NO reaction from me.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Alex Grecian again?

    Don't think so.


    How could the performance have been better?

    I dug the reader- I had to double check two different times that it wasn't Tim Curry! But the writing wasn't there to back him up.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Disappointment. The premise is good- the beginning of serial killer analysis in London- but the narration is terrible.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan Bartonville, TX 11-12-16
    Susan Bartonville, TX 11-12-16 Member Since 2012

    I don't usually rush out for all the "best sellers", but give each intriguing book/author a look. I have found many diamonds in the rough.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1043
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    582
    554
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    173
    81
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Meh"

    It was not a bad story. I just had a hard time staying hooked to the story. Others liked it very much.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kimberly 08-28-16
    kimberly 08-28-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Be patient"

    I think the narrator holds this back a bit. He. Just. Seems. So. Slow! He picks up a bit in the last quarter or so of the book. I did go ahead and get the second book. Luckily the ones after the second have a different narrator.
    Story is good - different, original.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    BrethlessM 08-26-16
    BrethlessM 08-26-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    175
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Clearly a first novel"
    Any additional comments?

    Honestly, I thought this book was ridiculous. It was entirely anachronistic, the author had too many plots happening at once, and the plots themselves made no sense. The characters behaved senselessly, as well. You try to chalk it up to inexperience in criminology, but common sense gets in the way. Very disappointing.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan Iowa City, IA, United States 12-31-14
    Susan Iowa City, IA, United States 12-31-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    63
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    213
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    22
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wanted to like"

    I should have taken seriously a couple of reader comments but liking the era so much I thought surely it would work for me. It just did not. Some may be the narration which I found stolid and flat. Perhaps it was the pacing of the writing and story. What ever it was it just did not hold my interest. Also the time spent with the murder and his particular interests was just too grim for me.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 05-03-14
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 05-03-14 Member Since 2010

    Don't know what I want to be when I grow up. Trip's cool though. Use Audible to make gym-training sane... And rip my imagination.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4071
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    520
    439
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    326
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Sense Of Puzzling Place… And Time"

    A police procedural just as police were emerging as professionals. Set in 1890s London smack at the Sherlockian moment… Alex Grecian creates a fascinating ensemble after a murky killer-of-cops. By combining emerging forensic sciences with dogged deductive police work, all with a supporting cast of culturally constrained characters who channel the action.. well the result's a fun read, um…. listen.

    And Toby Leonard Moore creates emotionally credible and distinct characters. I liked this enough to almost immediately download "The Black Country" so I could stay in this great place. Unfortunately, as you'll see from my review of the second book in this Scotland Yard Murder Squad series… That was not my best decision.

    Still, this book is worth the time… It's a true time machine.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.