Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.

When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on when more bad things began to happen...

But that woman's husband died last week. And Jean doesn't have to be her anymore.

There's a lot Jean hasn't said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.

Now there's no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.

The truth - that's all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything....

List of readers:

  • The Mother read by Jayne Entwistle
  • The Detective read by Nicholas Guy Smith
  • The Widow read by Hannah Curtis
  • The Husband read by Steve West
  • The Reporter read by Mandy Williams

©2016 Fiona Barton (P)2016 Penguin Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1,486
  • 4 Stars
    1,573
  • 3 Stars
    751
  • 2 Stars
    177
  • 1 Stars
    72

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2,110
  • 4 Stars
    1,089
  • 3 Stars
    347
  • 2 Stars
    53
  • 1 Stars
    36

Story

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1,262
  • 4 Stars
    1,285
  • 3 Stars
    760
  • 2 Stars
    222
  • 1 Stars
    102
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • CR
  • 02-18-16

Disturbing but very good.

The story was original but the subject matter could be upsetting to some. Still, it was presented tastefully without unnecessary gory details. It was realistic and gave me a lot to think about. The performances were spot on. Overall I do recommend this book, but not to somehow who would be sensitive to hard topics (I don't want to give too much away). It was worth a credit.

51 of 52 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not Very Thrilling... Only Very Tragic...

I imagine the people who thought this book was a good thriller do not listen/read many books. The "twist" is very obvious from the beginning of the book, and in my mind, there really wasn't any twist (or mystery or thrill) at all. There are, however, many twisted, messed up, disgusting characters, and enough of a good-paced story to have kept my interest in listening. Ultimately this is a very sad story, and although you probably won't cry, I feel it is much more tragic than thrilling. As other reviewers remarked on, it was laughable how the police were portrayed to have absolutely no knowledge of how criminals use the internet and how to perform an investigation using the internet. The rookie investigator that was "just out of University" had to explain to the lead investigator the very basics, and they went about their operation like it had never been done before by anyone. I actually rolled my eyes in some parts.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Chilling

Great book! Very dark though.... I think it's a good thing to listen rather than read because you may not understand the British slag as well if reading.

24 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

'Thriller' Without Any Thrills

Don't be fooled by any comparisons to 'Gone Girl' or 'The Girl on the Train' ... This is more of a slow-burn introspection into some profoundly disturbing psychosis, which is good at times, but nothing very innovative. I kept waiting for a twist that never came, unless you count a fairly obvious detail about a certain character's death that you can see coming from a mile away. As such, not what I'd call a "thriller."

Also, the detective narratives in the middle of the story are laughably outdated. The police are baffled by how chat rooms work. The fact that chat rooms and Internet porn needs to be explained to them/us goes to show how crummy they are at their job, and the author's lackluster results.

65 of 71 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Slow moving and a bit dull

Interesting but took a long time to get going and never really got that gripping. The constant jumping about of timeline and perspective was quite annoying. Cast were good but the way it was done meant that the same characters had different voices in each chapter which is very distracting.
Not bad but not particularly engaging.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Taryn
  • Suffern, NY, United States
  • 04-12-16

Kept my attention

This was one of those stories that kept me listening but after it was over I couldn't tell you much about it. It was not terribly original and not really exciting. However, I kept listening and waiting to see what the ending would be. So for that reason if you cant find anything else you want to listen to, its not bad.However, there are probably some better options to spend your credits on!

30 of 34 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great cast of readers

Any additional comments?

Well written and very well read. Not the most thrilling thriller but builds atmosphere and does keep you guessing. Pretty good overall.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Suspenseful drama; thoughtful resolution

Having recently finished "The Girl on the Train" and "The Double Bind", I wanted something in the same vein, and "The Widow" didn't disappoint. Told from various points of view read by different narrators to keep them distinct while listening, the book lends itself well to audio. It kept me guessing about the direction it would take, and I found that I was looking forward to times when I could listen so as to finish the narrative. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys suspenseful thrillers.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great use of multiple narrators

While many books try to split chapters among different point of view characters, few do it successfully. The audio version succeeds by using multiple narrators.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Nothing Redeeming

The subject of this book is simply awful. My bad for following my "recommended for you" email without reading a synopsis first. I forced myself to continue with it, thinking there must be a redeeming quality to this book, like a twist in the plot or great character development. Something. Anything! Alas, I got nothing. The book never got off the ground. If you simply want to hear about a pedophile from his child-obsessed wife's perspective, this book will give you that. It gave me the feeling that I had to take a shower.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful