We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Scarred Woman Audiobook

The Scarred Woman: Department Q, Book 7

Regular Price:$31.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times and number-one internationally best-selling author of The Keeper of Lost Causes delivers his most captivating and suspenseful Department Q novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson.

Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold cases division, meets his toughest challenge yet when the dark, troubled past of one of his own team members collides with a sinister unsolved murder.

In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. The case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide investigation from over a decade ago, but the connection between the two victims confounds the police. Across town a group of young women are being hunted. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.

Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After an earlier breakdown, their colleague Rose is still struggling to deal with the reemergence of her past - a past in which a terrible crime may have been committed. It is up to Carl, Assad, and Gordon to uncover the dark and violent truth at the heart of Rose's childhood before it is too late.

©2017 Jussi Adler-Olsen (P)2017 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (488 )
5 star
 (342)
4 star
 (109)
3 star
 (28)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.6 (456 )
5 star
 (313)
4 star
 (96)
3 star
 (38)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.8 (457 )
5 star
 (374)
4 star
 (70)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Laura Paralegal 10-20-17
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    30
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can’t get enough!"

    I am in love with the Department Q gang and wait patiently for each new translation. The rough edges are slowly being chipped away from these characters but the witty banter remains. I might like the series slightly less if it wasn’t for Graeme Malcolm—his Assad is endearing. What will I do when/if Adler-Olsen has had enough of Carl Morck? Sigh...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    BostonLady 10-15-17
    BostonLady 10-15-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    45
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth the wait"

    This author does a bang up job of story telling. Love all the Dept Q books. Five stars. Great narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MarkFrisco 10-14-17
    MarkFrisco 10-14-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    41
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Story + Performance = Excellence"

    That's it in a nutshell--how would Assad say that?
    Eagerly waiting for next book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 10-13-17 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Adler-Olsen does it again!"

    This latest installment of "Department Q" was just as intriguing and suspenseful as the others. With heart , ntelligence and even humor he weaves a story that ,while multifaceted,
    explores the interconnections between events and the diverse characters involved. The narration is excellent and perfectly suited to the characters, setting and their individual personalities. I couldn't have enjoyed it more!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    elizabeth toews 10-12-17 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "another great story"

    Another Dept.Q . The characters are always compelling and their relationships are as important to the narrative as the crimes(s) and the solution.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    susan 10-11-17
    susan 10-11-17 Member Since 2015
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    129
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Preposterous bad guys"

    Always love Adler-Olsen but this time his villains were pretty unbelievable: sociopathic welfare moms and a homicidal social worker. Sounds like a U.S. Republican ad against the welfare system. I found myself both horrified and laughing at the black humor of it all.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Rocket 10-10-17
    John Rocket 10-10-17
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth every penny"

    This is a most fantastic book. A home run in weaving a mystery and then helping solve it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeanne W. Gamag 10-08-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Terrific story!"

    Loved it! Karl and the boys and girls are better than ever. Go Dept. Q!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rena Silver Spring, MD 10-07-17
    Rena Silver Spring, MD 10-07-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    77
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    264
    46
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful as always"

    Piquant interesting characters, fascinating subplots, and lines that motivate a burst of laughter. The author is at the peak of his talent. Don’t miss out on him.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Midwesterner 10-05-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    63
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    40
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Oh Rose....
    "

    I very much enjoyed this story. It was very suspenseful ; just the right amount and not as gut-wrenching as maybe one or two in the past; in this series.

    We got to know a lot more about Rose. Now if we could just uncover Assad's secrets! And what's the deal with Hardy now? And isn't there more to his original shooting?

    Looking forward to more! Thank you for the boredom-free commute, Jussi Adler-Olsen.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.