Regular price: $21.31

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Lose yourself in the gripping first novel in a new series of Golden Age murder mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters.

It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle. Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nurserymaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially 16-year-old Nancy - an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories.

But then a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, and Louisa and Nancy find themselves entangled in the crimes of a murderer who will do anything to hide their secret....

Based on a real unsolved crime and written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one best-selling Downton Abbey books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, Jessie Burton and Agatha Christie - and is based on a real unsolved crime.

©2017 Jessica Fellowes (P)2017 Little, Brown Book Group

Critic Reviews

"Exactly the sort of book you might enjoy with the fire blazing, the snow falling. The solution is neat and the writing always enjoyable." (Anthony Horowitz)
"True and glorious indulgence. A dazzling example of a Golden Age mystery." (Daisy Goodwin)
"Oh how delicious! This terrific start to what promises to be a must-read series is exactly what we all need in these gloomy times? Inventive, glittering, clever, ingenious. I devoured The Mitford Murders...so will you. Give it to absolutely everyone for Christmas, then pre-order the next one." (Susan Hill)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • GReader
  • Adelaide, South Australia Australia
  • 11-12-17

Not any Mitford I know

This book fails on several counts
1. Nancy Mitford was not ever a rather silly girl as portrayed
2. She would not have fraternised with a servant in the manner described
3. The plot is implausible and relies on at least one unlikely coincidence
4. The resolution is completely implausible
5. The writing is competent but not gripping
There are supposedly 5 more books in the series. I'm sorry I spent money on the first and won't be wasting time on the next five.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • cdw
  • 10-09-17

Lovely, lovely, lovely!!!!

Downtown Abbey with murder!!!! And very well read. A pleasure to listen to! Looking forward to the next instalment.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mrs Maureen Cate
  • 11-14-17

PREDICTABLE BUT ENJOYABLE...

A fiction greatly enhanced by factual persons and events. An enjoyable read with characters and events both real and invented. Basically, a light, period,detective story but none the less a worthwhile listen - especially if you are a Mitford fan.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-06-18

Disappointing

Not a particularly well written story which seemed over long in the telling. The narrator rendered the characters insipid or annoying.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lorna
  • 12-18-17

A curious endeavour

I wonder why this seemed like a good idea? A standard whodunnit with the Mitfords shoe-horned in. I'm not a Mitford expert, but it seems hard to believe that Nancy would have been quite so attached to a rather teary nursery maid with a violent uncle hanging about. And the heavy handed references to the sisters' foibles is grating (imagine - Pam loves animals and Unity is grumpy). Well read though, although the main character has a voice like a docker. All in all, I'd give it a miss.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-29-18

Mitford Murders.

Could have been to!d in half the time. Few of the characters were credible. Nancy Mitford was an excellent authoress and I don't think she would have appreciated this portrayal of herself.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-22-17

Narrator is distracting

Sadly I just couldn’t get into this book, I persevered but the narrator became too annoying/distracting for me. All subjective, I know! Just not for me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lise
  • 12-21-17

Waist of time

I had a hard time finishing this audiobook. The characters was unlikable.
A couple of hours, into the book, I had figured out who the murder was.
One of Main characters was a bit annoying, and for some reason the narrator choose to give her extremely childish and annoying voice.
In my opinion this audiobook was a waste of time. But maybe a young audience would like it.
(Sorry for my english, it is not my language)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mrs S J Davis
  • 11-11-17

Brilliant

I really enjoyed this who dunnit! Super plot and very well narrated. Hope there are more tales of Louisa and Guy to come.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jean Mc
  • 02-21-18

I gave up halfway and sent it back.

This book needed editing to half the size. The narrator managed to make characters either ear bleedingly shrill or deadly dull.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Merrimaid
  • 02-19-18

Bit disappointing

I enjoyed the narrator, she did a great job of distinguishing between the different characters, and overall, I was engaged with the characters. However, the story itself was overlong and a bit waffley in parts, and all of the ‘twists’ in the tale very obvious.

I don’t think I’ll be bothering with any sequels!

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Vanessa Young
  • 01-09-18

Just dreadful

I turned this off at the eleventh minute because it uniformly awful. Every boring trope about 'what a poor girl has to do to get by' is contained in the initial minutes of Louisa's story, which seems to be a mishmash of ideas about what the author thinks poorer people had to endure post WW1. The characters are unsympathetic and the addition of Nancy Mitford is contrived and anyone who has read Mitford and biographies of the Mitford sisters will find it intolerable. I rarely return books because I think most books have some merit, even if they are not brilliant, but this is going back. I understand this is the first in a series:please, Jessica Fellowes, think again.