We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Killing Hour Audiobook

The Killing Hour

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.

©2003 Lisa Gardner, Inc.; (P)2003 Books on Tape, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (1101 )
5 star
 (558)
4 star
 (348)
3 star
 (137)
2 star
 (37)
1 star
 (21)
Overall
4.4 (736 )
5 star
 (445)
4 star
 (195)
3 star
 (70)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (8)
Story
4.3 (741 )
5 star
 (409)
4 star
 (198)
3 star
 (78)
2 star
 (26)
1 star
 (30)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Cialynne1 North Carolina, USA 02-25-13
    Cialynne1 North Carolina, USA 02-25-13 Member Since 2017

    ADD Diva

    HELPFUL VOTES
    27
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    127
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Creepy read!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Killing Hour to be better than the print version?

    Yes, for sure! Anytime someone reads to me, the story and the characters take on a new life.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Kimberly Quincy. I really like her tenacity, resolve, and determination. She plays hard, works hard, and the budding relationship she is building with Mack is really cool!


    Which character – as performed by Anna Fields – was your favorite?

    Mack.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Both emotions.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pvmv AUBURN, MA, United States 01-22-13
    Pvmv AUBURN, MA, United States 01-22-13 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Killing Hour to be better than the print version?

    Yes


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    Her great style of no nonsense right to the point writing


    Which scene was your favorite?

    All of them she is great The most vivid is the scene in the underground tavern


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The end with the usual twist thrown in


    Any additional comments?

    I can't say enough about Lisa Gardners style of writing. I have not come across any book of hers that I did not throughly enjoy. I am thrilled she is coming out with a new one in Feb

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    avidreader 11-30-12
    avidreader 11-30-12

    one-more-reader

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not her best."
    Would you try another book from Lisa Gardner and/or Anna Fields?

    Definetely! But if this had been my first Lisa Gardner's novel, I wouldn't have listened and read another one. I'm happy it was not the case: I've read and listened most of her books and, so far, The Killing Hour is the only one that hasn't kept me awake all night. Kind of slow and repetitive.Anna Fields' narration is OK. If it were not for her "male voices" she would be more than just OK.


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    The story is kind of slow, considering that we're talking about Lisa Gardner. Anna fields does a good job, but her "male impersonations" are dull. All the male characters sound just the same, which can be not only confusing, but boring too.


    What three words best describe Anna Fields’s voice?

    No male characters.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    Yes, but because is a Lisa Gardner's novel. Maybe this thriller is OK for a movie since the book is slow paced and repetitive.


    Any additional comments?

    Being a Lisa Gardner fan, I found it hard to say but ... I didn't like this book. Not the right one for introducing the audience to her novels; she's much more than "The Killing Hour", so please, don't read this book until you have read, at least, 3 or more of Lisa's thrillers.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amy Rexford, NY, United States 08-23-12
    Amy Rexford, NY, United States 08-23-12 Member Since 2011

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    66
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "much better than i expected"

    When I first started to listen I thought that the narrator doing the voices was a little hokey. But she's really good and I have enjoyed this book immensely... I'm not quite finished and already I'm disappointed that it's at the end. Really good listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kimberly friendswood, TX, United States 10-14-11
    Kimberly friendswood, TX, United States 10-14-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Read in order"

    You dont HAVE to read them in order BUT I really wish I would of.... I loved her books and would of probably loved them more had I read them in order.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandra K. Eden, UT, United States 08-29-11
    Sandra K. Eden, UT, United States 08-29-11

    pandora4vr

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "the killing hour"

    I listen to this book while i'm doing my morning workout and find i extend my workout just to listen to more. This is a really good thriller slash serial killer story. LOVE IT!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jenny Orlando, FL, United States 07-09-11
    Jenny Orlando, FL, United States 07-09-11 Member Since 2012

    Avid audio book listener with over 1600 books in my library!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    48
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    567
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    2
    Overall
    "WOW!"

    Absolutely one of the BEST books I have listened to in a long time!! Lisa Gardner out does herself with this book! I listen to a minimum of 5 books a month! She ranks up there with the best of the best. The narrator is equally as good. I rank Anna Fields up there with Dick Hill. Fantastic!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rose 06-08-11
    Rose 06-08-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    299
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    328
    53
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    22
    3
    Overall
    "Enjoyable listen."

    This is my first read of this author and I enjoyed the read from start to finish. Tight plot. Interesting characters. Others have mentioned they didn't like the narration... I really didn't think she was that bad, once you got into the story a bit. There are a lot of male characters in this story and her male voices take a bit of getting used to, however they weren't bad enough to detract, in my opinion.
    Worth the credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandy St. Louis, MO, USA 09-12-08
    Sandy St. Louis, MO, USA 09-12-08
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Like the writer but felt it was to slow!"

    This did not hold my interest. I would not recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kristin B Lappala Glenwood, IA United States 08-13-08
    Kristin B Lappala Glenwood, IA United States 08-13-08 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    53
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Good Book"

    A great story line. Interesting to read. If you like crime stories, this is a pretty good one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.