Regular price: $31.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.
©2003 Lisa Gardner, Inc.; (P)2003 Books on Tape, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    636
  • 4 Stars
    378
  • 3 Stars
    149
  • 2 Stars
    39
  • 1 Stars
    22

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    471
  • 4 Stars
    227
  • 3 Stars
    97
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    31

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    518
  • 4 Stars
    222
  • 3 Stars
    81
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Jenny
  • Orlando, FL, United States
  • 07-09-11

WOW!

Absolutely one of the BEST books I have listened to in a long time!! Lisa Gardner out does herself with this book! I listen to a minimum of 5 books a month! She ranks up there with the best of the best. The narrator is equally as good. I rank Anna Fields up there with Dick Hill. Fantastic!!!

  • Overall

Enjoyable listen.

This is my first read of this author and I enjoyed the read from start to finish. Tight plot. Interesting characters. Others have mentioned they didn't like the narration... I really didn't think she was that bad, once you got into the story a bit. There are a lot of male characters in this story and her male voices take a bit of getting used to, however they weren't bad enough to detract, in my opinion.
Worth the credit.

  • Overall
  • Sandy
  • St. Louis, MO, USA
  • 09-12-08

Like the writer but felt it was to slow!

This did not hold my interest. I would not recommend it.

  • Overall

Good Book

A great story line. Interesting to read. If you like crime stories, this is a pretty good one.

  • Overall

good author

glad I found this author. really enjoyed the story.

  • Overall

Found another good one

I have been listening to books for quite some time so it is nice when you discover a different author to listen to.
Having lived in VA for nearly 15 yrs, I was impressed with the reality of this book.
Great story line that kept you guessing almost to the end.

  • Overall

Kept Me Enthralled

A very interesting twist. Vintage Lisa Gardner.

  • Overall

disappointing

The reviews I read for this book and others by this author made me hopeful that I had found another mystery writer with a series I had not read or listened to. I was very disappointed by this book though. It is really a good story that has some good plot twists and lots of suspense. I even liked the characters. That's what made it so disappointing!! The worst thing is that the narrator really is terrible! It would have been much better if she wouldn't have tried to imitate male voices. The male voices were laughable at first and irritating as time went on. Another thing I found irritating was that there were some hyper-emotional scenes that didn't really seem necessary to the story. I'm not sure if they would have been as irritating if the narrator had been better though. I found myself wishing for scenes to end and just get back to the story. I think I will try one of this author's later books because writers do improve with experience, and the newer ones are read by a different narrator. It looked like this was the authors first or at least an early book.

  • Overall
  • Oma
  • Conroe, TX, USA
  • 05-31-07

Roadtrip worthy

The Killing Hour was filled with twists and turns along with a multitude of interesting facts about Virginia. What I enjoyed the most was Anna Fields’ style of narration. It took a few minutes for me to adjust to her vocal changes but once I did, they really added to the novel's appeal. She uses accents, volume and tonal changes to enhance the story and put the listener into the novel. I did not find this distracting and am going to check out what else she has narrated.

Overall listening to this little novel was a fun diversion from the everyday grind. If your going on a road trip I recommend it.

  • Overall

A wonderful read!

Although I am not a great fan of murder mysteries, this one is excellently crafted and many times had me on the edge of my seat. The characters were appealing and fully fleshed out, and the story was intricately plotted but totally believable. Anna Fields did a wonderful job as always with the reading. I can't recommend this too highly.