Regular price: $16.77

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

An ancient fortune has lain hidden for thousands of years, one so powerful that men will kill to protect it. And only one man can unearth it....

Ex-SAS operative Ben Hope is living a peaceful life in rural France - until a phone call from an old army comrade turns his world upside down. Eminent Egyptologist Morgan Paxton has been brutally murdered while working on the mysterious Akhenaten Project in Cairo, and Colonel Harry Paxton wants Ben to find his son's killer.

Ben is unable to refuse the request from the man who once saved his life - but when Harry asks him to avenge his son's death, he's in dangerous territory - made worse by the fact that he finds himself attracted to Zara Paxton, Harry's new bride.

Carving through the seedy Cairo underworld, Ben soon realises there was more to Paxton's research than meets the eye, as he is plunged into one double-cross after another. His mission leads him from Italy and Paris via the coast of Scotland to the banks of the Nile, climaxing in a tense showdown in the war-torn Sudanese desert.

At the end of the trail lies the ultimate treasure, hidden away by three rebel high priests during the reign of the heretic pharoah Akhenaten - a collection so valuable that some will stop at nothing to possess it....

A supercharged, heart-racing thriller, perfect for fans of Dan Brown, Sam Bourne and Wilbur Smith.

©2015 Scott Mariani (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"James Bond meets Jason Bourne meets The Da Vinci Code." (J. L. Carrell, best-selling author of The Shakespeare Secret)
"Deadly conspiracies, bone-crunching action and a tormented hero with a heart.... Scott Mariani packs a real punch." (Andy McDermott, best-selling author of The Secret Vault)
"Full of authentic detail and heart-stopping action - a real thrill ride." (Ed Macy, author of the best-selling Apache)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Think ... Indiana Jones

Any additional comments?

I bought this book because I like narrator Colin Mace so much. And he did an excellent job and improved the overall quality and my rating of the book. The story reminds me of Indiana Jones...racing from place to place in search of a treasure. Lots of people die and most of them in really unnecessarily violent ways but you can skip through that. There are lots of interesting facts about Egypt and tombs and rulers, which I enjoyed. Ben is very likable and very competent (ex-SAS man with all the incumbent skills) who has started a school to train people in hostage rescue skills. Then an old friend calls in a favor and the story is off. I would have to say Ben is a terrible judge of character and that I don't believe he is a love-at-first-site kind of guy, but that's the author's choice. So now I'm going to listen to the next one in the series.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jason b
  • 06-16-17

Very average

What did you like best about The Heretic's Treasure? What did you like least?

Nothing overly gripping very disappointing ending predictable

Did Colin Mace do a good job differentiating each of the characters? How?

Good job each character had its uniqueness

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Louise
  • 03-24-17

Dismal

What disappointed you about The Heretic's Treasure?

Everything. This book was every airport novel thriller cliche stuck together with chewing gum. I found myself physically cringing at some of the dialogue because it was so hackneyed. I kept listening only because I was stuck in the car and I could not quite believe it could be as bad as it was.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Heretic's Treasure?

All of them - it would be a kindness.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • MikeP
  • 10-12-16

Another epic adventure

Enjoyed this instalment of the Ben Hope adventures. This time, against 2 adversaries, all seemed lost but as ever it went down to the wire.
Wish the epilogue was a bit longer and probed a bit deeper into.... Ah no, plot spoiler not required.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kevin
  • 09-24-16

nice twist at the end

another great book by Scott, mouth watering for the next book...I already now how book 15 is going to end....Ben with either liver or lung cancer lol