Regular price: $13.85

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The truth hurts....

Erin and Roisin were friends until a fatal accident ruined both their lives. Now Roisin has discovered a secret - one Erin has kept for over a decade - and she's determined to make Erin pay for her lies.

Erin wants nothing to do with Roisin. She has a new life in London and no intention of going back home. Yet when her father is mysteriously and critically injured, Erin has no choice but to return and face Roisin - and her past. Erin knows if the secret of what she gave up got out, the consequences could be devastating.

When Roisin suddenly disappears, suspicion soon lands on Erin. She would do anything to protect her family, but just how far is she willing to go when time is running out?

A must-listen for fans of CL Taylor and BA Paris.

©2016 HarperCollins Publishers (P)2016 Sue Fortin

Critic Reviews

"Slowly but inexorably draws you in until you can hardly wait to discover the fate of the characters...you'll love Sue Fortin." (Sue Moorcroft)
"A twisty romantic page-turner that will keep you guessing." (Julie Cohen)
"Sue Fortin's gripping books always keep me turning the pages! Highly recommended for fans of grit-lit and suspense!" (Mandy Baggot)
"The suspense, mystery and secrets to be revealed kept me turning the pages...nerve wracking and gripping." (Rachel's Random Reads)
"Kept me intrigued right up until the end...a highly enjoyable read, filled with secrets." (By the Letter Book Reviews)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    14

Performance

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    125
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    12

Story

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    53
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    15
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Overall Mediocre, Slow Moving

I don't think I would describe this book as 'psychological thriller', or even 'suspense'. Instead, it's a run of the mill mystery lacking in those key elements of suspense and twists. The main character is fairly benign, but starts to impress more later in the book. The problem is, you know right from the beginning who the villain is, so there's little surprise in the plot development. There wasn't enough to become invested in. The main character's developing romance with a hometown boy was clumsy and uninteresting. Her ambivalence left me lukewarm. In the end, a little less talk and a little more action would have improved "The Girl Who Lied." Some readers will probably like the atmosphere of the small Ireland town, which was one of the better aspects of the story, and the narration was good. however, overall, I wouldn't really recommend it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

So enjoyable

Loved this one. I rarely review books, I can't find the right words. The Girl Who Lied was charming. I'm a total sucker for the Irish accent, I've been to the town in Co Cork that is the setting for the story. I felt the characters and their lives and struggles in a way I rarely do. I enjoyed the mystery, the romance and the atmosphere. It's a light read, I suppose, by most people's standard. I, however, have listened to it twice in 2 days and enjoyed it second only to my favorite audiobook of all time, Can You Keep a Secret. I'm anxious to see if there are more books by this author available.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disappointing

The story started out well but the plot became predictable. The way adoption and abortion were so negatively depicted was not appealing to me and I found the ending majorly disappointing. I wasn't looking for a literary masterpiece but heavy moral topics along with weak plot line and characters did not mesh well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Incredibly Irritating

Finished this purely because I had paid for it. Story, characters (how many cliches can you fit in one book?) and rendition equally cringe-inducing.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Terrible Story, Incredibly Sexist

What would have made The Girl Who Lied better?

A more interesting story line and less sexism. The story was slow, and was centered around a "secret" that - at least in the context of most Western societies and communities - is only "shocking" if you first buy into an outdated anti-abortion plot. Abortion is represented as immoral and even adoption is portrayed as "abandoning" your child(red), which, frankly, is not only sexist but just stupid. What made these elements even more offensive was that there unethical qualities were taken-for-granted and presumed obvious; women who get abortions or put their children up for adoption - not matter what the circumstances - are bad people. While the actual "twist" or "secret" is somewhat interesting, it becomes obvious long before it is meant to be figured out and it slow coming to develop. In addition. there is little to no thrill, horror, psychological intrigue or suspense; it is essentially a bad drama with a little "edge." The female characters are also 2 dimensional and the female-male interpersonal dynamics are androcentric and gender normative; men are the decision makers, the intellectual, confident and independent ones, women are secondary - often described as "strong" and "independent" but never actually portrayed as such.

Would you ever listen to anything by Sue Fortin again?

No. Her books are clearly designed for individuals living in Ireland who are entrenched in a specific culture and history; their is a clear disdain for the English and the middle/upper class that seems to be particular to Ireland, as does the anti-abortion, pro-gender normative, patriarchal family structure. This book is for a very specific reader. I honestly never realized how sexist and gender normative Ireland could be - even if just culturally - until reading this book. The problematic socio-political implications were not the only issue however; the book is poorly written and slow, the "twists" are boring and badly developed (no suspense or thrill), and the characters are unsophisticated and boring.

How could the performance have been better?

The narrator was dry; however, she was likely restricted by the dryness and mundane qualities of the book itself.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Girl Who Lied?

All of it.

Any additional comments?

Waste of a credit.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

well done!,

narration was a bit fast and the story and characters easily confused, but for the most part this book was very good and I will be watching for more written by this Sue Fortin.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disappointing!

Thoroughly enjoyed the first 40% of the book with some intrigue and threatened 'darkness' but plot fizzled out to a love story with some tragic youth-based decisions. Final chapter even more dissapointing when they 'all lived happily ever after'.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mama D
  • CLOVERDALE, CA, US
  • 03-07-17

Pretty good story.

I enjoyed the story. Will probably listen to more from this author. Kept me entertained during a long car drive.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Scary crazy happy story

Loved the story. Great narration great ending. Highly recommend. Keeps interest throughout the book loved all the characters except one. But you'll have to listen to it to figure out which one!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Enjoyed This Book

This was a good read. Tho predictable It was not a bother and liked getting to know the characters. Good for a book club. I recommend this book

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Simon
  • 11-18-16

Something About a Girl

Billed as more a drama than an out and out thriller this is an engaging read from Sue Fortin. Those seeking action and thrills and spills aren't going to find them here as it is a more thoughtful exploration of relationships and the damage that can be done by secrets no matter how well hidden or how far in the past they may be. It is part romantic and part melodrama and has a few twists up its sleeve.

The narration adds to the entertainment with Amy De Bhrún's Irish accent a pleasure to listen to. It's not perfect though, voices were dropped occasionally and the English characters came over a little as caricatures though the author is also partly to blame here.

My abiding impression is that I enjoyed a pleasurable listen without ever being excited by the story. The time passed quickly, though for my personal tastes the ending came over just a little bit saccharin-laden. It's really more of a romantic / family drama than a genuine thriller or even "Psychological Drama" so if that's your scene this is likely a decent choice.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Clarence
  • 07-14-17

I'm a sucker for an accent

Beautiful lilt of the narrator gently draws you in.

Not a fast paced drama but a complex family drama that slowly draws you in more and more. If it had a different narrator I don't think I'd be as fond as it was slightly too slow paced for me. But the Irish lilt got me (reminds me of family members long past).

I'd stick this in the Mum / chick lit zone rather than psychological drama. Maybe it's just too tame for me.

  • Overall
  • BrianJ
  • 07-12-17

Crackin read

Loved the storyline, the audio commentary and the want Sue builds in the characters. An excellent read

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Nyssa B
  • 02-16-17

I loved this book

this book was really good. I really enjoyed the narrator especially the Irish accent. it was such a breath of fresh air and it gave me such an insight to life in Ireland. the narrator was amazing. the story was well written and delivered. I will definitely be looking out for both the author and narrator again.