Regular price: $14.97

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

is Swedish crime sensation and number-one international best seller Camilla Läckberg’s new psychological thriller - for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbø.

Christian Thydell has been receiving anonymous threats since he began writing his novel, The Mermaid. When one message, secreted within a bouquet of flowers, causes him to collapse at the book's launch party, crime writer Erica Falck is compelled to investigate. Erica’s husband, detective Patrik Hedström, meanwhile, is puzzled by the disappearance of Christian’s friend Magnus Kjellner four months previously.

When a body is found frozen in the sea near Fjallbacka, he has a murder enquiry on his hands. Someone carries an intense hatred for Christian and his circle, and they won’t hesitate to turn their threats into reality. Clues in his debut novel, The Mermaid, point to a horrific secret buried deep in his past. One that someone will go to any lengths to keep hidden...

©2012 Camilla Lackberg (P)2012 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"Mesmerising.... It’s Läckberg’s particular skill to have created two of the most fully rounded characters in contemporary crime fiction, with a warmth that cuts right through the Nordic chill." (Independent)
"Läckberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror…a must for white-knuckle junkies." (Guardian)
"Läckberg is particularly good at portraying the claustrophobia of a small community in which everyone knows everyone else and the police may well be friends with killers." (The Times)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not the best of the bunch

Would you try another book from Camilla Lackberg and/or Eamonn Riley?

I've read all six books in this series by Lackberg, the last four of these in audio format narrated by Eammon Riley. I didn't enjoy this instalment quite as much as the earlier ones but I'm happy to give the combination another chance as I did enjoy the earlier books so much (particularly THE ICE PRINCESS and THE HIDDEN CHILD). Riley is a terrific narrator and I do enjoy having the Swedish names pronounced for me :)To me this book took a long while to get going, with almost the first third concerning itself with the day-to-day lives of the series' long-running characters which grew a bit tedious, and the mystery itself was not as strong as with some of the earlier books.

Have you listened to any of Eamonn Riley???s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Only his other narrations of this series which I have enjoyed. This one is up to the usual high standard.

Do you think The Drowning needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

As always Lackberg has left us with a cliff hanger ending which means, I assume, there is another book on the way. I must admit I find this practice a bit annoying but I will read the next one anyway.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Narrator Spoilt the Story

The narrator' s embarrassingly dreadful voices ruined this book for me. Why on earth he felt the need to change his voice for different characters is beyond me. The voices made the characters sound like utter morons. Other things in this book were awful too, no idea why a reader needs a blow by blow description of a pooey nappy being changed or why the narrator changed the pronunciation of the characters name, Erica was Earica, Patrick was another weird one. Don't waste a credit on this boring ridiculous book

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • mikel
  • estella, Spain
  • 09-27-12

ffffff

What disappointed you about The Drowning?

She is run out of ideas...

What was most disappointing about Camilla Lackberg’s story?

It is a copy of Mc fadyen book

Have you listened to any of Eamonn Riley’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

He does good

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Drowning?

the essential idea, its is like you have read it before

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Carol
  • Napier, New Zealand
  • 04-04-12

The best one yet!

Dark and disturbing. If you like this type of book, you will love this one! It's the newest in the Patrik and Erica series, and I think it's the best so far. The heart of the story is sad. Children unloved, tragic actions, guilt - all leading to murder and mystery. And the narration was great! I can't wait now for the next installment.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Nom de Plume
  • 05-10-12

Rather Disappointing

I have read/listened to all the books in the Patrick Hedstrom series by Camilla Lackberg, and up to now I have found them excellent. This book, however, I feel is the weakest so far. While I still enjoyed the interaction of all the various employees of the police station and their family members, the main plot line was quite transparent. I could see the denouement coming a mile away, and was just waiting for it to unravel. There also seemed to be quite a lot of unnecessary filler.

In a nutshell - worth listening to if you enjoy the Patrick Hedstrom novels, but definitely not Lackberg's best.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amelia
  • 07-14-13

Good plot Love the nitty gritty

I have read all of the books translated into English and love them all I think the characters are well rounded and believable and the stories interesting. I love the day to day banter between the characters especially in Patrik's office. I thought the story line was well thought out and it gave me a few surprises in the end. Enjoyed the narrative and felt it helped the story. Recommended read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ruth
  • 10-24-17

Drawn out

An interesting and good story eventually but rather repetitive and drawn out. Great psychological content

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • JaneyKay
  • 04-16-17

Disconcerting and unputdownable

I've just finished listening and feel quite upset ... the story has touched me very deeply and a new one is starting at the end.

The story was very tense and cleverly designed ... I felt that it was too drawn out for a period of time but in the end it was well worth listening to and I don't think I'll forget this story in a hurry.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • JoJo
  • 05-19-16

WOW.. amazing ending!

Brilliant, its a tiny bit slow at the start, fantastic ending.. Held my breath.. Loved it and all the others in the series.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Stephen
  • 10-27-15

Not what I had hoped for

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

Not unless there were very new to this type of literature - the crime story is so ordinary and the domestic asides and attempts at humour just gall.

What was most disappointing about Camilla Lackberg’s story?

The predictability - it wasn't so bad as to stop listening but the key premise was so obvious.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

Some of the background scenes and the backstory of the antagonist works well.

Did The Drowning inspire you to do anything?

Probably to be a little more circumspect when ordering my next audiobook.

Any additional comments?

This is a very lightweight crime-fiction. For someone new to the genre it's fine but for an experienced crime-fiction devotee, it may disappoint.