Regular price: $13.85

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A white-knuckle crime debut introducing DI Meg Dalton, perfect for fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley.

The devil is coming....

A shocking death.

A lawyer is found dead in a Peak District cave, his face ribboned with scratches.

A sinister message.

Amidst rumours of a local curse, DI Meg Dalton is convinced this is cold-blooded murder. There's just one catch - chiselled into the cave wall above the body is an image of the grim reaper and the dead man's initials, and it's been there for over a century.

A deadly game.

As Meg battles to solve the increasingly disturbing case, it's clear someone knows her secrets. The murderer is playing games with Meg - and the dice are loaded....

©2018 Roz Watkins (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"A fabulous book. I can't wait to meet DI Meg Dalton again." (B A Paris)
"An outstanding debut. The Devil's Dice had me gripped from the start." (Stephen Booth)
" The Devil's Dice encapsulates the dark heart of the Peaks and enthrals the reader with its clever and compelling plot." (Sarah Ward)

More from the same

Narrator

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Author’s anti-Christian rhetoric was just too much.

The ridiculous portrayals of Christians in this book is beyond acceptable. “Nutters” It just droned on and on about how unintelligent and insane Christians are. Story line could have been wrapped up a lot faster. Could have just said, “I want to bash God and Christians for hours” and let it be.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not to my taste

Too much noncontributory detail.
Unable to complete. Early on determined what I thought motivated behaviors. Book went on too long.
De gustabus.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Good story idea, mediocre execution

This story has several interesting elements and a lot of potential, but the author's inability to conceal her personal animus to anything religious and her superficial, overly simplified presentation of the sanctity of life vs. euthanasia argument made the plot tiresome and the villain tediously obvious.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Clematis
  • 03-09-18

Superb - looking forward to more in this series

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This is a gripping story, with the sparky DI Meg Dalton as the very likeable lead character.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sally
  • 05-15-18

Had to skip chapters with this one

Too drawn out for me, had to skip to last few chapters, I did not find it a page turner.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful