We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Cutaway Audiobook

The Cutaway: A Novel

Regular Price:$17.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing "MISSING" notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can't seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.

Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC, business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation's capital.

Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies, The Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the end.

©2017 Christina Kovac (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (30 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.7 (27 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.8 (28 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kathleen 04-15-17
    Kathleen 04-15-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    380
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just not that interesting. "

    This just was not a very interesting or engaging start. I returned it.

    Narrator was ok but was almost like a news reporter in delivery in that she was very factual and unemotional. Not horrible but not great. Nothing I would listen to again and wouldn't have finished a hard copy book had I started it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Debbie De Georgia 06-10-17
    Debbie De Georgia 06-10-17

    I totally enjoy a well written novel with a great narrator!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    158
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    121
    73
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    64
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Inside Cut"

    I enjoyed this novel in the life of a reporter and news anchor. This was a fairly decent Audiobook. Tumbs up to the writter and narrator.
    The killer did truly surprise me, which is very hard to accomplish. I had an inkling in the beginning but quickly dismissed it.
    This Audiobook is well worth the purchase.
    Official Review by: Author, Narrator and blogger
    DeAnn DeVille

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary Martha Adkins 06-05-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not That Great"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    The narrator, I have heard this narrator before and she has an odd speech inflection, almost like a speech impediment. Very hard to listen to especially when she tries to do men's voices. They sound like they have no personality.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    This narrator is hard to listen to and has a very strange inflection in her voice. She also absolutely cannot do men's voices. It ruins the whole story.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    The story might have been better if there was a different narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Toni H 04-20-17
    Toni H 04-20-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    33
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    138
    120
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great lead and hooking storyline"
    Any additional comments?

    Knightly is a producer for a news network. She also has a troubled history with her family and basically a photographic memory. Those traits cause her to focus more on aspects that others might overlook. She sees a piece on a missing woman and can't let it go. Most everyone in her life seems to be trying to hinder her digging deeper into the woman's story. Murder, mystery, politics, detectives, witnesses and more come into play. She isn't a cop, but she is an investigative journalist out to connect the answers and expose the coverups. She's a likable lead, and the storyline is great at keeping the reader hooked and guessing. Anyone could be guilty. The Cutaway was a win for me, and I'm definitely going to be following this author's future works.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daniel Hill 04-09-17
    Daniel Hill 04-09-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, forced delivery"

    No need to change voices for male and female. it sounded really awkward and forced. otherwise, she did well at narrating.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.