We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Concrete Blonde: Harry Bosch Series, Book 3 Audiobook

The Concrete Blonde: Harry Bosch Series, Book 3

Regular Price:$29.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The Dollmaker was the name of the serial killer who had stalked Los Angeles ruthlessly, leaving grisly calling cards on the faces of his victims. Now, with a single faultless shot, Harry Bosch thinks he has ended the city's nightmare.

But the dead man's widow is suing Harry and the LAPD for killing the wrong man - an accusation that rings terrifyingly true when a new victim is discovered with the Dollmaker's macabre signature.

So, for the second time, Harry must hunt down a death-dealer who is very much alive, before he strikes again. It's a blood-tracked quest that will take Harry from the hard edges of the L.A. night to the last place he ever wanted to go - the darkness of his own heart.

Impressed? Ace detective Harry Bosch is also on the case in other exciting Michael Connelly crime-fiction novels.

©1994 Michael Connelly (P)1994 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (6096 )
5 star
 (3121)
4 star
 (2315)
3 star
 (545)
2 star
 (70)
1 star
 (45)
Overall
4.5 (4509 )
5 star
 (2536)
4 star
 (1586)
3 star
 (321)
2 star
 (39)
1 star
 (27)
Story
4.5 (4513 )
5 star
 (2785)
4 star
 (1397)
3 star
 (257)
2 star
 (41)
1 star
 (33)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Tim Little Rock, AR, United States 03-12-16
    Tim Little Rock, AR, United States 03-12-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mouth Noises?"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Concrete Blonde: Harry Bosch Series, Book 3 to be better than the print version?

    No


    What did you like best about this story?

    Standard detective story of a solved case falling into question, causing the detective to doubt his own beliefs.


    What three words best describe Dick Hill’s voice?

    Overusing Mouth Noises


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    He do the police in different voices


    Any additional comments?

    Reader seems to think if he smacks his lips and breathes heavy he is creating unique characters -- It would be nice if he would just read the story without all the theatrics. d

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    KelleyA 03-03-16
    KelleyA 03-03-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Harry Bosch doesn't disappoint"

    I liked this 3rd book better than the first two. The plot is great & then the author hits you with several scenarios that are all plausible. I will continue to read Michael Connelly's Bosch series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth Peebles 02-29-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best yet"

    Strong story with excellent reading! Good listen! Made trip go faster. I highly recommend this book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katherine Shields Morganton, NC 02-23-16
    Katherine Shields Morganton, NC 02-23-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    116
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "performance was distracting."

    I liked the book, but the vocal performance distracted me from the continuity of the story. I felt like the narrator had a severe case of dry mouth; it cause a jumpiness to the reading and I found myself wondering why he didn't just drink some water...at least that could have been edited out. When he just continued reading it took away from the authenticity of the characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    GrandmaRoot 02-13-16
    GrandmaRoot 02-13-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Harry Bosch is the Dirty Harry of Los Angeles."
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Concrete Blonde: Harry Bosch Series, Book 3 to be better than the print version?

    I use them two different ways. I use the audio books when I'm driving, walking or cleaning house etc. With the printed books, I can't do anything (which is okay by me) but get immersed in the book and use the voices in my head for the characters


    What other book might you compare The Concrete Blonde: Harry Bosch Series, Book 3 to and why?

    This ? reminds me too much of school so I'm not answering it :/


    What does Dick Hill bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    I like his voice. It's a low graveling smokers, didn't get enough sleep voice. When he changes to the other characters there's a different but not impersonating someone's voice. I don't think the voice in my head could achieve that since I'm not a man and I don't smoke.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    I hate it when books are made into movies, it takes all the imagination out of it.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    clifford United States 01-30-16
    clifford United States 01-30-16 Member Since 2016

    akitonmyers

    HELPFUL VOTES
    588
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    304
    165
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    20
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolute Perfection"

    If you are a genre mystery fan, I'm sure you have read at least one of Connelly's Bosch books in the past. Connelly is like Mickey Mantel at an All Star home run hitting derby. Every time he publishes a book, he is swinging for the outfield stands and often he hits one out of the park. Concrete Blonde is one of several novels where he has managed to find a perfect pitch of perfection in the mystery novel form.

    A good mystery thriller in my mind is not about action (high speed chases & gun fights), its not about high stakes (someone trying to save the world against all odds), & they don't have comic book super hero's that rely on abilities no human being possesses. A good mystery in the vein of Chandler and Hammet has a protagonist that is mortal, full of psychological flaws. Its about character development and a pacing that takes the reader from start to finish with a series of inner discoveries. Concrete Blonde is small in scale, but its executed with such startling mastery in the hands of Connelly.

    I loved how here Connelly has Bosch on trial and how things look so bleak for our guy. The trial is about Bosch killing possibly the wrong guy who was set up as a serial killer. At the same time Bosch is trying to figure out what might have been over looked in the original crime scenes from a few years ago. Everything is out of control and as a reader you are left reeling in a way you will never feel reading any military thriller I have ever come across. The tensions are high. The plot is amazing. The narrator is first class. The characters are perfection. You can't ask for more than this. (though I would suggest reading the series in chronological order).

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Essence H. 01-12-16
    Essence H. 01-12-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "JUST GOOD"

    I loved it. it kept mine attention throughout the whole enchanting book. great great great

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elliot W. 01-06-16
    Elliot W. 01-06-16

    edubuu

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I didn't want a law novel..."

    In general, I enjoy the Bosch series, and have listened to many of them. This one, however, I found disappointing - mainly, I guess, beaus so much of it was set in the courtroom and focused on the stereotyped opposing lawyer. To be fair, Bosch's own lawyer was even more stereotyped as a useless assistant DA. I had a lot of trouble with much of the book, the opening half in particular. If it weren't for Dick Hill, I'd have rated the overall lower. Bottom line, if I'd wanted a legal story, I'd have bought Turow.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    I. Patterson 12-30-15

    ianesque

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sleazy"
    Would you try another book from Michael Connelly and/or Dick Hill?

    Yes, I've enjoyed a number of his other books, but this one disappointed.


    What could Michael Connelly have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    I finally gave up and didn't finish the last couple hours of the story because the amount of explicit sexual content was distracting, even though the story was otherwise compelling.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    Connelly writes fantastic crime investigation and court room dramas. I was rarely bored, but in this case he veered unnecessarily into the gutter, in my opinion.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JackMargo St Petersburg, FL, United States 12-30-15
    JackMargo St Petersburg, FL, United States 12-30-15

    Blind Vietnam veteran. Antique weapons collector. Outdoor enthusiast. Florida State University graduate with Business major. Owner of home health agency. registered nurse.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    78
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    977
    91
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "TOP NOTCH ENTERTAINMENT"

    If you like a good mystery, this one will float your boat! Fun read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.