We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Book of Mirrors Audiobook

The Book of Mirrors: A Novel

Regular Price:$17.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

An elegant thriller in the vein of Night Film and Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, this tautly crafted novel is about stories: the ones we tell, the ones we keep hidden, and the ones that we'll do anything to ensure they stay buried.

When literary agent Peter Katz receives a partial book submission entitled The Book of Mirrors, he is intrigued by its promise and original voice. The author, Richard Flynn, has written a memoir about his time as an English student at Princeton in the late 1980s, documenting his relationship with the protégée of the famous Professor Joseph Wieder. One night just before Christmas 1987, Wieder was brutally murdered in his home. The case was never solved. Now, 25 years later, Katz suspects that Richard Flynn is either using his book to confess to the murder or to finally reveal who committed the violent crime.

But the manuscript ends abruptly - and its author is dying in the hospital with the missing pages nowhere to be found. Hell-bent on getting to the bottom of the story, Katz hires investigative journalist John Keller to research the murder and reconstruct the events for a true crime version of the memoir. Keller tracks down several of the mysterious key players, including retired police detective Roy Freeman, one of the original investigators assigned to the murder case, but he has just been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer's. Inspired by John Keller's investigation, he decides to try and solve the case once and for all, before he starts losing control of his mind. A trip to the Potosi Correctional Centre in Missouri, several interviews, and some ingenious police work finally lead him to a truth that has been buried for over two decades...or has it?

Stylishly plotted, elegantly written, and packed with thrilling suspense until the final moments, The Book of Mirrors is a book within a book like you've never encountered before.

©2017 RightsFactory SRL. All rights reserved. (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (162 )
5 star
 (51)
4 star
 (57)
3 star
 (43)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (6)
Overall
3.9 (155 )
5 star
 (58)
4 star
 (41)
3 star
 (41)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.1 (154 )
5 star
 (60)
4 star
 (55)
3 star
 (32)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Judith 02-23-17
    Judith 02-23-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engaging"

    After trying a couple clunkers I really needed something to keep my attention and give me a sense of spending time and credits for value. This book was a gamble, just released and no reviews yet. I finished it in one day. Very satisfying.

    13 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LaFaye 04-05-17
    LaFaye 04-05-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good listen, but disappointing ending"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    The ending could have had a twist. Some plot points seemed to hang.


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    Disappointing ending. I think the author got tired of writing.


    Did the narrators do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    Narrator was adequate and easy to listen to.


    Do you think The Book of Mirrors needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Doesn't need a follow up because the story ended without any build up to another "chapter".


    Any additional comments?

    I liked the premise of a story within a story. It was an ambitious goal! I appreciated the minimal foul language very much. The story was compelling up until the last chapters. But when I was expecting a twist, it just ended. Most disappointing.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Megan 03-01-17
    Megan 03-01-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't waste your time!"

    This editor's pick way over-promised on this one. I kept listening, hoping to *finally* get to the "thrilling" plot, which never materialized. The book hinted at psychological games and manipulation, but those didn't materialize, either. This book was all exposition and no tension, and that was just the beginning of my irritation. In this book, you will know everybody's college major. Why do we need to know an elderly lady's caregiver majored in anthropology? Good God, we don't! Side plots were pointless, too.

    The book had notes of sexism, where a female was dismissed as the suspect in a murder my a grizzled detective because the guy was bludgeoned to death and lady murderers usually use poison. I mean, what? We do? How? Where do we get poison? Then there was a racist moment where an African-American man (who we know is African-American because he spoke in partial dialect) furrowed his brow and looked like a "confused monkey." Ugh, you guys.

    Normally I would just move on and find something else to read, but editor's picks are usually pretty good. I was waiting for a Kaiser Soze moment to warrant the attention from people who like to read. It didn't happen. If you're wondering if this will be worth your struggle through the flat characters and unnecessary words, the answer is no.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paula 07-11-17
    Paula 07-11-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't do it."

    The reading is awful. It is jarringly bad, although it may be that the dialogue is just so terrible that there is no way to make it work. The writer seems to love the way he writes. It feels masturbatory. I gave it 2 hours. Couldn't take it anymore. Delete.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Yates 07-09-17
    S. Yates 07-09-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    201
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    364
    227
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Middling and aloof"
    Any additional comments?

    This mystery just left me cold. The writing style is detached and often stilted, sometimes reading more like a middling true crime accounting than a novel. None of the characters truly engaged me, and the handful of narrators (failed writer making a last attempt at a manuscript outlining a decades old murder, prospective publisher who wants to know more, freelance journalist hired to find out more, and retired police officer who failed to catch the murderer in the first place) all felt a bit aloof, with little real drive or depth. The most interesting aspect of the book is the theme of memory and how it plays into figuring out what happened, but this theme was not fully developed or thoughtfully explained. In the end, I can't say I recommend the book - though mostly resolved, Chirovici adds an epilogue that seems purpose built to throw a bit of doubt where none was necessarily needed and ends up feeling contrived. I leave this book disappointed, especially after quite a few positive reviews led me to expect more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stephanie 05-01-17
    Stephanie 05-01-17 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow! Awesome book."

    Didn't want this book to end. Totally lost track of time listening to the story. Just when I thought I had it figured out, it threw me another curve ball.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marissa Scranton, PA, United States 04-05-17
    Marissa Scranton, PA, United States 04-05-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quick, Fun Mystery"

    I bought this title on a whim simply because the summary compared it to Night Film (which I absolutely loved). I finished this in just a couple days. I liked the cast of characters and the author made me suspicious at some point of almost every one of them. The narrators did an excellent job. I would definitely read something by this author again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Darrell HANSCHEN 03-09-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well worth the time and the credit."

    It does start slowly, but once you get into it, you definitely want to finish it. Characters are well developed and varied with numerous viable choices of "who dun it". Narrator is just right. I highly recommend it. A boring day in the car was transformed into an interesting day with a master storyteller.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Albert 03-04-17
    Albert 03-04-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable to the last sentence."
    Any additional comments?

    I would not say it was amazing or outstanding, but it was worth the credit. The narration was excellent.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    teng teng zhang 03-01-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "suspense, suspense, suspense"

    love it! the story started a little slow but after the first half. I couldn't put it down until I'm finished with everything.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.