We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Power Down Audiobook

Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)

"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (4328 )
5 star
 (2433)
4 star
 (1362)
3 star
 (386)
2 star
 (82)
1 star
 (65)
Overall
4.4 (3769 )
5 star
 (2241)
4 star
 (1063)
3 star
 (336)
2 star
 (76)
1 star
 (53)
Story
4.4 (3773 )
5 star
 (2253)
4 star
 (1070)
3 star
 (329)
2 star
 (71)
1 star
 (50)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    ACK 03-15-16
    ACK 03-15-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great new characters and story"

    I've been looking for a new Vince Flynn for awhile and think this comes close. They story was fresh and appealing and the characters were exciting and flawed. I'm looking forward to continuing the series.
    As a listener I was a little disappointed with the pace of the narration but sped up the speed to 1.24 and enjoyed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tom Austin 03-13-16
    Tom Austin 03-13-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining yet typical early 21st century islamaphobic work"

    Mr Hermann does an excellent job of narration - accents and gender

    The work is entertaining but i did think a couple times of puting it down due to it unapologetic:
    - islamaphobia / jingoism
    - derivativeness

    But these seem to be what you have to live with currently if u want current suspense. Just like - if u want to read original James Bond u have read past the blatant racism and Jame's serial rape / sexisms before u are rewarded with a plot.

    It is what it is.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    xavier 03-11-16
    xavier 03-11-16

    I listen while driving,(alone), and while on break at work. I used to read several books a week. I belonged to Science Fiction Book Club.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I POWERED IT DOWN"

    I liked what I heard of the story's plot. The reader did a fine job. What I just can't get past is the "hero" being able to beat insurmountable odds, only to miss something that would be obvious to a grade school boy. Then there is the ability for the bad guys to sneak a large amount of a super duper hi tech explosive onto a facility in the middle of nowhere, past a professional security organization. Twice. My suspension of dis-belief fought a valiant effort, but eventually became worn and stretched to tatters.









    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jason 03-08-16
    Jason 03-08-16 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Prime Example of American Prejudices"

    This novel takes advantage of the negative sentiments the American people have for Arab people, twists it into a high spun terroristic plot, and serves to further disrespect and resentment for non-Anglo racial people. In my opinion, the story is an "out-to-get-you" fiction created to take advantage of current American xenophobia.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dale 03-08-16
    Dale 03-08-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "terrible book"

    very slow jumbled story lines forced myself to finish it, feeble attempt to mimic vince Flynn

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann 03-08-16
    Ann 03-08-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    128
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Story is riviting"

    The story was one of those that you hate to hear "The End"! It was keep you on the edge of your seat. The narrator was one of the best I ever heard!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charlene Indianan 03-05-16
    Charlene Indianan 03-05-16

    Listen to hours of audio books weekly. Some really good and some not so good. Rely on reviewers to stay on the good side.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story, great performance"

    This book should be mandatory reading for any one who thinks that "911" is the last attack on freedom.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stephen 03-01-16
    Stephen 03-01-16 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    85
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of my favorites"

    Excellent book. I have high praise for the author and his coverage of the subject.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JamiE 02-27-16
    JamiE 02-27-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good enough that I'm going to get the second book"

    Sometimes hard to follow, but very interesting and intriguing. For the most part it kept my full attention.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charles C. Wright 02-26-16

    CW 26 mls.

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    201
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too many holes."

    I disagree with Gov. Romney's view that this story had no "holes" and "could" all happen and spare me that our "American" oil companies are patriotic good guys.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.