Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane, a South Florida noir from the bestselling author of Louisiana Power & Light.

On Christmas Eve in Eden, Florida, Wylie "Coyote" Melville, therapist and forensic consultant, is summoned to a horrific crime scene. Five members of the Halliday family have been brutally killed. Wylie's rare talent is an ability to read a crime scene, consider the evidence seen and unseen, and determine what's likely to have happened. The police are soon convinced that the deaths were a murder-suicide carried out by a broken and desperate Chafin Halliday, but Wylie's not so sure.

As Wylie begins his own investigation with the help of his friend Bay Lettique - a poker playing sleight-of-hand artist with links to the Everglades County underworld - he discovers a web of corruption involving the police union, Ponzi-scheming lawyers, county politicians, and the Russian mob. What follows is a heart-stopping, edgy novel that introduces a completely original crime solver.

©2013 John Dufresne (P)2013 Audible, Inc.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 2.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 3.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 2.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great regret and disappointment

I painfully hung on for the first half of this book but then realized the only reason I was still listening was for the narrator's smooth and calming tone. I picked this up after close acclaims and cannot be more disappointed. The plot(s) is a mess. The ending is obvious. One third of the book is easily irrelevant and unnecessary, and sadly those are the best parts. There are a plethora of characters for no reason. I either completely do not have the appreciation for great literature or this was truly a waste of time.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • maggie57
  • 01-04-15

No regret Coyote

The narrator was excellent. The book had a lot of characters and lot going on. I felt you had to concentrate on who was who otherwise it was confusing.