Regular price: $23.44

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the author of The Sisters - one of the best-selling debuts of 2015 - comes a tense psychological thriller ripped straight from the headlines....

Twenty years ago 21-year-old Sophie Collier vanished one night. She left nothing behind but a trainer on the old pier - and a hole in the heart of her best friend, Francesca. Now a body's been found. And Francesca's drawn back to the seaside town she's tried to forget.

Perhaps the truth of what happened to Sophie will finally come out. Yet Francesca is beginning to wish she hadn't returned. Everywhere she turns are ghosts from her past. The same old faces and familiar haunts of her youth. But if someone knows what really happened to Sophie that night then now's the time to find out - isn't it?

Except sometimes discovering the truth can cost you everything you hold dear - your family, your sanity and even your life....

©2016 Claire Douglas (P)2016 Penguin AudioBooks

Critic Reviews

"Compelling and page-turning, wonderfully written and impossible to second guess with a brilliant twist." (Debbie Howells, best-selling author of Richard and Judy selection The Bones of You)

Praise for The Sisters:
"Grippingly claustrophobic and unpredictable on every page: perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train." (Marie Claire)
"Tension oozes from every page...[an] addictive read that will leave you on the edge of your seat." (Sun)
"As soon as I finished the first page, I knew I wouldn't be able to put this down.... I thoroughly enjoyed it." (Good Housekeeping)
"Unforgettably dark and complex." (Woman & Home)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Miss Lesley Davidson
  • 11-09-16

great thriller.

great murder mystery story, intriguing twists and turns. very well read and performed. loved it. Couldn't stop listening

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • taurusgb
  • 02-10-17

returning as disliked so much

The storyline was not good enough to pull me through the dreadful narration by Hannah Murray. Never before have I heard anyone who simultaneously managed to gabble and drawl all at the same time. I found it so bad I was unable to make it through to the end. Emilia Fox was fine, but oh dear - no more Hannah Murray for me!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Helen
  • 01-31-17

Mostly enjoyable story and a great plot twist

A good story but it took a while to get going. I almost gave up on this as it got very dreary in the middle. I persevered because I'm reluctant to leave things unfinished, the setting was a familiar one to me (a very British seaside town) and I was drawn back to some of the characters. I thought I'd guessed the ending but I was wrong, and then very wrong! Some reviewers have observed that the ending was too convenient but I thought it was quite clever.

The narration was good, it needed the two different voices, though the male voices didn't come across too well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kelly-Louise Gadd
  • 06-06-17

I can't listen !

I am sure the story is really good, but sadly the narrator, who has a lovely speaking voice, speaks like she is talking to a not terribly bright child. I tried gtitting my teeth, but it was (in my opinion) so irritating that I couldn't listen to it. my advice - it may not bother you, but listen to a clip first.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • sea279
  • 05-26-17

Gripping!!!

What a gripping read! So good to listen to, lots of twists in the tale. Highly recommend!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • R.R.Ed
  • 05-06-17

Missing

Good book keeps you guessing and listening. The ending was not what I was expecting.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jo Welberry
  • 03-30-17

Brilliant

Gripping and twisting all the way, leaving you hungry to read on. First time reading by this author and will read others.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-30-16

Fantastic

I loved this book and couldn't stop listening to it. The narrators were the best I've heard and the story was fantastic a great plot.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • caroline thorpe
  • 10-16-16

Great read

Really good book. Held my attention to the end.
Fast moving story, skillfully narrated.
I would definitely recommend this one

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Vic
  • 03-31-17

Local girl missing

The book has plenty of twists and turns , just when you think you have worked the plot out along comes another little twist .
Theirs a lot of back and forth - with diary dates , once you get used to that the plot just keeps getting thicker and thicker .

I usually have a knack of working the plot out , not with Local Girl Missing .

3 of 4 people found this review helpful