We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Lie to Me Audiobook

Lie to Me

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist!

We're going to tell our story and then it will all stop and Mummy will be safe. You want Mummy to be safe, don't you?

Three minutes. That's all it takes for Meredith's entire world to fall apart when she watches the videotape of her four-year-old self with Becca, the mother she's never known.

Meredith can't believe what her eyes have seen. Yet what if her memory has locked away the painful reality of her childhood? Can there be any truth in the strange and dangerous story her mother forced her to tell on camera?

The search for answers leads Meredith to Darkwater Pool, the scene of the murder of a young woman, Cara, over 30 years ago. What could possibly be the link between her mother and the victim?

To find the truth Meredith must search through a past that is not her own. The problem is, she's not the only one looking....

A dark, compulsive psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Louise Jensen.

©2017 Jess Ryder (P)2017 Bookouture

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (45 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
3.5 (35 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.0 (34 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Cassandra 05-23-17
    Cassandra 05-23-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unique premise held up by good storytelling!"

    I enjoyed Lie to Me mainly for its characters. Each one, whether a minor player or one in a more "starring" role, was well-written to the extent that they all evoked some type of feeling In me, from minor dislike to sort of irritating, to "wow,she reminds me of myself!" Or noticing an appreciation for a good sense of humor. The story is told from different POVs, some positioned as historical to show the background - is there, after all, a lie? Who is behind the lie? And who is the liar trying to protect?

    Sometimes our actions have terrible consequences despite our best intentions and most fervent beliefs, those we would fight to the death for. So many things get tarnished over time that no one can put the shiny back into it. For some, no justice can be found. And throughout the plot is the undercurrent of mental illness, and misunderstandings about what happens to those who live with it and the people closest to them.

    Overall, well-done, highly readable and enjoyable. The characters often had a flair for the dramatic, not over the top, but appropriate to showcase how the mystery develops. I look forward to seeing more of Jess Ryder's work on Audible and I recommend "Lie to Me."

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 05-19-17 Member Since 2015

    Just Me..Dee.. A day without reading or laughter is grey...

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    5
    Overall
    "What happened?"

    I wonder what happened. The story began great but when it got to the middle,it was as of the author got bored. I wonder if Meri will find her mom & reconcile among other stuff.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MS SHARON R BEMBRY 05-08-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    "Great book!"

    Loved this book. The characters were interesting and even though the time jumped back and forth between present time and thirty years ago it was done in such a smooth way it was almost like the watcher in the story who was knitting. It pulled the characters together. It was suspenseful but more than just a mystery because you cared about all of the people in the story. I will be looking for other books by this author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-04-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    44
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't Actually Recommend at Any Price"

    The beginning set up was interesting; it offered the potential for mystery and suspense. At some point after that, the story line drifted away from relevancy to just filling space. Many of the middle chapters could have been consolidated into one or two. The end picks up again, but there was never a level of suspense that typical "page turners" have. I was somewhat curious about the outcome, but mostly I just wanted to be done with it. I hung on in hopes of finding out what happened to Becca-the mother of the main character.

    I almost always set my playback speed to 1.25. This book dragged so much in the middle I actually set it to 1.7. I didn't want to miss something important, yet I wanted to bypass the, "yada, yada, yada".

    The narrator was pretty good and dealt well with the many voices. I only paid a few dollars for this book, so I don't feel ripped off. Still I can't recommend someone else fork over any money for this book when there are plenty out there that are inexpensive AND much better written.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.