We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Killing Season: Part 1 Audiobook

Killing Season: Part 1

Regular Price:$5.69
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Faye Kellerman delivers an electrifying crime novel of suspense as a young man's obsessive investigation into his sister's death draws him into the path of a sadistic serial killer.

He went searching for the truth. Now a killer has found him.

The more you know, the more there is to fear....

Three years ago, 15-year-old Ellen Vicksburg went missing in the quiet town of River Remez, New Mexico. Ellen was kind, studious, and universally liked. Her younger brother, Ben, could imagine nothing worse than never knowing what happened to her - until, on the first anniversary of her death, he found her body in a shallow grave by the river's edge.

Ben, now 17, is relentlessly driven to find answers to Ellen's homicide. Police believe she was the victim of a psychopath known as the Demon. But Ben's analytical mind sees patterns that don't fit, tiny threads and clues that are derived from other unsolved murders he has researched. Despite his all-consuming push for a real solution to the crime, Ben has hit a wall until he gains an unlikely ally - the school's popular new girl, Ro Majors, who has secrets of her own. As the body count rises, a picture emerges of an adversary who is as cunning and methodical as he is deadly. And uncovering the truth may not be enough to keep Ben, Ro, and their loved ones safe from a twisted and fixated killer who has nothing left to lose.

©2017 Plot Line, Inc. (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (55 )
5 star
 (32)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.1 (49 )
5 star
 (27)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.4 (49 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Dawn 10-03-17
    Dawn 10-03-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boring"

    5 hours to go and I want to kill my self boring boring boring boringness bored

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kristina Honokaa, HI, United States 10-03-17
    Kristina Honokaa, HI, United States 10-03-17 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    38
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed"

    Young adult. Simplistic. Central character too perfect, no tension, too obvious girl, the teens are not monitored by parents (i.e. Mom lets girl stay in boyʻs bedroom for two hours with door closed - what?) Not what I expected from Kellerman. Wonʻt buy the next two.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wayne Matthews, NC 10-02-17
    Wayne Matthews, NC 10-02-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14366
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    2031
    1670
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    504
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I'm enjoying this novel, but wait until..."

    October 17, 2017 when all three parts will be available. The full book will also be released on that date.

    Part 1 reads like a Young Adult (YA)/teen novel which is fine with me because I really like the genre. The protagonists are both 17 years old. I strongly suspect the YA nature of the novel will not change in Parts 2 & 3. Listeners who do mot like YA fiction probably will not enjoy this novel. Fans of Kellerman's Decker & Lazarus series will likely enjoy Killing Season.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donna C. Clark 09-30-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Part 1"

    This is one of the best books I have listened to in a long while. The story keeps you guessing and makes you want Part 2 right away. Hope you enjoy this as much as I have

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    darlene gayler 09-28-17 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    36
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better for younger audience"

    The story was intriguing, but all the teenage angst was not interesting to me. I think a younger reader could relate to the book more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    CCA 09-27-17
    CCA 09-27-17 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Poorly written"

    For teenagers?? The dialogue is bad. Very ... basic. Narrator weird! His voices are odd and silly.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 09-25-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    14
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Young adult fiction"

    I didn't realize this was young adult fiction genre--very simple, uncomplicated-an ok listen but not much of a story for adult population

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    vjackson 09-24-17
    vjackson 09-24-17 Member Since 2016
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not Fair"

    I loved everything about this story. The characters were so easy to identify with, the narration was enjoyable, the story line sucks you in.... then you realize that the story ends at book 1 for audio book listeners. Not fair.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sue Flower Mound, TX, United States 09-23-17
    Sue Flower Mound, TX, United States 09-23-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    130
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    57
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better then imagined"

    The narrator is absolutely WONDERFUL and I hope does not change in the next 2 parts. The main character...Ben...is a wonderful character and the narrator makes him more so. I am completely enjoying this book and cannot wait..even though I am not done with Part 1...for the rest in the hopes Faye does not change the narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.