We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Graveyard of Memories Audiobook

Graveyard of Memories: John Rain, Book 8

Regular Price:$10.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

What makes a legendary assassin? For John Rain, it was the lessons of love, war, and betrayal he learned in Tokyo in 1972.

Fresh from the killing fields of Southeast Asia, Rain works as a bagman under the watchful eye of his CIA handler, delivering cash to corrupt elements of the Japanese government. But when a delivery goes violently wrong, Rain finds himself in the crosshairs of Japan’s most powerful yakuza clan. To survive, Rain strikes a desperate deal with his handler: take out a high-profile target in the Japanese government in exchange for the intel he needs to eliminate his would-be executioners.

As Rain plays cat and mouse with the yakuza and struggles to learn his new role as contract killer, he also becomes entangled with Sayaka, a tough, beautiful ethnic Korean woman confined to a wheelchair. But the demands of his dark work are at odds with the longings of his heart - and with Sayaka’s life in the balance, Rain will have to make a terrible choice.

©2014 Barry Eisler (P)2013 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (817 )
5 star
 (472)
4 star
 (279)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.5 (741 )
5 star
 (442)
4 star
 (234)
3 star
 (49)
2 star
 (12)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.6 (744 )
5 star
 (505)
4 star
 (190)
3 star
 (36)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    R. Flaherty Illinois, USA 07-10-14
    R. Flaherty Illinois, USA 07-10-14 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    125
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A backstory novel worth reading"

    When I first started this book and it started with a backstory, I hoped this wasn't an entire backstory novel because those tend to be lame fillers. Well, it was and I was wrong. Not only is this a great way to get new readers interested in the exploits of John Rain, it is a great action story with good pacing. I enjoyed reading about Rain's predicaments and how these early episodes shaped who he turned into. While I was interested in finding out what has happened since the last book (The Detachment), this story proved to be a great read and not lame filler. The story doesn't rely on previous knowledge of the characters and if can be an introduction into Eisler's other books about Rain. Recommended for people interested in action books in the vein of Vince Flynn or Daniel Silva. For those who may be turned off by a back story novel, give it a shot and be surprised.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joanne San Tan Valley AZ, United States 07-10-14
    Joanne San Tan Valley AZ, United States 07-10-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    124
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Barry Eisler favorite author and now BEST narrator"

    I have read the complete John Rain series. I am enthralled with Eilser's writing. The details, storyline, character development never lets me down. I admire his success in changing the names of his books and most of all doing his personal narration. He is one of the best narrators that I have listened to. I even downloaded the newer versions, with his narration, of the previously purchased old releases! I have now read the Ben Treven books! Thank you, Mr. Eisler and Audible for the new versions with personal narration.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patrick Scottsdale, AZ, United States 06-20-14
    Patrick Scottsdale, AZ, United States 06-20-14

    PSW

    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    233
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A MUST READ for any Rain fan!"

    This is the back story concerning how John Rain became a hired assassin. To be fully appreciated, the reader needs to have knowledge of Rain's methods and later life which will only be gained from reading several of the earlier books in the series.
    This book deftly guides the reader through Rain's earliest development as an assassin. It puts in perspective his relationship with Tots, his need for emotional distance (his first true love), Rain learning to be proactive and brutal and the "rules" under which he accepts assignments. Rain's relationship with Tots as well as his first love experience creates a very complex character who is at once a brutal killer but also a man with great empathy and a longing for a different life. Maybe a bit of Dexter as an assassin rather than a psychopathic serial killer. The story integrates very well with the other Rain novels. It ends leaving the reader to wonder about the decade between the events of this novel and Rain's later emergence as a for hire killer. I hope Barry Eisler writes a book about the decade as a mercenary. This is an enormously entertaining book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathryn 05-13-14
    Kathryn 05-13-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    213
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    197
    159
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent & Unquie Use of Perspective"

    What a wonderful surprise. Unlike so many other authors who have developed a series and decide to go back and do a prequel or retrospective of a character Eisler actually has the character looking back on his early life vs writing as if the story is being told as a current event.. Not only is this a new perspective but it is so well done – WOW. If you are a John Rain fan you must listen/read this one. It fills in history and helps you see how Rain became the in control lethal assassin he is in the novels we have all come to enjoy. And Eisler does an excellent job of reading his own work and helping us 'see' and 'hear' the characters as he envisioned as he wrote it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    deepdvr_ca Northern, Ca 04-10-14
    deepdvr_ca Northern, Ca 04-10-14 Member Since 2012

    deepdvr_ca

    HELPFUL VOTES
    42
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    438
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A very nice prequel."
    If you could sum up Graveyard of Memories in three words, what would they be?

    Young John Rain


    What did you like best about this story?

    Seeing his young self through the eyes of the much older Rain.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Killing the CIA guy


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    nah


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Manis NJ 02-18-14
    John Manis NJ 02-18-14 Member Since 2012

    mogul40

    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rain and Eisler Fan"

    I read all of Barry Eisler Books, this is definitely up there in terms of interest, violence and story. I enjoyed it very much and finished in two days. Keep them coming.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    L.W. 03-14-14
    L.W. 03-14-14

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    655
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    244
    234
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    130
    29
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I am on a Barry Eisler marathon....Wonderful"

    I bought John Rain Book 5 it was great. Return to buy more and this is one of the books in my personal marathon. I have thoroughly enjoyed these stories. Wonderfully suspenseful, surprising. Interesting and captivating. Thank you.....You are a wonderful narrator.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bob Driver Bishop United States 04-13-17
    Bob Driver Bishop United States 04-13-17 Listener Since 2006

    Robert Driver Bishop

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good"

    not as great as book seven but still a good listen or read
    makes me appreciate kindle unlimited

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Josh Alford 07-26-16
    Josh Alford 07-26-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "excellent audiobook"

    Barry Eisler does it again. Fantastic book and he does a great job as narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    George Dixon 04-08-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stolen"

    Audiuble books I have bought and listened to are missing.
    And it's really pissing me off.

    The listing is still in my library.

    Only gone from my ipad .. Just befor I killed it I discouvered all the files were still avalable on my iphone... So some apple upegrade on my ipad is blocking some of my books. This is even more pissing offf.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.