Regular price: $24.47

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The headlines were gruesome: two beautiful women found strangled in the studio of a well-known London artist. To investigator William Monk and his wife Hester, the murders are a nightmare. One of the victims is an obscure artist's model. The other is the wife of Hester's cherished colleague, distinguished surgeon Dr. Kristian Beck, a Viennese emigre who swiftly becomes the principal suspect.

With an intensity born of desperation, Hester, Monk, and their dear friend Lady Callandra Daviot, who cannot hide her deep love for the accused, seek evidence that will save Kristian from the hangman - hoping to penetrate not only the mystery of Elissa Beck's death...but the riddle of her life.

Crack another case with William Monk.
©2004 Anne Perry; (P)2004 Brilliance Audio, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    90
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disappointing

Anne Perry takes us to Vienna in this novel and the plot revolves around the revolutions of 1848 in continental Europe. This is not a successful theme for Perry. She is far more effective and convincing when writing about Victorian Britain and its politics. This novel contains more speeches than other William Monk novels and less interesting plotting and characterization. I did not find the conclusion convincing and the plot dragged in many places.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Anne Perry is always a great read.

Where does Funeral in Blue rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This story is what I have come to expect from the books by Anne Perry. She is my favorite author and is always one of my go to authors for a great read.

Who was your favorite character and why?

I really love Hester and her part in all the Monk series.

Which scene was your favorite?

Hard to pick just one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Nancy F.
  • Sierra Foothills, Northern CA
  • 05-02-12

Series Interruptus...

I'm torn on the rating for this book. I started out thinking it was mildly ok but not great, and ended up thinking it was terrific...so the story gets a 4 star. What's worthy of note is that the first 5 books of this series are really terrific. The narrator is the incomparable Davina Porter. The two primary characters are engaging in the beginnings of a romantic relationship with all the banter, questioning, back/forth that goes with that relationship. Ms. Perry writes all of this with wonderful prose and humor.

Now skip forward: Audible does not have the rights to release books 6 through 11 ... so we now move from book 5 to book 12. Not only is the narrator different but the plot has moved forward as you would expect. The primary characters (Hester and Wm Monk) are now married and their courtship banter is gone (and is missed because it was truly engaging). Ms Porter's wonderful lilt is gone from the narration and therefore most everything seems darker and more ponderous for the first half of the book. However Anne Perry's wonderful use of language and turns of sentences does come to the fore. Colacci, in the end, proves himself to be a wonderful narrator. And overall I remembered why I love this series.

All readers should be aware though, this skip in the series makes it hard to keep going in the middle of this book. In the end I'm very glad that I didn't give up, and I'm hoping that none of you do either.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Go to Vienna

What made the experience of listening to Funeral in Blue the most enjoyable?

As always Anne Perry again studies motivations of characters more than she does foreign lands or sceneries abroad - even when her story takes readers to Vienna. Alas, the coffee gets more description in Vienna than any scenic spot or building or cultural attraction. Perry sticks to the micro, not the macro when it comes to places beyond London.<br/>A suprise personality trait is the jelly filling of this mystery. One of her mid-level success stories, high tension, virtually no class warfare, and at least two kinds of total suprises. Fans of Hester and Monk will enjoy it!<br/>sadly the narration take a full chapter to really hit its stride.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

Couldnt establish a solid English accent - instead the American accent kept coming through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Nina
  • Arlington, VA, USA
  • 11-23-08

Fascinating!

What I really love abt Anne Perry is how she works the subjects that are so personal and profound to her. As someone who committed murder as a teen, she explores in this book identity, memory, social condemnation, love, and betrayal among other subjects. I think Monk is her, and he has lost his memory, so watching him work to solve mysteries while the biggest mystery of his/her life (why she got involved in that) remains an enigma.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • connie
  • Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
  • 01-26-10

Colacci on an off day?

This was the usual Perry/Monk type of light mystery/social history tale, but I found Colacci's attempt at British English often annoying and at times inconsistent. Even if he had used his own accent as narrator as he does with Donna Leon's novels, it would have been a better listen.

I usually enjoy both Perry's novels and Colacci's narration, but I wish I had passed on this Monk installment. Play the entire sample before you decide to download.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • KT
  • 10-30-16

Good story, terrible narrator

What didn’t you like about David Colacci’s performance?

What caused audible to select an American narrator to narrate a book on Victorian England I will never know. The narration is an atrocity with little to no attention to the British accent and diction. What caused me to buy this book without reading the sample I will never know. I guess I was too enamored of the masterful narration of other Anne Perry books by Davina Porter to even imagine that someone could so completely bungle this one up. The American accent of the author is quite clear and impossible to ignore and the reading is too rapid, almost as if someone was timing the narrator with a stop watch. This book will be returned post-haste. <br/><br/>I was well on my way through the entire William Monk series which will now come to a screeching halt simply due to the choice of the narrator.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good Story, Wrong Narrator

Would you listen to another book narrated by David Colacci?

Not really. His narration of the book just didn't seem to mesh. Many times I wanted to just stop but didn't want to waste my credit. Maybe paired with a different book/author, his narrative style would be appreciated more.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

The reaction I felt was from the narration----like I was trying to slough through waist-high mud....very slow-going which made the story seem as if it was never going to get anywhere.

Any additional comments?

Although the narrator wasn't the right fit, I still would read (listen) to Anne Perry's. I like how she intertwines bits of historical items in with the story such as in this book,mentioning the American Civil War which lets the reader know the time frame of the story.I really don't like to give a bad review of a narrator because they only do the best they can. I know I wouldn't be able to keep the inflections the same throughout the whole reading.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Martha

I like the accurate Historical details that go along with the story. Provides a colorful enrichment and literary depth for increased reading enjoyment.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

This one was very good

I've listened to or read all of the series so far. I very much enjoyed Davina Porter's narration in previous books and wasn't sure I would like David Colacci but I was pleasantly surprised to find he does an excellent job. I also really liked Monk's trip to Austria. I love historical fiction and adding this element to the story enhanced the overall plot and made it that much more enjoyable for me.

This has been a great series. I already have the next one ready to go.