Regular price: $23.75

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Before he died, Felix Castor's fellow exorcist John Gittings made several calls asking for help, and if Castor had answered them, John might still be alive. So when a smooth-talking lawyer comes out of nowhere to claim the remains, Castor owes it to John's unhappy ghost - and even more unhappy widow - to help out. If only life were that simple.

A brutal murder in King's Cross bears all the hallmarks of an American serial killer supposedly 40 years dead, and it takes more good sense than Castor possesses not to get involved.

He's also fighting a legal battle over the body - if not the soul - of his possessed friend, Rafi, and he can't shake the feeling that his three problems are related. With the help of the succubus Juliet, paranoid zombie data-fence Nicky Heath, and a little judicious digging, Castor just might have a chance of fitting the pieces together before someone drops him down an elevator shaft or rips his throat out. Or not.

©2009 Mike Carey (P)2012 Audible Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Every bit as good as the better-known Jim Butcher, Carey hits his stride with his third hard-boiled supernatural thriller." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ruth
  • 01-26-14

Fix is running a close second

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Definitely recommended.

What other book might you compare Dead Men's Boots to, and why?

Faint hints of a British Dresden

What three words best describe Michael Kramer’s voice?

unauthentic, charismatic, sardonic

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

If only life permitted such a thing!

Any additional comments?

I am beginning to think that Fix has to be one of the best male protagonists in urban fantasy. 'Tis true that Dresden is still at #1 but Fix is running a close second. Mr Carey has solidified his world in this book and our somewhat flawed protagonist continues to 'grow'. I loved this outing of Mr Castor and can't wait to get my hands on the next one. Highly recommended.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Debs
  • 04-13-13

Supernatural

Once again Fix battles demons, weres and ghosts, as well as ever day human psychos in his own inimitable and reluctant way. Sometimes selfish, often lazy and occasionally guilt-ridden, our hero's efforts to help the widow of an old friend and fellow exorcist lead him in to danger. Thank heavens (or should that be hell?) for the delicious scary Juliet, a succubus trying hard to give up her soul sucking ways and a great character.



If you have read the preceding Felix Castor books and enjoyed his dry outlook you will not be disappointed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • David Ross Kinnaird
  • 03-15-15

Fan of the Books? Don't bother with the audio.

Would you try another book written by Mike Carey or narrated by Michael Kramer?

Dead Men's Boots is one of my favourite Felix Castor stories. Funny, suspenseful and well crafted.

I lasted an hour with the audio-book before removing it from my Kindle. This is dire.

American narrator Michael Kramer's feeble attempt at a generic 'English' accent (which at times makes Dick Van Dyke's infamous Yank-ney brogue seem like a exemplary exercise in phonetics) deprives the reader of any of the subtleties of Carey's description, and of his barbed Scouse wit.

The result is a good book ruined by a poor and distracting reading. Dire, as I said.

Readers (or listeners) to a first-person narrative NEED to commit to the lead character - their eyes and ears, and their voice in the unfolding tale. When that commentary is poorly interpreted in such a conspicuously false manner, that commitment is impossible.

I had high hopes of this audio-book, but found it unbearable

Fans of Carey and Castor should avoid this, and Mr Kramer should seek an appointment with a decent dialect-coach.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Castor, though his wit, charm and personality are lost in this terrible reading.

Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Michael Kramer?

Anyone who could provide a consistent, convincing English accent. A Liverpudlian, preferrably - as the fist-person narrator's voice borrows a great deal from the inflections and nuance of the author's own.

Any additional comments?

Why employ an American actor who clearly CANNOT maintain a decent English accent - his phrasing and intonation waver from sentence to sentence, and is clearly (and poorly) rendered - to narrate work by a writer with such a distinctive British (specifically Liverpudlian) voice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Just
  • 04-24-18

Dead good!

Would you consider the audio edition of Dead Men's Boots to be better than the print version?

No, but that is just because Michael Kramer is not best suited to all the accents.

Would you listen to another book narrated by Michael Kramer?

Possibly.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes, because the story is very good.

Any additional comments?

The third of the Felix Castor books, Dead Men's Boots features an ingenious plot involving a reincarnation racket, gangsters, Satanists and some odd student activists. Based mainly in London, the story also turns to Alabama, and these chapters are the ones where Michael Kramer shines, though he is still good enough to make it an entertaining listen.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • NorthLondonMan
  • 05-10-16

Ruined by poor narration

Would you try another book written by Mike Carey or narrated by Michael Kramer?

I would certainly try another Mike Carey book, but not one narrated by Michael Kramer. The Felix Castor novels are intrinsically British - it doesn't make sense to have them being read by an American putting on a poor British accent, it's completely distracting.

What other book might you compare Dead Men's Boots to, and why?

It's pretty similar to the Ben Aaronovitch Rivers of London series - set very firmly in a "real" London, but with interwoven elements of fantasy. Both have a good sense of humour.

Would you be willing to try another one of Michael Kramer’s performances?

Possibly, but not on where he reads a British author.

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

The story is great (I have read the book), but with an audiobook it is very difficult to get past a narrator that doesn't work.

Any additional comments?

Buy the book...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Daryn Hughes
  • 01-18-15

Great story. Less stars for performance.

Great American narrator but mispronounces English phrases and place names a lot. I am loving the Felix Castor character.