We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Dark Harbor Audiobook

Dark Harbor

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

Scott Finn survived a childhood running errands for crime kingpins to become a six-figure lawyer at a prestigious Boston firm. Now the sky's the limit...until his colleague and former lover Natalie turns up dead in Boston Harbor, her heart surgically removed. She initially appears to be the seventh victim of "Little Jack", a serial killer reminiscent of Jack the Ripper. But suspicion quickly turns to Scott, who must dig deep into Natalie's life to discover the secrets she kept.

The suspense builds to a crescendo as this stunning thriller travels at breakneck speed toward a shocking conclusion.

©2005 Richard David Hosp; (P)2005 Recorded Books, LLC

What the Critics Say

"Compelling characters pulse through attorney Hosp's surprisingly engaging fiction debut." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (655 )
5 star
 (194)
4 star
 (306)
3 star
 (101)
2 star
 (33)
1 star
 (21)
Overall
4.0 (375 )
5 star
 (122)
4 star
 (173)
3 star
 (56)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (13)
Story
4.3 (371 )
5 star
 (198)
4 star
 (115)
3 star
 (48)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Vicki Aults 06-03-16
    Vicki Aults 06-03-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Somewhat predictable but enjoyable "

    First time listening to this author, but ALWAYS enjoy Guidall. Not disappointed. Story and characters a bit predictable but likable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Diana New York 09-13-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"
    What did you love best about Dark Harbor?

    Great story...better reader...George Guidall is my FAVORITE and can bring any story to life!
    Would love more Scott Finn stories with GG narrating!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SmoothBridge 07-26-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen"

    I enjoyed both the reader and the storyline - you won't go wrong with this one

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kathryn 04-16-15
    kathryn 04-16-15 Member Since 2008
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen"

    Great story, kept my interest, easy listen, surprised by the ending, one of my favorite narrators... I will look for more David Hosp!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kenneth Kossan 03-15-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    George can make anything sound great, though! My personal thought though is George only picks great books to read!!!
    Yessir

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jason OREM, UTAH, United States 03-15-14
    Jason OREM, UTAH, United States 03-15-14 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyed every minute of this book"
    What made the experience of listening to Dark Harbor the most enjoyable?

    George Guidall is one of the best. He makes the characters jump off the page.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I am looking forward to the next book in the series to see Finn's next adventure.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lilly2734 Mentone, AL, United States 04-26-13
    Lilly2734 Mentone, AL, United States 04-26-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    46
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    348
    194
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well, we know he's innocent!"

    Hosp is a new author for me, discovered while browsing through the George Guidall reads. Thoroughly enjoyed it. One thing leads to another, twist after twist, from street kid to big firm lawyer, trying to solve the case and luckily with people willing to help and believe in Finn.

    The synopsis is dead on. This one left me feeling as though I'd been reading him for ages, looking forward to the next book.

    I don't do book reports but I do say this is well worth the listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ace Vinal 04-16-12
    Ace Vinal 04-16-12 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bulge-er NOT Bulgar!!!!"
    Would you try another book from David Hosp and/or George Guidall?

    I might try another but it was incredibly irritating to have the narrator refer to Whitey Bulger as Bulgar! Why didn't anyone bother to find out how to say this? The name came up so many times and each time it took me totally out of the story. This was a huge news story and I never heard anyone mispronounce this simple name. Bul-ger (as in Germany) not Bul-ger (as in gelding).


    What could David Hosp have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    The credibility of the setting--the characters being insiders in the Boston crime world is destroyed by mis-pronunciation and mis-naming. Everyone in Boston refers to 'Fort Independence' as Castle Island. No one in Southie would have any idea what you are referring to if you called it that.


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    George Guidall is an excellent narrator, not his fault but an irishman who came over when he was 8 still has a thick brogue 30 years later? Silly.


    You didn???t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    No one mangled a Boston accent. Better to not attempt it. A good call.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Janelle Round Rock, TX, United States 02-07-12
    Janelle Round Rock, TX, United States 02-07-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not a memorable experience"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    I think that the average high school graduate might enjoy this,


    What was most disappointing about David Hosp’s story?

    It was bad enough that I forgot I had it in my library.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by George Guidall?

    I would listen to George read calculus books.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steve la canada, CA, United States 11-29-11
    Steve la canada, CA, United States 11-29-11 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This one's a keeper"

    Story was well assembled. No slow spots, made sense. George was again, great. Nice job David.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.