Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

Scott Finn survived a childhood running errands for crime kingpins to become a six-figure lawyer at a prestigious Boston firm. Now the sky's the limit...until his colleague and former lover Natalie turns up dead in Boston Harbor, her heart surgically removed. She initially appears to be the seventh victim of "Little Jack", a serial killer reminiscent of Jack the Ripper. But suspicion quickly turns to Scott, who must dig deep into Natalie's life to discover the secrets she kept.

The suspense builds to a crescendo as this stunning thriller travels at breakneck speed toward a shocking conclusion.

©2005 Richard David Hosp; (P)2005 Recorded Books, LLC

Critic Reviews

"Compelling characters pulse through attorney Hosp's surprisingly engaging fiction debut." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    206
  • 4 Stars
    308
  • 3 Stars
    103
  • 2 Stars
    35
  • 1 Stars
    21

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    208
  • 4 Stars
    119
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    176
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    14
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Edda
  • Redwood City, CA, USA
  • 11-27-05

Not worth the time

First book I ever read by this author, and for sure, the last. Plot is predictable. Events are not believable, aparent "setups" can be "read" a mile away. Terrible, and the voice of the reader only makes it worse.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Shallow

Excessive profanity is used to mask the lack of a well developed plot and sub-plots. Mr. Hosp needs to leave out the f-bomb and G.D. John Sandford and Michael Connelly manage to do this.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Chuckie
  • ashburnham, MA, USA
  • 08-01-05

CAN THIS REALLY BE BOSTON?

I WANT TO SCREAM!
WHO SHOULD I BLAME THE AUTHOR, THE NARRATOR, PRODUCER,PLEASE TELL ME WHO TO YELL AT.
ANYONE WHO HAS SPENT MORE THAN TEN MINUTES IN BOSTON WOULD KNOW THAT
IT IS WHITEY (JAMES J. )BULGER- PRONOUNCED (BULJER)!!! the g should have a "J" sound not "g" sound.
totally irritated me everytime the name was said.
other than that it was a good book!!

10 of 65 people found this review helpful