Regular price: $27.02

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Jefferson Winter is no ordinary investigator. The son of one of America's most renowned serial killers, Winter has spent his life trying to distance himself from his father's legacy.

When he accepts a particularly disturbing case in London, Winter arrives to find a psychopath on the loose who likes abducting and lobotomising young women. Winter must use all his preternatural brain power in order to work out who is behind the attacks, before another young woman becomes a victim.

©2014 James Carol (P)2014 W F Howes Ltd

Critic Reviews

"[Jefferson Winter is] a compulsively readable character who has the intelligence and the charisma to engage and entertain the reader." (Katherine Armstrong)
"Broken Dolls has it all. Horrifying evil, a brilliant, conflicted profiler and cracking pace and tension. I read it in what seemed like two trembling gulps." (Stephen Fry)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Rikey
  • 10-31-14

Thank you

Any additional comments?

Great but truly unnerving story by James Carol. I am straight off to find more as I am totally hooked by Carol's amazingly attractive anti hero. That said and by no means wishing to lessen what was a fantastic story, my biggest praise has got to go to reader William Hope. If ever I wish I could pass on my gratitude in person it would be to you. You NAILED the accents you star! I am a bit of an accent snob and nothing spoils a great audio book more for me than a bad accent. Sometimes it's only a lilt on the vowels but I find myself cringing. This time however I found myself rewinding to figure out if you were an American doing an English accent or an Englishman doing an American accent and what do I find? You're Canadian. This is me with my hat so far off that it has been deemed abandoned and is up for rehoming!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • MAGGS
  • 03-15-16

Broken Dolls - female narrator spoils this book for me

Broken Dolls - female narrator spoils this book for me, her take on Adam the unsub's voice was grating, annoying & so unconvincing at being menacing .
The storyline, plot & Jefferson Winter were good, could have been 4 stars.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ruth
  • 01-14-15

First trial of an audiobook and not disappointed!

Gripping storyline, full of twists and turns, with a totally unexpected outcome.
Brilliantly narrated. Would recommend this audiobook to anyone!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • SnapWriter
  • 11-19-14

Excellent, satisfying, well read.

This book has got it all. A great plot, which never dips, an intriguing protagonist you can root for--wise-cracking, and insightful--an antagonist that ratchets up the tension and suspense, and well read by William Hope, who injects every sentence with American Noire.

For fans of Thomas Harris, and Val McDermid, this is a must.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Simon
  • 06-12-17

Disturbing. Average.

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

This was recommended to me, but I wouldn't recommend it to someone else. It was too staged for me. Limited solutions or outcomes made it a bit boring. Abusive.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Alexandra Allan
  • 06-18-15

Broken Dolls

Broken Dolls. Great story, great narrator. Thoroughly enjoyed this audio book. Would highly recommend this book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • LaLa
  • 03-29-15

I didn't want to press pause!

Where does Broken Dolls rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This has to rank in my top twenty. Highly addictive listening- William Hope is spot on with his narration.

Who was your favorite character and why?

The American investigator; the main character: Jefferson Winter. I want to know everything about him- warts and all!

Which character – as performed by Julia Barrie and William Hope – was your favourite?

Jefferson Winter- performed by William Hope.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I could have happily spent the whole day in Jefferson Winter's world- but real life got in the way!

Any additional comments?

I can thoroughly recommend this audio book and also the first book: "Watch Me". Can't wait for the third installment "Prey"...something good to look forward to!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • mandy
  • 01-30-15

expected more

What would have made Broken Dolls better?

Not really sure to be honest

Would you be willing to try another book from James Carol? Why or why not?

yes book was ok will defo try 1 more

What three words best describe Julia Barrie and William Hope ’s performance?

enthusiastic, overdramatic (at times) interesting

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Broken Dolls?

the ones where profiler keeps asking police what they think the killers moves will be