Regular price: $23.08

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Listed in The Wall Street Journal as the number-one Bestselling Action/Adventure in their "Readers Guide to Self-Published Big Sellers" (December 9, 2011).

When terminally ill combat pilot Jake Bronson emerges from an MRI with extraordinary cognitive powers, everyone wants a piece of his talent - including Battista, one of the world's most dangerous terrorists. To save his love and her autistic child, Jake is thrust into a deadly chase that leads from the canals of Venice through Monte Carlo and finally to an ancient cavern in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan, where Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.

An original weave of current events bound by colorful locations and cutting-edge technology, Bard's novel is a must-listen for fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Brad Thor. A dynamic mix of fast-paced action and thought provoking soul, this book challenges the listener to keep pace with every sharp turn and shocking twist. Acclaimed by fans of action, sci-fi, and political thrillers alike, Brainrush is one of the most innovative and entertaining books of the year.

Brainrush was in the top 10 of the Amazon - USA Top-Rated List for over four months straight. The sequel, Brainrush II, The Enemy of My Enemy, was released in December 2011 to rave reviews. Within a few weeks it became the number-one Top-Rated Action/Adventure stories on Amazon.

©2009, 2011 Richard A. Bard (P)2011 Richard Bard

Critic Reviews

" Brainrush explores the bonds of friendship while pushing the boundaries of science, creating a compelling, action-packed thriller with a climax that's a knock-out!" (C.J. Lyons, New York Times best-selling author)"A terrifically entertaining thriller with three finely executed set pieces strung together with nice characterization. Especially successful is Bronson, an amiable, low-key tough guy able to rescue his princess, survive brutality, and retain a sense of humor." ( Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    407
  • 4 Stars
    360
  • 3 Stars
    171
  • 2 Stars
    63
  • 1 Stars
    48

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    468
  • 4 Stars
    306
  • 3 Stars
    115
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    19

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    354
  • 4 Stars
    319
  • 3 Stars
    165
  • 2 Stars
    55
  • 1 Stars
    43
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Felt as if I'm watching a low budget movie

What disappointed you about BRAINRUSH, a Thriller?

Probably my worst read to date. When I read the book description, it definitely intrigued me, the locations that the book will take you, Venice, Monte Carlo, Afghanistan, it surely felt like it will be a very interesting read. However, just in the beginning of the book, you realize that it is no more than a weak attempt at pulling a Dan Brown. The cheesy predictable lines that the characters say just felt like you're watching a low budget movie, you know from the first few minutes it will be a waste of time. Every move, line, action, anything was very predictable, and didn't get better as the pages wore off.

The long descriptions of all the fights in the book show how much the writer had nothing to say or give, he just kept on explaining and detailing every fist fight, kick, punch, that eventually it becomes nothing more than repetition of itself!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

disappointing read

What disappointed you about BRAINRUSH, a Thriller?

disappointing read...could have been so much better

Would you ever listen to anything by Richard Bard again?

no

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

I think the premise of the book was good,

Any additional comments?

ended up flighty, predictable, no thrills, Boring, boring ...boring

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good first novel.

If you could sum up BRAINRUSH, a Thriller in three words, what would they be?

I enjoyed this story. I liked the development of the talent that the main character developed. Since I don't want to give away anything of the story, I will stop. Worth the credit.

Only negative is how with each new chapter the author seemed to think we needed to be to told where the upcoming action was going to take place--even if it is a continuation of action from chapter just ending. Seemed like he didn't trust the reader (listener) to be smart enough to follow and keep our place. A minor annoyance.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

If I enjoy a book, then I always want to continue and experience the ending.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too much military jargon

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

I was disappointed with this book. It started out exciting but got bogged down in too many descriptions of guns, weapons, and other military equipment. Those elements did not move the story along for me but stifled the action because I have no interest in the difference between an AK-47 or a super booming bomber. The story went from an intriguing love story to fantastical science fiction. Too much of a stretch between the two in this case. I don't think I'll be reading Book 2.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Arlene
  • FAIRBANKS, AK, United States
  • 03-12-13

Can't wait to read the next book

If you could sum up BRAINRUSH, a Thriller in three words, what would they be?

Good listen and interesting story idea.

What was one of the most memorable moments of BRAINRUSH, a Thriller?

When he was in the MIR machine.

Which scene was your favorite?

At the bar when he discovered his abilities.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The end.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Um, What?

I did not enjoy this book, the only positive thing I can say is that the narrator did well. I had high hopes for this story, but it was a let down. I was very disappointed because the plot has some promise, but it was very poorly executed.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

SOOOOOOO STUPID!

I am clearly not the target audience for this book. It's a cliche of action/adventure. Lots of guns, hot chicks and hard men. Seriously. I don't understand the appeal.

If you enjoy endless descriptions of weaponry and gunfights go for it. I could barely finish it.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Novice writter

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

I really don't know. It is probably a good book for someone who needs a pallet cleanser...

What do you think your next listen will be?

I don't know, I haven't found anything new yet. hoping Orson Scott Cards new mithermages book...

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of R. C. Bray?

Actually the narrator was the best part. he did a excellent job bringing a half star book to a two star.

What character would you cut from BRAINRUSH, a Thriller?

um, probably replace the villain with someone scary, the heroine with someone worth saving, and the hero with someone heroic. the rest of the cast where decent.

Any additional comments?

I just could barely stand the repetitiveness of the dialogue. When the thought sentences of main characters use the same subject for three sentences in a row, just saying it differently... example; "...how could I have been so wrong? it was clear to me now that I never understood his goals. I couldn't have been more wrong." that is a direct quote of three sentences... IN A ROW! -sigh- the book actually made me tired.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jane
  • Maddington, Australia
  • 02-27-13

Had me from the start

Hard to find a book my husband and I both agree on, this is one we do. Just bought book 2 Narrator was really good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • David
  • Sausalito, CA, United States
  • 02-25-13

Awsome sci-fi thriller!!!

What did you love best about BRAINRUSH, a Thriller?

It's a tie between the non-stop action and R C Bray narration. I have a "wandering" mind and I frequently find myself pressing the rewind button on my mp3 but with Brainrush, I did not press the rewind button one time! Finished the book in a day and 1/2. Will definitely pick up book 2 in the series!

What did you like best about this story?

The bonds between the characters. I have read so many books where it's "every man for themselves" and "better you than me" which isn't that bad by the way, it just gets old after a while. The characters in Brainrush were willing to die for one another and that made the book that much more enjoyable.

Have you listened to any of R. C. Bray’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No I have not but his narration was spot-on excellent. It was truly one of the best narrative jobs I've ever heard. Great job R.C. Bray!!!

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Yes, I had an extreme reaction to get Brainrush 2 A.S.A.P.

Any additional comments?

No, this is first review and I'm tired.