Regular price: $29.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Escape was just the beginning.

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter, Sky, has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the dead bolt unlocked.

This is what happens next to Lily, to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter - and to her captor.

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, Baby Doll is the most tense thriller you will listen to this year.

©2016 Hollie Overton (P)2016 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"A tense survivor story for fans of Chevy Stevens' Still Missing and Chelsea Cain's One Kick." (Booklist)
"Captur[es] the unique bond shared by identical twins." (Kirkus)
"What a compulsive read! A brilliant first novel that kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page." (New York Times best-selling author Tess Gerritsen)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    332
  • 4 Stars
    207
  • 3 Stars
    91
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    14

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    366
  • 4 Stars
    149
  • 3 Stars
    83
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    13

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    303
  • 4 Stars
    181
  • 3 Stars
    102
  • 2 Stars
    29
  • 1 Stars
    15
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Young Adult Storyline & Narration

If you've read Room, you were excited to pick this up. However, it's narrated by a teenager and is completely unrealistic and casual. Written and narrated for teenagers. I find myself waiting for it to be over and skipping over drawn out explanations and anecdotes. Seriously, save yourself the trouble.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great narrator

I really enjoyed this book as it is about the 'after' of a kidnapping experience. I loved the narrator of Lilly. Listening to the book, you can tell that there are certain phrases and adjectives that the author uses a lot, and that bugged me, but overall I enjoyed :)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Wish I would known this was a Young Adult book.

Would you listen to Baby Doll again? Why?

I wouldn't listen to it again, it is a super teeny bopper book.

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

Maybe develop some more adult roles.

What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

The narrator did good, however she had a very young voice. It started to get on my nerves after a while.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

My emotions did not get to the laugh or cry factor, the book was based on events that have happened many times in the last few years. I have listened to this book, by watching the news.

Any additional comments?

Baby Doll was a not a thriller in any way, not a suspense book either. Good deep themed although.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Has some good parts...

I found the middle pretty boring. The beginning and ending were good. I actually found it hard to finish...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good... But

It was good, but I was expecting it to be more of a thriller, it's not really. For what it WAS, is decent.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good listen

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

I enjoyed this book, I would not consider it a thriller but how family deals with trauma and relationship afterwards. LOVE the relationship between the twins.

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

LOVED IT!!!!!!! dropped my jaw!!!!!

Did the narrators do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

Excellent job!!!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Breathtakingly excellent!

This was an unexpected pleasure. Parts are dark and disturbing, but I ate it up. Initially, I thought I knew how things would turn out, but I am pleased to report I was wrong.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Kept me engrossed

I would not compare this to Gone Girl or Girl on a Train because there's no mystery about in it. It's the aftermath of a girl who escapes a kidnapping and 8+ year imprisonment in a cabin. It's about fighting to survive the unthinkable and what a family has to do to put themselves back together again. Told in multiple points of view, including the kidknapper, it is a very interesting tale. Great character development, I cared about what was happening to the family members. Great narration too. Although categorized incorrectly, I would recommend this book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disappointed

I ignored the criticism and gave it a shot . Super lame. Mostly due to the young narrator. Didn't start out wanting to hate it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Thin

I simply needed more of everything, well, except romance. A woman escapes her captor and her biggest problem is somehow that her high school boyfriend and her twin sister have a relationship. Ok. Details of a person recovering from trauma are over looked in some areas and over dramatized in others. I can say it was functionally well written though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful