Regular price: $17.47

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

An utterly compelling historical mystery, in the tradition of Umberto Eco and John Fowles. The setting is England in the 1660s. Oliver Cromwell's short-lived republic is a thing of the past, and Charles II has been restored to the throne. At Oxford's New College, fellow Robert Grove is found dead under suspicious circumstances, and a young woman stands accused. We hear from four witnesses: a physician hungry for fame, the son of an alleged traitor, the king's chief cryptographer, and a renowned Oxford antiquarian - only one of whom is telling the rather extraordinary truth. Who is it? Pears' skillful plot-weaving will keep you guessing until the final seconds.
©1998 Iain Pears; (P)1998 Audio Renaissance Tapes, a Division of CPU, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"Deftly plotted, briskly written...Iain Pears has brass and talent to spare." (Newsweek)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Keene
  • PortlandVirgin Islands, U.S.
  • 11-08-09

An Instance of the Fingerpost

Read the book, eschew the audio. The abridgment edits out too much of the interesting historical detail, a pleasure of historical fiction, which set the milieu of the times and provides rich context for the characters and plot.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Eviscerated rather than abridged

I confess that when I downloaded this, I didn't notice that itt was abridged. I had read the book years ago and thought it was incredibly good: a thought-provoking look at a society just beginning to think scientifically, wrapped in a shifting story centered on the mysterious central character.

To my horror, the "abridgment" simply cuts out all the meat of the story with an ax, leaving us with a threadbare little Rashomon story. It's a horrible thing to inflict on a magnificent book.

Having said that... The reader is truly wonderful. Not only does he bring the accents of the characters to life (including Italian-accented British English and Robert Boyle's Scots burr), but he can switch accents in mid-sentence to accommodate both a narrator and a conversation.

My advice is read the book -- it's terrific. Look for other readings by Paul Michael. And with any luck someday an unabridged "Instance of the Fingerpost" will join the unabridged "Stone's Fall" (another shockingly good book by Iain Pears, this one about the rise of international capitalism... Wrapped in a very readable mystery) on Audible's virtual shelves.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • James C
  • Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA
  • 03-29-05

A Work of True Genius

This book is not for those with a short attention span. However, it is one of the best books I have ever read. I read it once - I'll read it again. And, I'll be listening to it again as well. It's THAT good.

21 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Highly Recommended

This is one of the few titles that I consistently recommend when asked, "what should I read?" It is an engaging story that gets richer and more surprising as the story unfolds.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

chops out the exquisite intelligence of this book

WARNING : Abridged. badly. Read the book. Narrator was very good, too bad he did not get to read the entire story as written. RECOMMEND also "The Dream of Scipio" by same author, about the twilight of the Roman Empire.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • r8l
  • LOS ANGELES, US, Canada
  • 01-03-14

Not what I was hoping for

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

People who

What could Iain Pears have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Omit the music and spend less time on the back and forth and more on describing the theatre

How did the narrator detract from the book?

Too much base in his voice

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

Not for me

Any additional comments?

None.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

very well preformed!

You need to pay attention to all the characters names, to appreciate the intricacies of the story, which is not so easy in audio format

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • kb
  • 10-14-11

Great book, strange narration

This is an excellent story but the narration is a bit off - terrible accents and hollow echoey sounds. Shame.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful