Your audiobook is waiting…

My Mother, the Liar

By: Ann Troup
Narrated by: Jenny Bede
Length: 8 hrs and 45 mins
4 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Every family has a secret.... 

When Rachel Porter’s estranged mother dies, she returns to her family home filled with dread about having to face her past and the people who populated it.

Little does she know that there are dead bodies waiting to be discovered, and a lifetime of secrets are about to unravel.

Secrets kept by her mother, the liar.

From the author of The Lost Child and The Forgotten Room. Perfect for fans of The Secret Mother and Linda Green.

©2018 Ann Troup (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great listen

completely surprised in the end the man I felt so horrible for him and a kinship. I found out at 58 my father was not my real father on ancestry DNA. it had changed my whole life . it will never be the same

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ilovemydogs
  • Ilovemydogs
  • 08-12-18

Completed in a day

Brilliant story with all sorts of twists and turns. Couldn’t stop listening. Very enjoyable. The most dysfunctional family ever. The author uses the character to review the evidence. Foot ploy otherwise the reader might lose track.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mini Ward
  • Mini Ward
  • 06-16-18

My Mother, The Liar

My Mother, The Liar. by Ann Troup. Good book with excellent performances. But, only 3 stars for Overall and 3 start for Story. Because ...
The story I found rather over complicated and boring, stretched out a bit. Other readers or listeners might enjoy it.
Just not my cup of tea but good all the same.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen June Damhaug
  • Helen June Damhaug
  • 01-01-19

Confusing, otherwise good.

Unsure wether I think the story is a three or four. I do find it pretty confusing, which it seems the author knows as a there are several explanatory dialogues.
Thank goodness for this, otherwise l probably wouldn’t have been able to follow the plot.
The narrative is ok, I would have given it a four, but listen carefully and you’ll hear her actually exclaiming “urrrghh “ after a declaration of love which some might find “ somewhat “unusual “ me including,but this is not ok. It obviously passed editing as a fair few places where flicking of pages is clearly heard

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ann
  • ann
  • 10-11-18

Could not finish this book

Narrator totally spoiled this book for me. She spoke too quickly, hardly drawing breath. The story may have been good but I couldn’t relate to any of the characters as I didn’t have time to digest each paragraph because of the speed of narrator. What a shame!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Penny Frost
  • Penny Frost
  • 11-05-18

Distracted

Jenny Bede is a good narrator however I was so distracted, when listening in a quiet place, to hear her turning the pages. I like to become immersed in a book and this annoyance prevented that.