Regular price: $14.18

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Every family has a secret.... 

When Rachel Porter’s estranged mother dies, she returns to her family home filled with dread about having to face her past and the people who populated it.

Little does she know that there are dead bodies waiting to be discovered, and a lifetime of secrets are about to unravel.

Secrets kept by her mother, the liar.

From the author of The Lost Child and The Forgotten Room. Perfect for fans of The Secret Mother and Linda Green.

©2018 Ann Troup (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a story you must listen to in one setting

the story reminds me of my own dysfunctional family. i bought it gor the name because my mother was a lair as well. gave up five kids for adoption and lied and lied about who my father was until i was 58 i found the trust but pure accident. i didnt go to her funeral either. anger rage really was too fresh. this book has heloed me to know my family is not the only ones screwed up. but it does not undo the damage .
going tonwrite one myself dont know if i will ever sell it but it should be on paper.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ilovemydogs
  • 08-12-18

Completed in a day

Brilliant story with all sorts of twists and turns. Couldn’t stop listening. Very enjoyable. The most dysfunctional family ever. The author uses the character to review the evidence. Foot ploy otherwise the reader might lose track.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Mini Ward
  • 06-16-18

My Mother, The Liar

My Mother, The Liar. by Ann Troup. Good book with excellent performances. But, only 3 stars for Overall and 3 start for Story. Because ...
The story I found rather over complicated and boring, stretched out a bit. Other readers or listeners might enjoy it.
Just not my cup of tea but good all the same.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ann
  • 10-11-18

Could not finish this book

Narrator totally spoiled this book for me. She spoke too quickly, hardly drawing breath. The story may have been good but I couldn’t relate to any of the characters as I didn’t have time to digest each paragraph because of the speed of narrator. What a shame!