Regular price: $28.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's 20-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.

Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did.

Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011, all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly "brandished" a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for "felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon".

Within months, she found herself in the psych ward - and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang", she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her 40s.

In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.

©2017 Amy Dresner (P)2017 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Like Carrie Fisher's 1987 autobiographical novel, Postcards from the Edge, and Mary Karr's 2009 memoir, Lit, Amy Dresner's story of addiction and recovery, My Fair Junkie: A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Stay Clean (Hachette Books), is one for the ages." ( Elle)
"Effortlessly candid and wryly written chronicle of a life hijacked by drugs, booze, and bad behavior. As a noted West Hollywood stand-up comedian and addiction journalist, she handles this complex tale with wit.... A hard-knocks addiction memoir buoyed with humor and insight." ( Kirkus)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    225
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    9

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    215
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    201
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

if you don't read this I'll brandish a bread knife

I have never written a review for a book before but felt like I had to for Amy. This book is incredible. if you have any toe into addiction or sobriety in anyway, be it you or family/friends family members this is a must read. addiction is so layered, mental illiness is real, addiction can happen to anyone. People that suffer need compassion, need understanding, need help. No one is immune. she helps to show that addiction shows no discrimination, that mental health is really a serious thing that we should address and you will love her and root for her as much as your own best friend. Amy thank you. you're a gorgeous human being. and so real. thank you for showing me I can be real. I can be ME.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book an addiction I have read in years!

An amazing account of Amy’s spiral down into addiction. Heartbreaking, gritty, gut wrenching & brutally honest! I love the author reads the book & she’s got a great sense of humor to boot. The brutally honest truth about addiction & the courage it takes to recover.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OPEN AND HONEST

I would give this 10 stars if it were an option! Amy, you absolutely moved me to tears and laughter and frequent head nods when you said something that I totally related to and understood exactly how you felt! You are a inspiration to many hopeless addicts (including myself) that there is a better way and God doesn’t make mistakes! You tell your story in the most vulnerable way ever and people need to hear shit like that! Addiction is real life and there is no sugar coating shit if you want to get clean and healthy! I wish I could meet Amy and just kick for a day, would probably be the most amazing day ever! Great story for those who need to hear someone else’s experience, strength, and hope!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WILL Listen Again and Again!

What made the experience of listening to My Fair Junkie the most enjoyable?

The Author's narration drew me in from the first chapter and her amazing story kept me listening almost non-stop until the very end.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Amy Dresner is a complex, raw, humorous and finally sober storyteller.

Have you listened to any of Amy Dresner’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

This is the first book of Amy Dresner's that I have heard of, but would definitely read/listen to more!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I couldn't get enough of this book. As soon as it was over, I started it from the beginning again. I am now on listen number 3. I read and listen to countless books on alcoholism, recovery and self help, but this is the first time I have listened repeatedly. Fantastic story, narration, and newfound hope.

Any additional comments?

This is an audible purchase you will not regret!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gets to the heart of addiction

It is rare to meet someone in recovery that has the level of trauma and damage as Amy. She is a strong lady that has done a remarkable job of getting through some difficult stuff. Yes it’s raw and gritty but isn’t that what life is? I gained insight and have a great deal of gratitude to Amy for sharing this very real story.

Thanks for your honesty, insight, vulnerability, and mostly you smart-ass demeanor - because everyone really does love a smart-ass.

Jimmy B

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stunning transcendence into author's world.

The best works I've experienced have been ones written in a manner that puts me right beside the author's thoughts or experience. In this case, it's both by Amy Dresner. Some of her story I identify completely, others I'm fortunate that I'm empathetic and not experienced. Amy made it to the other side of the darkest and tallest wall, a wall we in or recovering from addiction build ourselves. This is an excellently written story. Well done and thank you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Humor Saved Her

It also saved the book. Some of her experiences were so dark that the light side of her made it far more readable. So happy she read it. It made it so much more “real”. Also I found myself thinking James Frye must be feeling like such a fake right now.

Ugh though. Now I feel like she’s a friend I have to check in with!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brave, Bold, Eloquent.

A story told with a ' Here is my soul torn open' bravery. A woman risking herself to impart a real truth. One many of us have tapped into, but do not reveal. Bravo Amy and Thank you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

incredible truth telling...so relatable

please listen to Amy...she will help you see your truths and know real life and love

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I wish she could narrate all of my audiobooks.

Incredible story and I absolutely fell in love with her. Her voice is so easy and relaxing to listen to. I've never done drugs before but I loooove a good drug story. listened to this in one sitting.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-06-18

Authentic

one of the most brutal, honest and authentic recovery memoirs around. highly recommended. Buy it